We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steakhouse - Just like NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Prime

New York Prime
405 28th Ave, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
843-448-8081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
New York Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Highway 17 and the Ocean
Description: Golf Magazine’s choice for “where to eat with your clients” and “best steakhouse” by The Myrtle Beach Herald. New York Prime’s menu features USDA prime for every steak such as the monster 40oz. Porterhouse for two, colossal Baked Shrimp and fresh Florida Stone Crabs. The only all-prime experience on the Grand Strand, New York Prime Steakhouse offers an extensive wine list and seating for large parties.
Queens, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse - Just like NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful Steakhouse experience in Myrtle Beach. Great ambience paired with great food and wine. Waitstaff was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu. Our orders were cooked to perfection to each of our own tastes. Steaks were high quality (not cheap). We paid about $100 per person so be prepared for that. Otherwise an enjoyable and tasty experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    35
    10
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“more than a great steak house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

the wife and i make sure we visit this steak house at lease once per trip to myrtle beach. As this beach has just about every restaurant one could imagine. We always start out with martini's at the bar.
Move to a table where service is like a movie with two waiters at all times. My wife loves lobster and this place has the best ranging from 3 lbs to 6 lbs. we split the smallest that day which was 3 1/2 lbs. so juicy and sweet. the table next to us had a 3 in cut filet cooked pittsburgh seared perfectly and smelling great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage NY
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything we had was top notch. 2 med rare bone in ribeyes were perfectly cooked . The shrimp were large and had a pefect snap to them. The drinks were good and our server" I think Paul" was great. I have not found better dining in MB and yes it's expensive but these are the prices at a first rate steahouse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavonia, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We go to Myrtle Beach every Spring, and eating here is a must. The food is great and the staff is wonderful. They are so attentive about everything. It is a bit pricey, but it is out 1 splurge for the week. The chocolate cake is a must. We are usually so full that we dont need dessert, but we get it anyway. We just eat a few bites there and take the rest back to the condo for a sweet tweet later in the week. (one piece is big enough 6 people!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but very well may be worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had dinner there last night with two old friends from working days! The company was great but so was the meal. Broad menu, excellant service, warm and friendly atmosphere. It is expensive in my opinion, but must admit for a special occasion like reconnecting with old friends it was the perfect place!

Oysters on the half shell were fresh and huge! Ribeye steak was tender and cooked to perfection. All in all, a terrific meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Prime also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to New York Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Prime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.