We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for the Buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Inn at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bang for the Buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Accommodations were outstanding. Staff extremely friendly both at check in and valet services. Hotel bar top shelf selections. Maid services top notch. The rooms were very large, each with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, living room, small kitchen and washer and dryers. Top Notched

Room Tip: Rooms 7704 and 7804 are large 3 bedroom -3 baths with kitchen, living room, balcony overlooking inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Tom C:

Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am very happy that you had such a good experience at The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. Thank you for your positive comments regarding Reflections Lobby Bar, the Housekeeping service and the rest of the hotel. It is gratifying to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit…I sincerely look forward to seeing you upon your return visit.

All the best, David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    184
    73
    35
    14
See reviews for
387
358
26
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at marina Inn Grande Dunes for several years on our annual men's golf trip. Bill Ganz ,their golf concierge, is excellent The rooms are large, clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet is good and quick. The location is central to most courses in North Myrtle. I only wish it were on the ocean instead of the intercostal waterway

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for your recent review and thank you for being a return guest of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes.

Bill Ganz, our golf concierge, was recently promoted from hotel concierge and your comments regarding Bill are gratifying. Bill really cares about our visiting golfers and their experience and I am glad his efforts are noticed. Thank you also for your comments regarding our room size, cleanliness and condition. These are all priorities for us and your comments are appreciated.

Our location on the Intra-coastal allows us to be in the hub of activity while still being a relaxing and quiet experience. Just a reminder, we do have our own private beach, which we are happy to take you to, which is less than a mile away….our drivers are at your beckon call. David, once again, thank you for your great feedback and I look forward to your return next year….if not….sooner!! All the best, David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

new hotel on the intercoastal waterway. Nice large rooms.Light in bathroom was dim. Only breakfast option was a $14.95 pre fix - so we went out each AM to find breakfast. Only valet parking so a tip is an additional cost each time you leave or return to the hotel. Noise level in room above the pool was not relaxing, especially the loud music.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool - which most are! Choose one on the back side, overlooking the intercoasta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Gene,

Thank you for your recent review of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes.

As you mentioned we are one of the newest properties in Myrtle Beach, thank you for staying with us. Our breakfast buffet which you refer to, is completely optional and our ala-carte menu is always available. (By the way, the breakfast buffet, which golfers love because it’s so quick, also includes eggs to order and pancakes cooked to order…it’s a pretty good deal and our comments have been very positive.)

Valet parking is always free to our hotel guests and the tip is completely optional. I have reinforced this policy with our bell and valet team….a lot of guests will give a tip once a day, if they come in and out frequently….or at the end of their stay, but please know this is completely optional and the service is FREE to all hotel guests.

If a room around the pool is not your cup of tea, I would recommend a room overlooking the Intra-coastal…..the view is both relaxing and scenic. You can watch boats of all sizes cruise by or watch golfers playing the Grand Dunes Course while sitting on your deck.

I look forward to you seeing you when you return!! All the best, David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our association held a conference at Martina Inn at Grande Dunes in April. The accommodations, conference rooms, food and service staff were fantastic! I would recommend this location to anyone planning an event in the Myrtle Beach area.

Room Tip: If you have a large group traveling together consider the 3 bedroom suite - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. There is nothing more gratifying for us in the hospitality business than to have satisfied guests. Your comments regarding our conference space, food and service are appreciated more than I can express. Your positive experience is what we strive for each day! On behalf of our entire team, thank you! We hope you have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I totally enjoy my stay. The staff was very friendly and the valets were great. My only negative is that housekeeping needs to do more than make the beds and take out the thrash. This hotel is beautiful and I would rate as a 5 star experience, but housekeeping staff barely cleans the room.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our Daughters wedding was at the Members Club at grand Dunes during the month of April 2013.The majority of our guests stayed at the Marina Inn and everyone had a positive experience with the hotel.The rooms are oversized and the bathrooms are very attractive and modern.I would highly recommend staying at this hotel or planning an event at this venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I were looking forward to staying at what Trip Advisor rated as a 4 1/2 star facility. Not sure who is rating this place, but they must have low standards. It took 45 minutes one evening to get Housekeeping to bring us 2 clean bath towels because the maid forgot to replace them when she cleaned the bathroom. The next day we did not get our room cleaned till after 6 pm. The front desks reply was "obviously we are running behind". We had to put hand towels at the base of the shower because it leaked water on the floor. The lights in the room flickered on and off for no reason all week. The tile floors in the entry hall and bathroom had hair on them and a soapy very slippery film. The carpeting in the hallway outside of our room was never vacuumed the entire week of our stay. The front desk check in is cumbersome and not well organized. The Marina Inn is living on its past laurels as it is not worth the price of admission nor is it a 4 1/2 star facility. Kenny G.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Laurie and Kenny G,

That you for your thorough review of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. First let me thank you for staying with us and I am terribly sorry we dropped the ball in so many areas.
Most of your issues revolve around the quality of housekeeping and I am happy to report that as a direct result of your issues, we have retrained our team in the fundamentals. This includes but has not been limited to inventorying replacement linen, overall cleanliness and getting rooms cleaned on time.
We have revisited the check-in process and feel we have made improvements to our system and the experience. We also hired a professional glass company to repair all shower doors that were leaking….this project is about 50% complete as of this writing.
Once again, I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know what you experienced. It is only thru feedback such as yours, that we can continue to make improvements. Your comments are not just appreciated…they are welcomed.
I look forward to your return visit where I am sure you will see the many improvements due to your caring input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.