We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Akels House of Pancakes

Akels House of Pancakes
6429 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3008
(843) 449-4815
Improve this listing
Ranked #441 of 736 restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

How do you mess up breakfast? Were these fake eggs? Pancakes ok. Syrup warm - a nice touch. Bacon not even good...Coffee ok. Disappointed as this place has been around a long time and I like to support the old spots. I won't go back to this one!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    25
    20
    23
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good locals' breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Good inexpensive breakfast. Yummy huge biscuits and good grits. My kid had french toast and bacon from the kids' menu and the other three of us had the breakfast special with two eggs, toast and grits. All good and very very affordable. The coffee was too weak for me but the others liked it. We're visiting family and this is their usual go-to breakfast place. Full of locals and great old Myrtle Beach photos. We'll be back, perhaps even tomorrow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Charlton, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Never Going Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Let me start by saying this was the worst breakfast ever. Service was okay. From there it was all downhill. Pancakes had no flavor and even butter and syrup didn't help. Sausage patties were probably cooked at least 2-3 hours previous to being served. They were dried out and cold and the bacon was limp and cold. Our waitress apologized and took both back to the kitchen. When she returned the sausage patties were now hot but dried out even more. The bacon was also probably put back on the grill but now tasted burnt from whatever was on the grill. We complained to the owner who told us he would make it right the next time we came in. There definitely will not be a next time. Also, way overpriced for what we ordered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a good breakfast. There seemed to be a lot of "locals" - I would go back just to look at the old pictures of early Myrtle Beach but the food was good too. Nice & efficient waitress.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Come Hungry and be treated to fine breakfast and luncheon meals. The owner, Spiro Steiner is most always there, but all the wait staff and employees are friendly and eager to make your dining a pleasurable experience. We have been coming to this restaurant for the past six years and highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akels House of Pancakes also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Akels House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akels House of Pancakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.