We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family vacation but ownership is questionable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3000 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Woodleaf, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for family vacation but ownership is questionable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times since becoming an owner during the B&C years. Its a nice place to bring your family while visiting Myrtle Beach if an ocean front room isn't a requirement. The rooms, pools and jacuzzi are nice and away from the noise and crowds you often see at other locations in the area. The pool on the ocean side of the street was often very sandy but thats hard to control at times with so many people coming off the beach. The only negative I can say associated with the stays were very simple but very aggravating to me especially being an owner and knowing what is listed as budget for these items. On the last trip when we ran out of toilet paper or dish soap and called the front desk you were told they would try to bring some later but what you were stocked with when you arrived is what you were allotted unless stay was great than 10 days. With two adults and two kids a roll of toilet paper will not last 10 days and really didn't plan on stocking up on it at Walmart when I arrived. Every other location I have stayed it was never a problem, just call and it was there in a few minutes. The biggest negative I have found is being an owner. I knew ownership wouldn't financially work out during my life but wanted son to have a nice place to vacation without as much financial hardship as it often places on families. The down side is so many things that were included when I originally purchased have been taken away or modified. Another negative is dealing with salespeople trying to talk you into new ownership. When you notify them you are not interested in changing over from the original ownership to a new Holiday Inn they change from treating you like a king to a bum. I find it at times comical and it doesn't mess up my vacation with family but it really makes me question the resorts opinion of its owners.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms that you can actually see the ocean from across the street. I think they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is always a pleasure to have you back with us at your Home resort. We are happy that you enjoy the rooms and the amenities around the property. I do apologize that you did not have enough supplies in your room and seemed to have some trouble getting additional. Please know that our owners & guests are always our top priority and we certainly want to make sure you have everything you need during your stay. I will address your specific situation with our teams to prevent things like this from happening in the future! We do value you being an owner with us. We look forward to you and your family returning and continuing to make many memorable vacations with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    94
    34
    18
    19
See reviews for
161
68
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Used our timeshare points to stay here and were very pleased. My wife and I stayed in a 1 bedroom overlooking the main pool during the first week of May. The weather was mostly in the upper 60's/low 70's but the heated pools and the hot tub took away the chill in the air. The hot tub was HUGE and the main pool with the bar was spacious. We also tried the pool near the lazy river with a smaller hot tub. They were nice but we preferred the main pool as it was right outside our building. The lazy river was a little small and chilly due to being on a tube and outside of the water. I'm sure on a warm day, it would be just right. The room was beautiful. King bed, spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, full kitchen with dining/living area and a screened in lanai/balcony patio. Not a beachfront property, but there is a beachfront clubhouse right across the street. It has three levels, two are decks overlooking the beach and one is a pool/deck. There's also a lounge with tv's, couches, ping pong table and most importantly, restrooms. The one sunny warm day we had there, we went over there to be on the beach and actually spent the whole time by the pool. The ocean was still pretty cool and it was pretty breezy on the beach. The clubhouse can be reached by shuttle, walking, or car. There is a private parking lot just across the street from the clubhouse. Immediately next to the clubhouse is Damon's restaurant and jetski rental/banana boat rides. All in all, we had a great time and will definitely be back to this resort!! Hopefully next time will be much better weather!!

In addition, the location is at the south end of Myrtle Beach just beyond the busy section and centrally located close to everything. Real close, short trip to the airport, yet you'll hardly notice any plane traffic/noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Club Vacations South Beach Resort! We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We see that you were able to utilize many of the amenities here on property and especially, Breeze’s Beach Club which offers a relaxing spot to enjoy the beach, with the best of both worlds available, the nice relaxing pool and the ocean! We wish the weather would have been warmer for you, hopefully when you come back next time youll be able to sit in the lazy river tube and not get chilly. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here during Memorial Day Weekend (don't stay this weekend if you don't like a lot of traffice and a lot of bikes-its bike week and lots of people are down here on this popular strip of S. Ocean Blvd). We enjoyed the week and the sites but stayed on the resort most of the time since they have a nice pool, golf, and activities. We took their shuttle to the beach which was convenient but you could walk the 5 min to their beach house if you want. That was the only downside was that it wasn't on the beach. However it is close enough to enjoy. If you don't mind walking you could walk to the beach and resturants on the popular S. Ocean Blvd. Our room was nice it was a 2 bedroom lockoff which made it easy for us to give our teen kids their own 'room' while we had privacy. Also the lockoffs have a entrance area where the washer and dryer is. Try to get a room that overlooks the pool and is close to the main checkin club house - HOWEVER, this side has a lot of noise. Things to do for kids is MagiQuest, Ripley's Believe it or Not and Family Kingdom. If you have a Costco card, they sell discount tickets to those places there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool and is close to the main checkin club house - HOWEVER, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for recently staying with us at South Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found that the Shuttle to get to the beach was convenient. We certainly try to make your vacation as easy, enjoyable and memorable as possible. Memorial Day weekend is a very, very busy weekend at the beach , we are glad you were able to use all of our amenities to escape the hustle of bustle of the downtown Myrtle Beach area. Thank you so much for your review, we looking for to seeing you and your family next time you come back to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn South Beach with our son and his family. They are owners and like to experience different locations for their time share weeks. This resort is very nice, the grounds and buildings are very clean, and the staff are A+! Our son's family had a 2 bedroom villa and we stayed in one of the mini suites. Both accommodations were well stocked with supplies and had all the comforts of home. We enjoyed the many pools on site and visited the beach club too. Beach access is within walking distance or you can call for shuttle service. Although the outside temps were a little chilly the pool water temps were always warm. Our granddaughters loved the daily activities in the main complex and we ate a few lunches at the deli too. Our family enjoyed our stay and we will return to this location again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our resort. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed all of the amenities on the property and were able to take advantage of our daily Activities program. It is always great to read feedback from our Holiday Inn Club Owners. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you all back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandy, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are owners and have been for 10 years, We stay here at least once a year and sometimes twice. The staff at this location are awesome, from the front desk to the maid service. If we have ever had a problem it has been taken care of quickly, But let me add we have only had one problem in the ten years we have been staying here. We have done the owners updates and were treated the same weather we updated or not. We love South Beach!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much!! While we love hearing about everyone’s experiences, we absolutely love reading great reviews from long time owners! It is very pleasing to see that you are are a very happy and satisfied Owner at South Beach Resort. Thank you for posting your review! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first visit to this resort. We stayed for 2 weeks. This is an older resort property. The property is maintained well. The furnishings were comfortable. There was a slight problem with oak blooms in one pool every day. That pool was not cleaned on Sunday. We had an issue with our reservation in that I specifically requested a handicapped accessible room. We were told there were no notes on the reservation. However, the staff at check in worked to accommodate us. The one bathroom that was set up for handicapped accessibility with support bars but it had a standard height toilet requiring a toilet seat riser, the hand held shower head needs to have a bar to allow it to be hung lower for a handicapped person, and the seat placed in the shower was for a very short person. There was plenty of room in the unit unlike newer resorts on the beach that have smaller rooms. The beach club across the street was nice. The pools on the property were heated as advertised unlike other resorts we have stayed at in the area. We found the resort staff to be friendly and helpful. We did enjoy the movie on Thursday night. Our owner review did not go well. We felt the representative was telling us what they tell others than come in but we know from experience what they are telling owners is not correct (best of the best is not quite right). I would like to see gas grills instead of charcoal. The wireless internet was poor with extremely poor speeds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for posting about your experience at South Beach Resort! I am sorry that we were not able to accommodate your reservation request, but I hope you found your stay to be comfortable with the additional supplies that were provided. It sounds like you made your way around the resort and saw most of everything we have to offer and even stopped by and watched a movie with us on the big blow up screen. Thank you for your suggestions for improvement with the gas grills and internet services, we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I honestly & completely agree w/ some of the other posters that this resort - Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach, TREAT THEIR OWNERS HORRIBLY! I own 2 properties w/ them, 1 from the previous owners (Chaplin) and 1 w/ Holiday Inn. We come back every year because we own here and our family loves Myrtle Beach. EVERY SINGLE YEAR there is a problem. From the check in to the check out. The amenities are great but the treatment from the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms are horrible. One year we had an ant infestation so bad, they got into our computers and other electronics. We brought this to the front desk attention and was told to mail the computers back to the resort once we arrived home and they would take a look at them. Are you kidding me??? We had to call for 2 days straight to get maintenance to come and spray. There were cakes of ants on the beds, behind the beds all over the floors, walls, everywhere. When you stay here don't bother to look under the beds, they are never cleaned and you would be disgusted! Trash and cob webs which indicates they haven't been cleaned in a long time.

One person said that during the "owner update" once he said no they were treated horribly! I can testify to this completely! My husband and I say no every yr and once they hear NO, they completely switch, you are brushed off and treated like the plague. They become harsh, rude and short w/ you immediately. I also have an ownership w/ the previous owners before it became Holiday Inn. They have tried a million times to get us out of that and into Holiday Inn (which I also own w/). Once we say NO we are treated like traders. I've even had 1 sales person at the "owner update meeting" tell me that we are purposely given horrible rooms and treated poorly because we are still owners under the previous owner group! He said it's a well known secret. Since they have become Holiday Inn I honestly can't say 1 good thing has come out of it. It seems that vacationers who don't own at this resort are treated much better than the actual owners - not surprised. I am also looking at possibly selling both of my ownerships - it's not worth the headache!

Room Tip: Choose another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Goodness, I am so sorry you feel that you have been treated terribly! We never want any of our guests to feel that way and certainly not our owners. I do apologize if everything has not always exceeded your expectations while staying with us. Based on your review, that last time you stayed with us was June of 2012 and regrettably, I cannot speak to specifics from that time. We work very hard, consistently, to constantly improve in all areas of the resort and it is very disappointing to me that we have not succeeded in any area at all, in your opinion.
Here at Holiday Inn Club Vacations, we’ve found that over half of our business comes from current owners looking to increase the value of their family’s time. Many of them have found this time by creating a better way to vacation together. We do apologize if our passion for encouraging your family to take advantage of a better way to vacation felt more like pressure. We definitely never want to make our owners fell uncomfortable. I have forwarded your experience to our Sales teams to bring this to their attention as well.
When you have scheduled your next trip to stay with us, please contact me directly so that I can ensure everything flows very smoothly for you and your family. Everyone deserves to have a stress free, enjoyable vacation and that is what we are here to do. I have reached out to you in a more private setting to provide my contact information. Thank you for posting your review, I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach

Address: 3000 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations(R) South Beach Resort provides both peaceful solitude and wide variety of fun in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, the country's top beachside family vacation destination. You and your family will love the spacious villa accommodations, most with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. The resort rests across the street from a pristine stretch of beach and the Oceanfront Breezes Beach Club, our own exclusive waterfront facility that offers a pool, kiddie pool, indoor seating area with TV and balcony, plus private beach access. On the main Myrtle Beach resort, lounge with a signature drink at the Captain Cliff's Lagoon Bar and Pool (seasonal; year-round indoor pool also available) near the resort's Clubhouse. The best vacations include time relaxing in the sauna with lockers for men and women, hot tubs or splashing with the kids in the family-favorite lazy river pool. Just steps away enjoy take-out breakfast items and casual foods at the Marketplace, plus a family video and game room to enjoy a fun diversion with the kids when you're not playing or strolling on Myrtle Beach. The resort even has a fully equipped fitness center where you can take advantage of personal time to get a good workout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
South Beach Myrtle
Holiday Inn South Beach
South Beach Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Myrtle Beach - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.