We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite of mine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Roadhouse

Carolina Roadhouse
4617 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2770
843-497-9911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Golf Magazine’s choice for “where to eat with your buddies”; here you’ll enjoy “fall-off-the-bone” baby back ribs, giant seafood platters, award winning salads and the outrageous "Killer Dog" – a foot-long hot dog smothered in chili, cheese and fries. This large lively eatery features a wide-open show kitchen and wrap-around bar that is jam-packed with creative cocktails, wines and beer. Located on the Grand Strand’s north side- North Kings Hwy between 38th & 48th Ave.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A favorite of mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Every year, it gets better and better! Get the croissants, they are amazing. You will have to wait but it is worth it. Excellent choice for a nice dinner.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    342
    128
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Huge Portions and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was my first time at Carolina Roadhouse. We did have to wait about an hour to be seated because the place was absolutely PACKED! There were people waiting all over the place and every table was full. Once we were seated we ordered the honey croissants for an appetizer and they were delicious (another table saw ours and ordered them too!).

Our meals were excellent- the portion sizes are huge- seriously huge. I got the chicken tenders platter and there were 8 large tenders so there were plenty left over. Given the size of the portions the value for the meals is excellent.

Next time I would go I will likely call ahead to save myself the waiting time, but overall it was great and would recommend it. Especially to families and those looking for a good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

After a gorgeous day at Myrtle Beach, please don't ruin it with this joke of a "business". I can't talk about the food, because my family of five never got a chance to try it tonight on our way home to Florence. It was super crowded from the parking lot in, so we expected to wait for awhile. When the "hostess" told us that it'd be just 50-60 minutes, that was fine-we grabbed some overly sweet margaritas from the bar and sat in the waiting area inside by the hostess stand. We got there about 5 minutes before the people sitting next to us, a four top. They told them it'd be 40 minutes to wait. Well, over an hour went by, and nothing for either of us, so I decided to ask how much longer. "Just five minutes more" was the reply. Well, we and the people next to us wait another half an hour, 90 minutes total before telling the "hostess" we were leaving. No apology, no explanation, just a snotty look and a "thank you" on our way out. I mean I have worked for over a decade in the restaurant industry, so I really do understand that things come up and happen. But, an explanation or apology really does go a long way...especially if you clearly have no idea how to do your job. An overestimate rather than a gross underestimate of the wait was bad enough, but the lack of care was too much.
Please don't waste your time as we wasted our family's tonight...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at Carolina Roadhouse, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Making our guests feel welcome is one of our highest priorities and I am very sorry that you did not experience this level of service. I would encourage you to seek a manager in the future if this were to happen anywhere as they can assure your happiness. It's unfortunate you weren't able to stay and enjoy the fare... which I promise is worth the wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Passing by I noticed that there were always cars in the parking lot. We stopped in for a late lunch. We both had salads and shared an appetizer. The service and food were excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were driving, very tired from the day, and couldn't decide where to go, so we pulled in to Carolina Roadhouse with little expectation. We were amazed the moment we walked in. We loved the interior/atmosphere. Very clean and crips with a comfy home feel. The smells were fabulous. The menu isn't the most expansive but does still have plenty to offer. I opted for the barbq rib meat sandwich because I saw it on someone elses plate. OH MY GOODNESS, it was sooooo good! everyone at the table was picking at it. My kids loved the softshell crab. Chicken tenders were homemade and great as well. We had an overall wonderful experience and can't wait to go back in July! Its a must go at the beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Roadhouse also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carolina Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.