We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
1805 North Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
843-448-2315
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 700 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Climax, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The breakfast buffet here has become a family tradition for Sunday mornings at the beach. Excellent variety and plenty of healthy options. Clean facility and friendly staff keep us coming back not to mention the great value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    14
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Three of us arrived late one evening(8PM). One friend ordered only mashed potatoes and cheese, another ordered an all star breakfast and yet the third person ordered a chicken Caesar salad.
I believe there were only two tables filled including ours,so not busy at all. We waited for our food for what seemed a long time (20-30 mins). When it arrived the mashed potatoes had no cheese on them but the friend didn't want to wait any longer for it to be fixed correctly. The other food was good but it shouldn't have taken that long for the orders. The restaurant needs major updating. Waitress was very nice yet wasn't accurate in taking the simple order for mashed potatoes with cheese. I doubt we'd go there again in that area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food was ok, needs major updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The only reason i gave the food an okay, was that we were late getting there, and the buffet was pretty low on some of the items. However, what my wife ate she said was good. I ordered off the menu and I had no problem. The food was good. I ordered the Italian feast.

One thing for sure, this restaurant needs major updating. (See my pictures).

The staff was very nice. Our waitress was very very nice. Her name is Paula. If you go in, ask for Paula.

Bottom line, Shoney's been around for a long time and you can tell being in this restaurant. Again, for dinner, if you go at the normal dinnertime you'll find the food very good. We were there around 8 o'clock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good basic breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Basically the food was ok.The pancakes were not that great.They did not have any sweetness to them at all.The buffet was good.We really enjoyed the sausage rice.The server was good that we had also.Overall the buffet and restaurant was clean,had hot food and was good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Food was good along with the service. We had the breakfast bar one day and the dinner bar the next enjoyed both!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.