We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsurfer Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windsurfer Hotel
Save
You added Windsurfer Hotel to your Saves list
210 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Views in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have lived in SC all of my life & you cannot beat the windsurfer. Very accomodating management & the price is insanely low for ocean front panorama views. It is walking distance to the 2nd ave pier where you can eat dinner and enjoy cocktails or fish. Loved it & plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Windsurfer Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
GabielT,

Windsurfer Hotel does have great rooms and a great location. Located right on the southern anchor of the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk we offer One and Two bedroom units all on the oceanfront. We are only a few minutes away from all the action at the Bowery, the ZipLine, Peach's Corner, all the shopping on the Strip, and the Family Kingdom. We have clean rooms for a great price. Please call us today!

Thanks,

Windsurfer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    51
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
83
53
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location was great however the hotel needs updating, the refrigerator looked like it was in a hail storm and the tub looked so bad I was scared to get in it. The hotel looks nice on the outside however looks are deceiving. I guess the old saying is true, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Windsurfer Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Sassypurpledue,

Thanks for your review and comments. You are right, we have a great location right on the beach and on the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk. We will be sure to correct all of the problems that you encountered and we hope to see you again at the Windsurfer.

Thanks,

Windsurfer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a suite on the 5th floor. The view from our balcony was breathtaking ! This hotel does have some well used appliances but the landscaping is the best on the boardwalk. The beach is patrolled all night and I felt safe .All the hotel guest were friendly and all our request from the desk and housekeeping were promptly answered. I never heard our neighbors and the beds were very comfortable. We got a great deal because the prices drop in October. The weather was perfect. It was in the high 70's during the day and 50's at night. If you suffer from the heat and hate crowds then go to Myrtle Beach in the fall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Windsurfer Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Ginitrex2013 ,

You are right, the FALL is a great time of the year to come to Myrtle Beach and to Windsurfer Hotel. Windsurfer provides its guest with service you cant find at most places in Myrtle Beach. We have clean rooms, great views, and know you by name. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you many times in the years to come!

Til next time,

Windsurfer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked the hotel from the internet. At a very cheap price. We added the jacuzzi for 40$ more, big mistake. It is so old and gross we didn't even want to sit in it.
The mattresses are also very old and I sleep better at home.
There is no spatula, drainer or filters for the coffee machine. Nothing to wash the dishes either.
They do supply a tiny soapdish sample, which is good.

The bedside desk was falling apart, the AC as well. (Though it worked well enough)
Our room was located directly in front of the elevator and we could hear everything going on in the hallway.
Good point is a 2 minutes walk to get to the beach from the room!
For the last 3 nights, the room upstairs from ours had a noisy person who kept hitting the floor for no reason at all times of the evening and night. Even if this is not the hotel's fault it has played on our overall comfort.

Overall OK, but not the best hotel. The pool was clean, so was the spa. The personnel was very nice and friendly, but you really do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: pick the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMGMT, Front Office Manager at Windsurfer Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
KUSHANECOOL,

Thanks for your review and we apologize that everything was not satisfactory. Windsurfer like you said has a friendly staff and we have a clean property. We offer great rates for a great, clean room right on the Boardwalk. As you pointed out the pools, spa and hotel is right next to the 2nd Ave. Pier. We hope to see you again!

Thanks,
Windsurfer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first stay at the Windsurfer. We used to stay at the Tropic House that was owned by Terry and Joy Collins. The Tropic House along with the Pier View were torn down to make room for more parking and the new Boardwalk. We loved the area because of its location next to the 2nd Ave pier. I along with some more retired IBEW members met there at the same time every Year and fished together on the pier. We were all sad when they removed our favorite places. My wife and I stayed in a condo at Garden City our last trip. We really prefer the 2nd Ave. location. We felt like we were back home staying at the Windsurfer this time. We loved the view of the beautiful sun rises each AM.from our ocean front room. We will definitely return and will recommend the Windsurfer to our friends and family.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Windsurfer Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
David C,

We appreciate you returning to 2nd Ave and staying with us. We agree it is one of the best locations on the beach. Windsurfer is right on the Boardwalk, a stones throw away from the 2nd Avenue Pier, and right on the Oceanfront. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you make it back soon!

Thanks,
Windsurfer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Another perfect vacation at the Windsurfer. If you're looking for lazy rivers, flat screen TVs and granite counter tops in the kitchen, this is not the place for you. But if you want clean rooms, two nice pools that are never crowded, beautiful grounds and a great location, this is the place. We return to the Windsurfer twice a year now and each time we see people that return at the same time. It's like visiting family. The best part of the Windsurfer though, is the staff and owner. Where else would you get a hug from the general manager and housekeeper because they are happy to see you again? You'll never find nicer people in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator and it is very busy when housekeeping is working in the morning during pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Windsurfer Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us year to year. Having repeat customers is our #1 goal here at Windsurfer Hotel. We have clean oceanfront rooms and we treat everyone like family. So if you are looking for somewhere that feels like your home away from home and not one of those impersonal huge resorts then this is the spot for you! We are perfectly situated right on the new Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and the 2nd Ave. Pier. Give us a call today we would love to have you!!!

Windsurfer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My second trip to Windsurfer-1st was a girls trip in '12, this one with the Hubby :-) We had an awesome time! & Loved our stay! Hated to Leave! The Windsurfer isn't one of the GRAND RESORTS many want & look for and there are some things in need of updating which I did notice some appears to be in progress. Our room was clean and we had great service when needed (a huge plus for us), we really didn't spend a lot of the time in our room - we were either on the beach, shopping, out walking, or at our favorite (2nd Ave.) Pier- just a very short distance away, & Main Myrtle is just a 20min. walk away up The Boardwalk. Most of our time there-less time to unload and load, we did have to park in the overflow across the street, but we had no problem with it at all. If you're looking for BELLS & WHISTLES and more kid friendly things to do etc.-I'd recommend their sister hotel Sandy Beach. If you want more information on what is provided, send them an email or give them a call. THANK YOU WINDSURFER FOR A GREAT TIME & STAY! - WE SIMPLY LOVED OUR VISIT & HOPE TO RETURN IN '14

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsurfer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsurfer Hotel

Address: 210 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Windsurfer Hotel Myrtle Beach
Windsurfer Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsurfer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.