We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope You're Hungry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Benjamin's Calabash

Original Benjamin's Calabash
9593 N Kings Highway, Restaurant Row, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
+1 843-449-0821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 700 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Family Fare, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A landmark of the Grand Strand, The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood serves fresh local seafood daily. Our award-winning buffet is world-famous for introducing the Myrtle Beach area to cooking seafood Calabash style, which is lightly battered and deep-fried. If great food and a good time are what you're craving, then you've found the place. So sail on in for the adventures of a true nautical dining experience, and save room for an abundance of sensational food and memories
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hope You're Hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Calabash is a South Carolina word that elsewhere would be translated "fried seafood gut-pack". There's a huge assortment of seafood, most of it fried. I had fried shrimp, shrimp creole, boiled shrimp - all good. I saw folks scampering to and fro with huge plates of crab legs (not my personal favorite). Staff was very friendly and courteous. Did I get my $31.95 worth? I'm not sure, but it was still pretty good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    277
    181
    81
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mooresboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Large selection of decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

If you're a fan of crab legs, you can easily eat enough to make this buffet worth the cost. While they weren't perfectly cooked, the crab legs were very good and plentiful. The rest of the buffet is what keeps me from giving an excellent rating though. There are items that were very good and there were items that were not very good. This was our first trip to a seafood buffet in Myrtle Beach. While we weren't displeased, I don't feel like we would be missing anything if we skipped the experience on our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can you say WOW!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have never been to a place where everything is sooooo good! You would have to sit here for hours to eat everything! The crab legs are the main attraction but please don't stop there. I had a tear in my eye from the prime rib! Worth every penny spent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best calabash in Myrtle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a great experience! From the service to the perfectly fresh crab legs this is worth the money!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crablegs, crablegs, crablegs!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We tried this seafood buffet restaurant for the first time, and it was great! The crablegs are the main attraction, and they desertve to be. They were delicious, as was the calamari and fruit bar. The shrimp was good, as well as just about everything we tried. The only thing was that it was a bit pricey. For the two of us to eat, it was around $75 including a small tip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Benjamin's Calabash also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Original Benjamin's Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Benjamin's Calabash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.