We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service for the price you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Save Saved
You added Marina Inn at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Summer Nights
Ranked #5 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Bad service for the price you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

They can't seem to figure out how to keep coffee out in the morning...they want you to wake up at 7:00 am on your vacation to try and get a cup before they take it away...but then the next day they keep it out until 11:00 am then the next day they take it away at 9:00 by the time you leave for the week you may have got lucky and were able to get 2 cups your entire stay! For the price you pay the coffee should be out all day!!! They should not make you go on a wild goose hunt everyday for a cup of coffee ( great way to start your day)!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    683
    160
    67
    31
    11
See reviews for
344
316
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The resort itself is large and the outside pools are gorgeous. Beautiful views of the boats, decent indoor pool area, and several onsite restaurants. Beds were soft, bathrooms updated. We booked our room on an online discount website for a great deal. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the front desk was rather rude to us. She kept saying "you booked online, not with us" and treated us subpar. It was stated more than once on our stay that we were not there reservation. This is rude to treat your customers different than the "full paying" customers. If you do not wish to have discounted rooms, don't sell them off online! I prefer to stay at 4 star or above on vacation, and being this is only 1 of 2 available in Myrtle beach, I choose it. However, I would not stay here again simply based on the staff and arrogant behavior. You might be trying to only attract a high end clientele but at the end of the day, when you walk out that door, it's still JUST Myrtle Beach. Get over yourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityPro73, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks moma1031 for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed the amenities offered while staying with us. Yes, we overlook the Grande Dunes marina so views of the yachts is always beautiful scene, especially during the fall as we experience lingering sunsets and people migrate south to avoid the cold northern weather. We were also happy to read you enjoyed both our outdoor and indoor pools along with our large, comfy beds. We do feel our amenities are a great asset to our resort.

We are; however, disappointed to read you felt our service levels at the Front Desk fell below your expectations. I can assure you rudeness is unacceptable and we will be looking into this situation to completely understand what occurred. We did want to assure you that all of our guests are important to us, irrespective of how they elect to make their reservations. We consider all of our 3rd party reservation sources a vital lifeline to our resort and we do not differentiate between guest types. This is clearly indicated by guest reviews posted to Expedia.com and Orbtiz.com, both of which indicate a 94% and 90% customer approval ratings.

Again, thanks for taking the time to post your review; we truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Marina Inn is a beautfil hotel overlooking the Intercoastal Waterway. The rooms are quite spacious, including a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. A great experience. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, and an adequate fitnes room. There was a restaurant within the hotel (we did not have a chance to try) as well as a Ruth's Chris restaurant immediately next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a direct waterway view, with a golf course beyond the waterway. A wonderful view. We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family stayed at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes for our Thanksgiving Holiday get-away. The accommodations were spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The staff was courteous, friendly, and attentive to our requests and questions. The room service was great! The Thanksgiving menu was devine and the service was exceptional! We were minutes away from the beach and also close to nice restaurants, shopping, and other family-related activities. I would highly recommend a visit to the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. Our stay was truly GRANDE! The Brooks Family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel several times and we love the hotel, service and staff. We have stayed in a one, two and three bedroom. All were very comfortable and very clean. This time we reserved a 3 BR and they gave us a 2BR adjoined to a 1BR. The living area was not big enough so we called to get it changed to a 3BR and they did. They had us moved within 10 minutes. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel on several occassions and really like it. Last year they were purchased by Vista and ever since things are going down hill rather quickly. The general manager who stays on site didn't return our calls after having two alarms go off in the hotel at 3:20am and 3:40am in the morning. The attendant working the front desk (Sherry) was clueless and absolutely no help at all. I placed three calls to the general manager ( Dave Nelson) who stays onsite and 30 hours later ( yes 30 hours) no response what so ever. We stayed on the 12 floor and were never called to evacuate on either alarm. I called and reported the incident to Vista ( Darran Miller) and he said he had to investigate and that he would get back with me. When Darren did call me back he simply confirmed everything I had told him days earlier... what a waste of my time. Waterscapes and that staff are wonderful and the food is always good.The Valet service is always wonderful. A big thanks to Ray, Bruce and Bill Vista needs to take note from you three. These guys are very knowlegable and have wonderful customer service skills I am thinking they should be promoted to managers. In the future we will be staying at another resort in Myrtle beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMatMarinaInn, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent post & comments. We are intimately aware with your situation and were under the impression that the inconvenience that you experienced the evening of the fire alarms had been resolved the following morning with our management team. We are surprised to learn that you feel differently. To recount the incident – when the fire alarms activated that evening, the night auditor contacted the fire department immediately to ensure the guests’ safety was acted upon. We learned from the fire department that the alarms in the middle of the night were due to a faulty sensor and was repaired immediately the following morning. We feel terribly sorry that you lost sleep due to this incident & realize the inconvenience of the situation, however, our guest’s safety and comfort has been and will continue to be our #1 priority. The management team responded to your situation by waiving charges for your room that evening as well as providing breakfast through room service the following morning as a resolution. Once again, please accept your most sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations as we thought that we did everything possible to resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stay every year for our anniversary. This year was our 22nd anniversary. It is great as usual. The rooms are very updated, clean and comfortable. The staff is always very polite and helpful. It is not very often that we get away without our children but we definitely look forward to this weekend getaway every year. Absolutely is top notch. We would not consider staying any where else for our anniversary getaway. We love this place !!

Room Tip: If you can we always get a room in Harbor tower that overlooks the marina and pool area. The yachts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional included amenities: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.