We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort but New owners Vista Have No Clue about Running a Resort..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Inn at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Getaway from $99
Ranked #4 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Resort but New owners Vista Have No Clue about Running a Resort..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel on several occassions and really like it. Last year they were purchased by Vista and ever since things are going down hill rather quickly. The general manager who stays on site didn't return our calls after having two alarms go off in the hotel at 3:20am and 3:40am in the morning. The attendant working the front desk (Sherry) was clueless and absolutely no help at all. I placed three calls to the general manager ( Dave Nelson) who stays onsite and 30 hours later ( yes 30 hours) no response what so ever. We stayed on the 12 floor and were never called to evacuate on either alarm. I called and reported the incident to Vista ( Darran Miller) and he said he had to investigate and that he would get back with me. When Darren did call me back he simply confirmed everything I had told him days earlier... what a waste of my time. Waterscapes and that staff are wonderful and the food is always good.The Valet service is always wonderful. A big thanks to Ray, Bruce and Bill Vista needs to take note from you three. These guys are very knowlegable and have wonderful customer service skills I am thinking they should be promoted to managers. In the future we will be staying at another resort in Myrtle beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMatMarinaInn, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent post & comments. We are intimately aware with your situation and were under the impression that the inconvenience that you experienced the evening of the fire alarms had been resolved the following morning with our management team. We are surprised to learn that you feel differently. To recount the incident – when the fire alarms activated that evening, the night auditor contacted the fire department immediately to ensure the guests’ safety was acted upon. We learned from the fire department that the alarms in the middle of the night were due to a faulty sensor and was repaired immediately the following morning. We feel terribly sorry that you lost sleep due to this incident & realize the inconvenience of the situation, however, our guest’s safety and comfort has been and will continue to be our #1 priority. The management team responded to your situation by waiving charges for your room that evening as well as providing breakfast through room service the following morning as a resolution. Once again, please accept your most sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations as we thought that we did everything possible to resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    184
    73
    35
    14
See reviews for
388
359
26
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stay every year for our anniversary. This year was our 22nd anniversary. It is great as usual. The rooms are very updated, clean and comfortable. The staff is always very polite and helpful. It is not very often that we get away without our children but we definitely look forward to this weekend getaway every year. Absolutely is top notch. We would not consider staying any where else for our anniversary getaway. We love this place !!

Room Tip: If you can we always get a room in Harbor tower that overlooks the marina and pool area. The yachts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Twp, NJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked a Mediterranean Club Suite for a two night visit to Myrtle Beach. We asked for an early check-in when booking and we were told they couldn't promise it but would they would try to accomodate us. We arrived around 11 AM and our room wasn't ready. We were offered a room on the first floor but declined that and decided we would wait for a room a little higher. The desk person was a very nice woman I believe her name was Joanne and she was actually from the area near our home. She took our cell number and gave us some suggestions on things to see while we waited for the room. We got the call at 1:45 PM that the room was ready. Check-in was a breeze, there were no others waiting at the time and the hotel seemed quiet.

Upon entering our room(#5502) immediately to the left was a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stove top with an oven and a microwave. A full size coffee pot and supplies were also provided. Just past the kitchen was a closet with two bath robes and several hangers. Just past the closet was a huge bathroom with a seperate tub and shower, a double sink and large mirror. Also in the bathroom was another closet with shelves. We asked for extra towels and they were waiting for us as requested. The next part of the room was the bedroom which was fully opened to the sitting room. We had a king sized bed, there were four pillows on the bed. The mattress was a little bit on the hard side but we had no problem sleeping on it. There was a flat screen TV in a cabinet. The TV was on the small side, maybe 26 inches, and even though it was a high def flat screen TV it was hooked up to the cable box by a coax cable so the picture quality was not high def. There were many channels available including music channels. A small safe was on the bottom shelf of this cabinent.

The sitting area had a small sofa and two chairs as well as a large coffee table. There was a fireplace in the sitting area but there were no instructions on how to use it and I tried to start it but couldn't and decided not to bother calling the desk to find out if it was functional. Beyond this area was a slider door to the patio. The patio had two wicker chairs and and a small round table. The patio is very private and had a nice view of the waterway and a golf course across from the waterway.

Valet service was excellent, we never had to wait a second for our car after calling for it. The valets were very friendly as well as efficent.

We only ate at the restaurant Waterscapes on site once for breakfast. Service was very slow, considering at the time we were the only patrons that seemed odd. The food was very good but a little expensive.

You have the choice to opt out of maid service if you want and if you do you get a coupon for each day you opt out good for $5 off at the restaurant or their pub Reflections.

They also have a business center where you can print your boading passes for your flight. We didn't use their indoor pool or other facilities.

The property is located within sight of the Carolina Opry, Ruth Chris restaurant and a hospital and is just off route 17.

We found everyone to be friendly, the property was clean and the room was pretty much as advertised. We would consider this location for future visits and recommend it to others who don't require a beach front property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful resort hotel; spacious rooms, elegantly appointed, even the studio suite, which is where we started. Very noisy neighbors caused us to request a room change. Were upgraded to a VERY QUIET, luxurious 2 BR/2BA suite at no additional cost to us. Certain members of the staff really go above and beyond to fix problems, particularly the front desk staff that was on duty the nights of 11/3/12 and 11/4/12 (can't remember their names). What could have been a disastrous anniversary vacation turned into one of the best vacations we've had in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Beware of studio suites with adjoining doors. Unless you plan to stay in both sides, you will hear E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room was wonderful and the bed was outstanding. It was surprising that we were so close to all the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach, yet felt as if we were in the country. The views of the marina were beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxton, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes was a pleasant stay. My kids had an awesome time in the indoor pool and hot tub that stays open 24 hours. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. I reccommend this place for anyone looking to stay at Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxton, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would strongly recommend retiring here for your vacation stay.The facilities were well kept. The view from the balcony was nice. Overlooking the waterway. Located beside Ruth CHris's Steakhouse and only a few miles from shopping and relaxing on the beach. Our suite had full size kitchen, dinette, living room with fire place, 2 bedrooms and baths.

Room Tip: Would be a wonderful place for a traveling family. Lots of room and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.