We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Golf Classic/We will be back next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Save Saved
You added Marina Inn at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Select Dates
Ranked #4 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
North Falmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fall Golf Classic/We will be back next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Each year the Wolf....g Father and sons , along with several friends travel to Myrtle Beach for Golf. I have been going to MB for 30yrs. Six years ago we found the Marina Bay Inn. We were extremely pleased with the Hotel, staff, rooms and food. I have just returned on 9/22 and want to share some areas that pleased us. First, the staff was wonderful starting with Bruce the front man, who always greets us with a smile. Joanne at the front desk. Most of all Bill Ganz , who handles everything for from the accommadations, golf course, dinning reservations, etc. The only thing we were concerned with was that Bill was no longer at his desk in the front lobby greeting new guests.He is now down stairs ,out of the view of the guests which is a TRUE negative for the hotel. His personality and expertise handling any situation is needed up front. On 9/23 I received a call from Bill making sure we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JamesW,
I would like to say thank you for staying with us and for continuing to choose the Marina Inn for your annual father and son golf outing. It is always a pleasure to see familiar faces around the Resort. Your kind words regarding the staff sure did bring a lot of smiles to the team, especially Joanne, Bruce and Bill Ganz. They are all valued members of our team and it means a lot that you would take time to recognize them in such a nice way. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations, the food, and of course the service. Thank you again for being such a loyal and valued guest and we all look forward to seeing you again next fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    141
    56
    28
    10
See reviews for
292
286
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and we wanted to stay away from the busy streets located by the ocean so chose Marina Inn based on the reviews in Trip Advisor. This hotel is lovely and our room was so spacious and decorated so nicely; it was more like an apt. We had a beautiful view overlooking the Intercoastal Waterway and enjoyed sitting on our balcony each morning and night. It was a nice quiet hotel as well. We ate at the Waterscapes Restaurant for dinner the first night and ordered some other food from there on other nights to take back to our room since we had our own wine, etc. Everyone was very nice from the reservation folks to the valet folks.

Room Tip: Get a room looking at the Intercoastal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
YvoParadise,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Marina Inn with the Trip Advisor Community. I’m glad that you chose to stay “away from the busy streets” by the ocean and stay with us. We strive for excellence and it means a lot to us that we were able to meet your expectations by delivering great service and maintaining the beauty of our rooms and facilities. We have so much to offer our guests and I hope that you will choose the Marina Inn for all future visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Awesome hotel, great staff, loved the pool area. We would go back if we are in the area. We did not play any golf. It is a short drive to Broadway on the beach. Two pools, nice gym and free coffee in the morning. We did not eat at the hotel. Only stayed for the weekend but wish we stayed longer. The whole family enjoyed it, we used it on a stop back home while we were driving back from Florida. They have a shuttle to the beach and it appeared to be much nicer than any hotel located on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Eddiedh,
How wonderful it is to have been able to serve you and your family while traveling through the Myrtle Beach area for the weekend. It’s just a shame that you all were unable to stay longer to get in at least one round of golf at one of the Grande Dunes courses close to the Resort. I’m glad that you and your family were able to at least relax and enjoy our pools and the shuttle to the private beach access. On behalf of the staff I’d like to thank you for your kind words and invite you to come stay with us a little longer next time you’re in the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Another stay, another great time! Immaculate room, attentive staff, great location and amenities and delicious food. I couldn't ask for more. A great break from the bustle of the beach. Quiet and well behaved! We'll be back and we'll bring others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
RJA_USMC_ret,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Marina Inn and for your willingness to share such positive feedback with other members of the Trip Advisor community. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and were able to take advantage of the location, amenities and of course the “delicious food” we serve in our restaurant. It is always a pleasure to see a familiar face and we hope that you will continue to choose the Marina Inn whenever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I felt like a queen for the day. The resort is beautiful. Very spacious two bedroom unit with everything you need. Two great pools and gym. Great restaurants on property. Gorgeous sunsets over the intracoastal waterway and Grande Dunes golf course. All if the staff was great and acted like they wanted to be at work. Overall an awesome experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dwmbsc,
I’m pleased to hear that our staff welcomed you and that you felt like royalty for a day. It’s nice to hear that you were able to enjoy some of our onsite facilities including our pool, fitness center and restaurants during your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to share such positive feedback and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

4 of us went down 8/22 thru 8/25 for a golf getaway. We stayed at the Grand Dunes Marina and loves it. The place is awesome. Two pools (indoor and outdoor) plenty of hot tubs and a great location for staying at the beach. The staff is very polite and always around to help out. The rooms were spacious and just right. We had a view overlooking the canal/waterway and the golf course. They have their own beach house on ocean if thats what your looking for. We mainly play golf during the day and stay at Grand Dunes in the evening. Ultimate California Pizza delivers plus there are food and bar's located on site. If you want fine dining- Ruth Chris is right next door. I highly recommend the Grand Dunes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Vinny B: Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you also for your positive comments. Your summary is very thorough and I am glad you enjoyed our amenities, staff and views! Once again, thank you for taking time to write…it means a lot to the entire staff at The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. Please come back to visit soon! All the best, David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel twice and had a wonderful experience both times. My most recent trip was a mom/sisters long weekend. We reserved a 3 bedroom suite. The room and view was gorgeous. The hotel personnel were exceptionally friendly and the service was quick and satisfying. I wish that I could remember all of the names of those who gave us wonderful service: The young lady who worked valet/bell service, the service staff at the pool bar and the anchor café, the delightful hostess and our knowledgeable, personable waiter at the Waterscapes restaurant all made our trip so memorable. We loved Waterscapes, dining outdoor and ordering their room service. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. I can't wait to go back with my husband!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Number6of11,
It was so nice to hear from you and to find out that your family had such a great time at our resort. Thank you for taking time to acknowledge our “exceptionally friendly” staff that you encountered throughout your stay. Our chef was pleased to hear that your family enjoyed the food and that you found the pricing to be reasonable. We too are looking forward to you returning with your husband in the near future.
Sincerely,
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional included amenities: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.