We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy campground” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Save
You added Pirateland Oceanfront Campground to your Saves list
5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Busy campground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a busy campground with many many decorated golf carts going to and from the ocean, lazy river, store, food shop or just cruising around the campground. If you are right next to the oceanside road or on one of the two main streets in and out from the ocean you will have alot of golf cart traffic and will right next to the evening cart parade with all the various forms of music and noise. We stayed 6 sites back from the ocean and heard only an little noise. This is not a quiet mountain camp, this is a very busy place. Most of the cart drivers are ok but there are always a few that are "distracted".
We had a site issue that took several days to resolve. We found most of the staff friendly.

The ocean sites at Pirateland are much bigger than those a Ocean Lakes, but the inland sites at Pirateland are smaller and harder to back in to than the bigger inland pull through sites at Ocean Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to give us a review! Thank you for giving some great suggestions to potential travelers. If you have have an opportunity to try us out sometime in the off-season you may like the more laid back atmosphere. September and October are great because the weather is still hot enough to swim and sunbath, but not too hot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    61
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
154
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Camped alot as a child and have alot of fond memories. Now at 50 just went camping with friends for the first time since I was a child and found it to be alot of fun, Convenient and comfortable, Piratesland in S Mrytle Beach is so close to everything. The location is such that you have a nice sea breaze and there are lots of shady lots available. If that doesn't keep you cool then there is the lazy river, very large and cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you had a good time and that your getting back in to camping! We are in a really great location and the lazy river is one of the longest in the area. We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your next camping adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Pirateland was a family destination of mine EVERY YEAR while growing up for 3+ weeks every summer, but will NOT remain so as i raise my own familyas Pirateland is no longer a family campground. People doing funnels. Loud music with constant cursing. A nightly parade that is more like an evening in the French quarter for mardi gras than in a "family" campground. At 11:00 the guards do a fairly good Job of dispersing the carts but the party like atmosphere at many campsites still takes place. Ridiculously loud fireworks on the beach that are Clearly coming from Pirateland campers...and nothing is done. If you happen to be camped anywhere near one of the many party sites, good luck getting any sleep before 2:00. 

Permanent site owners were allowed to have golf carts when I was a kid. Now everyone has one thanks to the outrageous amount of money generated from their rentals. Just one example of the many that have turned Pirateland from a wholesome environment to an R rated movie.     It's an inappropriate place to bring kids anymore and that is sad to say the Least.  My kids won't know the same Pirateland i did. 

The responses from management on here that security should be called is absolutely laughable. The party like atmosphere is well beyond reigning in at this point and nothing is done anyway. One of the summer employees of the campground camps on an oceanfront site and nothing was done during our 2+ weeks to slow down the party that lasted at his site until 3:00 every night. Years ago security guards roamed the campground during quiet hours and told people to keep quiet. Not anymore as I type this it is 10:45 and I'm 4 sites back from the main road and my windows shake from the bass from the parade - no chance that my two kids under 10 will be able to sleep any time soon. Makes for cranky kids and adults the next day.

Do yourself a favor and check elsewhere if you are looking for a family campground. Been camping in MB from 1975 - 1985 at lake arrowhead and 1986 - 2012 at Pirateland...and 2012 will be the last. Lakewood is next door and is a Christian themed park - I will be inquiring before we depart. many of our former fellow campers have gone to state parks rather than subject themselves to this atmosphere and I would suggest the same.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here. We appreciate your family's patronage over the years. Patrol still roams the park to ensure compliance, as they always have. We do not have any employees that stay or live on oceanfront sites. We certainly have more people in the campground in the summer, and when kids are on break from school, which makes for a busy, sometimes loud, environment. There are a few areas in the park that may see less traffic, but the campground is generally going to be at its busiest in July. We do enforce quiet hours from 11pm to 7am; as you observed and mentioned in the review. PirateLand still remains a family campground. We have seen many changes in the park and in guests, but they are still families. Our Patrol Manager and Operations Manager are aware of your concerns and they appreciate your time and the feedback. Vacationers find their fun in many ways, and sometimes that may be participating in activities we do not condone. We very much want everyone to have an enjoyable experience. We hope your family will continue visiting us and we will work hard to improve your next experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a terrible vacation at Pirateland. The WiFi did not work most of the time. I told them when I made the reservation WiFi was a necessity at the stie so I could check in with my business and daughter could continue college course online. It kept bouncing us around from one router to another, depending on ? Showed we had a connection, but no online access. Dirty, trash laying around. Golfcarts racing around, bikes and scooters racing around, so many near misses it was ridiculous. Couldn't even take the dogs out for walks in the cooler evenings because of the constant golf cart traffic on the street along the beach, which is where we were staying. Speed limits were not enforced for those carts! Kids unsupervised. Really, an accident(s) waiting to happen. Then there was a transformer fire; 105 heat index and no A/C! After that we lost power to the A/C three more times. So we were afraid to leave the dogs in the trailer even to go out to eat as iit was dangerously hot without A/C and we couldn't depend on it. Some of the staff were very gruff, some were nice. Asked for a credit for the lack of WiFi and was told it was free and they could not credit me. Really? At $76 a night do I really believe WiFi was not buried in that fee? They could have credited us some as a goodwill gesture. We were there in the 80's and it was fantastic, but has definitely gone hill. Overcrowded, now that they have all those permanent sites added. Definitely not a do over! Oh, and fireworks between the trailers at midnight; where was the enforcement of no fireworks rule?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for returning to the park and taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. A lot has changed here since the 80’s. We do have more sites, and more amenities. We upgraded our internet service this year to provide free Wi-Fi for the campsites and vacation rentals. We also have Wi-Fi service and desks available for guests in our main office. Trees and high usage in the summer may cause signal interference. Our internet service provider has 24 hour technical that may be reached at (843) 492-6666. It is unclear if you contacted them, but they would pin point any issues and resolve them. In the summer, or anytime kids are on school break, the park is very busy. An atmosphere that some guests really enjoy yet others may find too much. Other times of the year, the environment is different; more relaxed and less crowded. The Santee Cooper transformer fire was fixed in a timely manner as are all electrical calls. We have patrol on staff 24/7 and if they were called regarding fireworks in the campground, they would immediately respond. Fireworks on the beach are the enforcement of the Horry County police who also respond to calls when necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for a week and hated to leave. We are new to camping and needed several things, the onsite store had all the basic things we needed. We only left to take a helicoptor ride which is 3-4 miles away, and the ripleys aquarium is only a 10 minute drive. The staff is very helpful, the walmart is 5 minute drive. We stayed on campsite number 215. This was the best experience with my family for vacation 10 stars. We have 3 children from ages of 3 to 7. They all loved this and now play like they are still there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! The kids are perfect ages to start camping! We are in a great location; convenient to area attractions. So glad your family had a good time! We're wishing you many more great family camping trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I have to say this was the best vacation ever! Pirateland has everything you need while on vacation... A general store that sells it all, laundry mat, arcade for the kids, paddle boats, fishing,lazy river, kiddie pool, putt putt golf,etc... Too much to list! Safe for kids to ride their bikes! Very family friendly.. We stayed in a villa w/ 2 bedroom, 1 bath.. One bedroom has double bed, 2nd room has single bed AND a bunk bed. You can rent a golf cart, which I suggest. We didn't rent one the year before, and this year was so much easier bringing everything to beach on the cart:) I highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our park! We're glad to hear to enjoyed many of our amenities! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Over the years the campground has grown, but still has the same safe family atmosphere. Love the limited #of golf carts. Traffic here is a 1- comp-to oceanlakes 10!. Staff is helpful & security does a great job monitoring 11pm quiet hrs. The water in the lazy river needs a cooling setup added. The water was just to warm.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thanks for reviewing the park! We will pass along the suggestion about cooling the lazy river. It sure was really warm last week! We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.