We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Roadhouse

Carolina Roadhouse
4617 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2770
843-497-9911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Golf Magazine’s choice for “where to eat with your buddies”; here you’ll enjoy “fall-off-the-bone” baby back ribs, giant seafood platters, award winning salads and the outrageous "Killer Dog" – a foot-long hot dog smothered in chili, cheese and fries. This large lively eatery features a wide-open show kitchen and wrap-around bar that is jam-packed with creative cocktails, wines and beer. Located on the Grand Strand’s north side- North Kings Hwy between 38th & 48th Ave.
Ennismore, On
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited the Carolina Roadhouse with several of our friends There was a significant line up and we split our group into parties of 4 in order to reduce the wait time. Having been there before, I stuck with the salad that is topped with a piece of grilled salmon. Very tasty - the dressing (while not lo cal) is outstanding ! Our waitress was exceptionally good - she was training someone who did not seem to be catching on quickly, however she was careful not to criticize her and was showing by example what a good waitress should do and say. All in all, a very positive experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    343
    128
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always a Good Meal at Carolina Roadhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Carolina Roadhouse is always busy -- but they have a very efficient staff so there are no waits for your food or service. There is one chicken dish that I always get because it is so good and I have been reluctant to order anything else. My husband has ordered a wide variety of the menu and finds everything to his taste. This is a fairly large restaurant, but the noise level is very manageable and it easy to have a conversation at your own table. If you want a few drinks they have a large bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After a four hour drive we wanted something tasty, yet quick. Carolina Roadhouse was perfect! The servicer was extremely professional and efficient. The Shrimp Po Boy had perfectly seasoned shrimp with a tangy spread on crispy french bread. The ambiance was perfect for date night. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of the best steakhouses ever!! Fresh food! Great customer service! Great atmosphere!! I would definitely recommend this to everyone who visits Myrtle Beach!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We waited quite a while to get into this place, and after we did, we wondered why. We were crammed in like cattle, the place was so dark you had to hold the candle on the table next to your menu to read it, and the music was so loud we had to shout to hear each other. The waiter was very polite and efficient, but it was clear he wanted us in and out so they could seat the next party. The food was good, but not great. The selection could be better. The only sirloin is marinated, which I typically don't like, but this one was OK, and cooked perfectly. I've gotten larger portions at other places for less money. My boyfriend got the prime rib, which again was good and cooked well, but nothing special. It appears this place is running on its past reputation, which won't last long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at Carolina Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the accolades on your meal, we serve fresh, never frozen USDA choice beef for all our selections, including your sirloin and prime rib. As for our ambiance, we prefer our guests to not hear the table conversation next to them so the music is adjusted accordingly. I'm sorry we didn't impress you more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Roadhouse also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carolina Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.