We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish there was one in OH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorny's Steakhouse & Saloon

Thorny's Steakhouse & Saloon
600 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
+1 843-448-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wish there was one in OH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to thorny's 2x during our weeks vacation. My husband and daughter and myself loved it. Food and service were great. No or very short wait time to eat. Friendly/ quick service. Steak was perfect. Wish I had one in OH.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    164
    76
    45
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Prime rib & grilled chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When we arrived there were a lot of people sitting outside and inside . I walked up to the hostess and told her party of 4. We were seated right away WOW!!! Took our waitress over 15 min to greet us and another 10 min to get our drinks .I had my husband keep our daughter occupied at the arcade so I could tell the waitress it was our daughters birthday and I wanted them to sing to her. The waitress told me they DONT SING HAPPY BIRTHDAY are you kidding me I was very disappointed . I don't know of any restaurants that don't sing. She brought out the dinner rolls which were amazing. I gave her our orders with 1 appetizer. Our salads came out fast 10 min later our dinners were out NO APPITIZER . I told her to just take it off the bill. I ordered the grilled chicken with a sweet potato which wasn't sweet kinda sour and the rest of my party ordered the prime rib . The food was average but still better than any calabash seafood buffets there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stinky Mop water”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

While I wrote a review last year about sevice charges on parties of 6 or more, My husband and I decided to go back again this year. We were sat at a table near the kitchen. The smell coming from the kitchen was not pleasant. I have worked in restaurants before and what it smelled like was old dirty mop water. It was so strong that we couldn't eat there. We again reported to.the manager and nothing was done. We weren't offered another table or raincheck or anything. We left and went elsewhere. I don't think we will be eating there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Every year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We eat here every year; even when staying in North Myrtle. Excellent food and service. Go early if you want to get in without waiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Food was great, drinks was great, & service was great. If you leave hungry its you own fault. This quickly became one of our favorite places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorny's Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Thorny's Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorny's Steakhouse & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.