We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Your Patience With You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Benjamin's Calabash

Original Benjamin's Calabash
9593 North Kings Hwy, Restaurant Row, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
843 449 0821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 760 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Soups, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Featured in "Southern Living" and "Gourmet" magazines nationally. A true landmark of the Grand Strand. The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood is the largest Calabash seafood in the world! The restaurant spectacular all-you-can-eat buffet features over 170 items created from the freshest ingredients. Operating our own private shrimp boats allows us to serve you the highest quality seafood available. Some favorites from the sea include fried, broiled and steamed selections of shrimp, oysters, scallops, clams and fish including flounder, mahi-mahi, salomon and tuna, just to name a few. You will also find deviled crab, crab cakes and of course all-you-can eat crab legs. The buffet offers a scrumptious selection of steaks, chicken, barbecue, made-to-order pastas, fresh vegetables and many more culinary creations! The abundant salad bar and homemade soups are sure to please everyone, and prize-winning hush puppies, freshly-baked breads, melt-in-your-mouth cookies, and delectable desserts are prepared daily in the restaurant's in-house bakery.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bring Your Patience With You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have eaten at Original Benjamin's approximately 20 times. Yes the meal is a little expensive. the key is to always bring a coupon which can be obtained from most of Myrtle Beach area coupon books (in hotels & gift shops). Those $4 & $3 coupons can really help to bring your bill down. If you are able to arrive at 3:30-4:30PM the restaurant is less crowded and the parking lot is almost empty. You can sit, eat and talk and the servers will never rush you out the door. Servers are polite, friendly and do a really good job. Crab legs are very popular at the restaurant. However the pasta station is quite good along with the carving station. They have all types of good desserts including cake, cookies, pie, ice cream, pudding, etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    242
    161
    73
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time to Original Benjamin's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I went on 6/7/13 during our anniversary trip to Myrtle. This was my first time eating at the Original Benjamin's and over all it was very good. Once inside you are greeted by the staff all dressed in sailor uniforms and they take you to your table. On the way you are given the tour of the 170 item buffet, all the boat models etc. Once at your table they ask you to wait until the wait staff has gotten your drink order. We didn't have to wait 30 seconds. The waitress also tells you the price (29.99 + 2.50 for drinks PP) which at first looks expensive but more on that later.
I love shrimp, clams and steak. My wife on the other hand loves her crab. I was not disappointed at all with the food everything was hot and fresh neither was my wife. The shrimp and clams were fried perfect and the steak I cut with a butter knife. Our waitress all ways topped off our drinks with out asking and usually did before the glass was 1/2 empty.

Now the price while steep is well worth the money. The restaurant is some what crowded but not as some others I have been in but it is a buffet. Other reviewers on here complain at that they had poor service maybe that went on a bad night? I never saw any one complain during our time there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All around disappointment :-(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Please save your money. Definitely not worth it, would have rather had fast food. Everything was horrible, crab legs are sparse and taste dirty. Not butter but margarine they have to mix and will seperate into oil and water in about 2 mins. All fish is way overcooked, for that matter everything was severely overcooked, asparagus, Cajun chicken pasta, fried chicken, corn on the cob. Bread was old. Everything about the experience was horrible, service was not good either. Waiter came once, and had to request to get the complementary hushpuppies. The atmosphere was dated old pirate junk, and model ships on display that are falling apart, and complete with miserable employees speaking in cheesy parate lingo...how humiliating. And all for $34.99 per person with buffet and drink....ridiculous! Never again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a horrible experience from start to finish. Clam chowder had to be made at supper time in a sea food restaurant. Chicken pieces in chicken noodle soup were so big they needed to be cut up to eat. Broth was nothing more than warm water and the clam chowder was cold when it was if ally served. Food was overpriced and over cooked. All in all, it was just plain horrible. They did take three dinners off our bill that we couldn't eat and our bill was still $169.00 for 8 people. Never again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The only reason why I did choose average and not poor ---crablegs and desert bar. The building smells funny (sour), and the food does not have a good flavor. The pricey is too high for the food that's offered on the bar. Staff was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Benjamin's Calabash also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Original Benjamin's Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Benjamin's Calabash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.