We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfer's Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Save Saved
You added Marina Inn at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Summer Nights
Ranked #4 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Golfer's Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Marina Inn many times on business trips. I have always had a wonderful stay and the service has been outstanding. Clean well appointed rooms and the grounds are very nice to explore. Right on the Intercoastal waterway and close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    679
    159
    67
    30
    11
See reviews for
341
313
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went in December and the place we normally stay only has outdoor pools so we decided to stay on the marina side. The positives: large suites, full kitchen included, comfy beds, washer & dyer, good location, staff at check in very nice & lobby very nice. Negatives:entered room from outside, hair found on bottom of shower on first use, cob webs on light above dining room table, view of marina was ok. We wanted to use the pool (b/c it's was winter time & the main reason we picked the hotel) however pool was very small & you had to bundle up and go outside, take an elevator ride down, go thru the lobby and downstairs.... Needless to say not super convenient. The wifi wad spotty, and they have old fashion large boxed TV's. Overall okay, good price for the winter; but for us our last stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Needed a quick day getaway. Went on one of the popular travel site and saw that Marina had a great rate for the day. I am a frequent visitor of MB and always wanted to stay at the Marina. I called the hotel to see if they would honor the rate instead of me booking through that site. The deal was matched. Candra was an excellent receptionist. The hotel was okay. Loved the fireplace in the room. One thing really creep me out and changed my desire to ever come to this hotel again. I reported it to the front desk. Hopefully the situation was corrected. I hope another guest NEVER experience the same situation. I will not stay at this hotels again. Luxury hotel should never have this problem.

Room Tip: Check the comforter before sleeping in the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay and I most definitely plan on returning soon. I only have one recommendation for the hotel itself. I'm not sure if all the rooms have the same type of television set, but the room I was in had an outdated tv. I would recommend an update to a more modern tv such as a flat screen because the current tv does not compliment the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and reasonably priced. Have stayed on the ocean, but this place beats those hotels hands down! Set on a marina, all rooms with balconies. Great restaurant on site, and bar with indoor/outdoor seating. Gym, indoor pool; outdoor whirlpool, pool, beautiful grounds. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. You get more thatn your money's worth here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Hill, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was an amazing hotel. We stayed to get out of town for an evening, and this is such a huge improvement over the hotels on the strip! The view of the ICW was so nice! We stayed in the Grande Guest room, and it was very spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff were very friendly when we checked in/out, and when we saw them around the property. The location is awesome, just down from Broadway at the Beach. It feels like you are so removed from the hustle, but then so close when you get on the highway!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The best time to visit Myrtle beach is in the winter. This hotel was inexpensive ( but you do have to pay for breakfast at the hotel's restaurant) and clean .The hotel staff was very polite and friendly.

This hotel has a nice big indoor pool too.

Bad points: The housekeeping had to be requested and the housekeeping person didn't seem very friendly. Also, we didn't get the promised 5$ meal coupon for going green with regards to not requesting new towels etc. ! It's not about the money, it's about principles , so obviously we were disappointed with broken promises!!

Apart from a couple of issues overall it's a nice hotel !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional included amenities: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.