We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carolina Grande to your Saves list
Carolina Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

The Carolina Grande is a great place to stay. We are Bluegreen owners and were able to book a 3 bdrm. unit. We had both grandmas, my husband, son, and I, and my brother-in-law, his wife, and 2 kids. We had plenty of sleeping space - a little short on living room space for a crowd this size. However, we didn't go for the room. We had a great balcony with an ocean view that was really nice. Even on hot days, there was a great breeze.

The pool and activities were great! Staff was wonderful. No solicitation calls from Bluegreen; only the front desk telling us about the upcoming activities. Music by the pool on Wednesday with a hot dog roast was great fun for all. They even sang 'happy birthday' to the two 16-year-olds in our party. The activities lady even delivered balloon boquets to our room for the birthday boy and girl. We felt like celebrities.

Beach right across the street. And, we had access to the Best Western's pools, lazy river, and spa. No fuss with parking a vehicle in the limited the public parking areas - we just walked across the street. Could even let the kids (16 and 12) go by themselves for awhile; we could see them from our balcony.

The resort was a great place to stay - centrally located on the strip - walking distance to Bummz (a great place to relax and eat dinner). Great location - great place. We were treated like we were rich and famous (which we are neither)! I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Drove south down Hwy. 17 to the Seafarer - a 120 item seafood buffet - great food! There is a coupon for $$ off in all of the area magazines.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

This is a nice centrally located property in Myrtle Beach on the second row with a view of the ocean. The facility has indoor FREE parking. The units are up to date, clean, quiet and efficient. Two TVs make family viewing more pleasurable. Unit had tub/shower. combination which worked well for our family. We had a one bedroom unit which included a king size sleeper sofa in the LR. The property has two available computers in the lobby for FREE surfing on the internet and checking email. There is a high speed connection available in the units for a fee or if you have a wireless PC you can connect free as I am doing while writing this review. Each day here are activities from making ice cream sundaes, hot dog roasts, tie dye workshops and day trips to Charleston for an additional fee. In addition to the closeness to the ocean there are tons of great restaurants near by and some with discounts provided by the property. Outlet shopping is another good activity when the weather may be overcast, if it rains or you just want to get out. Outlets are within a few miles of driving. There is a pool on the the floor. there is a garbage pickup and linen exchange on Tuesday. Each until has two phones. And YES, there are many many golf courses near by if that is your interest. We have really enjoyed the property and the full size kitchen. My fear in doing a good review is that I may not get to come back again. My wife would have liked the Carolina Grande even more if the televisions had HGTV.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We booked the Carolina Grande through a timeshare exchange. Since it was off-season, we were delighted to get a three bedroom with an unobstructed ocean view (across the street, high rises on either side of the view) on one of the higher floors. The Carolina is very centrally located in one of the better sections of the main street along the ocean. There were no major elevator slowness issues since it was off season, but it was very windy in the open air area while waiting for the elevator.

Two other couples stayed with us in the condo, as we were there for a New Year's reunion with them and four other couples who used to hang out together until retirement/relocations caused some to move away from New England.

The condo was cleverly built to include everything you needed for your stay in a compact space. It was clean, well decorated, and the beds were comfortable. There was a large table for dining and a breakfast bar. Two of the bedrooms had king beds, and one had doubles (or twins, not sure). Three complete baths! One of our friends is handicapped and in a wheelchair, so to watch the Patriots game in the compact living room we had to move some furniture around a bit, but it worked. Another friend had to do some work on his laptop while there, and he found the internet connection to be somewhat problematic at first, and a little pricy. Free wireless would have been nice!

We arrived early, but could not check in before the regular time. When we first registered, there was a little time share pressure, but when we made it clear we would be very busy and were not interested, they left us alone for the remainder of the stay. They were happy to recommend a breakfast place that was pleasant, cheap, and literally steps away, The Magnolia.

One couple who lives in the area (Murrell's Inlet) arranged all of our golf, entertainment, touring, and other activities. We went on a Palmetto Carriage tour of Charleston (less than two hours away) which was very enjoyable. We played golf at two very nice courses (Blackmoor was excellent). We ate in all kinds of restaurants to experience low country specialities--especially enjoying Flo's in Murrell's inlet--the waitress was fun and so was the atmosphere and view. We went to Brookgreen Gardens---highly recommended in any season. On New Year's Eve we went to The Crab House for dinner, followed by a spectacular holiday show at the Alabama Theatre. And as an unexpected bonus, the weather cooperated for our entire stay--60's and 70's every day, with little or no rain.

We look forward to our next visit to Myrtle Beach, which has something for everyone, and would happily stay at the Carolina Grande again.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small lobby
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

My husband and I along with some friends decided to get away for the weekend and chose to stay at the Carolina Grande. We had a three bedroom suite on the 17th floor that was equipped with all the comforts of home including a washer/dryer, stereo, DVD player. The master bedroom, living room and balcony faced the ocean, and even though the hotel is not directly on the beach there is no obstruction to block the beautiful view of the ocean. The only complaint I have is the previous guests were obviously smokers because the suite had a strong odor, and we were not able to switch to another one. The location was ideal. It was a short walk to Starbucks and a short drive to restaurants and the shopping outlet. We would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

I go to the Black Bikers Rally EVERY year. Last year, my homeboy stayed in the Grande and I just fell in LOVE with the resort!! Becasue of the EXTRA LARGE rooms and space in the 3 BR suite, I just KNEW I was gonna stay this year. AND I DID!!! The only things is they dont have a lot of those rooms avaoilable for calling straight to the resort & paying 1 nights rent until arriving. If you go on line, though, there are rooms avail but you have to pay for it all at once. The other thing is the elevator, but We got over that cuz we took the stairs sometimes also. I would recommend this place to ANYBODY. It's really like a home away from home! LOVED IT!!!!!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We booked with Blue Green.

On the plus side.
Ocean view (18th floor). perfect with exception of Best Western view that was right on the beach accross from us.
Very clean !
Decent new furnishing/carpet. ceramic tiles in the kitchen living area. nice decoration.
free parking. plenty of indoor space.
balcony was safe as we could lock access for our 2 years old.
good size and very comfortable bed. very clean 'new' sheets
good location. accross from a very nice beach. some restaurants.Some.
long, thin, decent size condo. stayed in one bedroom.
all new Kitchen ustensils. clean.
plenty of towels and bath supply. nice size bath.
were not bothered for a sales pitch that we turned down at sign in.

on the disapointing side:
thin walls in the living room. could hear the other 'guest' talking. might be because the unit was separated by a door that allow multiple unit booking.
no free internet for our laptop. had to pay fee for non wireless internet.bad location of internet hookup. Had to stand up next to kitchen sink. They have one busy internet access PC downstairs. Wait in line.
Loud crass Time share salesmen taking loud breaks or walking potential customers/'victims' to the elevators for a visit. sales area right at bottom of elevators. A constant turn off.
Pool very small and outdated, open air on windy 6th floor, very small. They Closed without notification. was told that we could use it (have 3 children) but found that it was closed for the entire weekand so were the activities. We were allowed to go acrross the busy street to the Best Western but who wants to freeze in a windy street back and forth. they need to update their pool. need to be more competitive.
small tv in the living room.
Very busy street to cross to the beach.
PS. bring your own salt and peper.

Summary. would stay there again, clean, efficient but not for a week vacation. ok if no other choice. not bad but not great.

  • Liked — great bed. ok view. nice furnishing
  • Disliked — lack of decent pool. internet to pay. accross from busy street to beach
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

As soon as you walk in, the room just invites you in. Everything looked fairly new, decoration was quite modern and gave the tropical/beachy feel. Having a full kitchen was priceless, especially with having two kids (ages 2 and 1). Master bedroom had a large, comfy bed. Bathroom was clean- no hesitation to bathe the babies in the tub (of course, after I scrubbed it down with bleach- but that's just my mommy-OCD). Living room was spacious enough, this is where my daughter first started walking! She just got up and started waddling around. The balcony was nice and breezy looked out into the ocean. It would've been a full view, if not for the Carolina Grande's partner- The Best Western right in front. The hotel has 6 pools! This includes the very entertaining lazy river at the Best Western. The kids would've stayed in there the whole day. No extra fees for the tubes, but there's also no lifeguards at any of the pools. Anyone can also go in and out of the pools whether or not they are staying at the hotel. No one was checking hotel keys. The beach was great. Not crowded at the end of August since schools in South Carolina go back mid to late August. Parking was free at the hotel. Kids activities everyday- ice cream, crafts, etc. Timeshare folks called the first 3 days, I told them we are already owners with Wyndham. They got a bit snippy and asked why we didn't tell them this info right from the start. Felt like person was ticked off I wasted her time as she tried to recruit us to attend a presentation. Overall, loved the place except for the two cockroaches we found. Skeeved us out a bit- making sure we inspected our bags when we got home. Apparently, roaches are common in the south and that finding them at the hotel was no biggie. Lady at check asked if they were dead or alive when I told her of our find. "Does it matter?" I asked her and gave her our keys and checked out a day early.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carolina Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Grande

Address: 2505 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Grande Hotel Myrtle Beach
Carolina Grande Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.