We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Quality is not what is once was” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Steak House

Chuck's Steak House
9695 N. Kings Hwy., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
+1 843-449-7611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 716 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chuck's has been offering the original steakhouse and salad bar concept since 1979. Thick, juicy, hand cut Certified Angus steaks, chops, prime rib, lobster tails, and chicken are all charcoal broiled to perfection. Casual dining amid rustic elegance. Chuck's offers a waterway view, three fireplaces, and a large library. Reservations are accepted but are not necessary. A children's, early bird, and senior citizen's menu are also available. Serving dinner from 3:00 PM Daily. Our Happy Hour is 4-7 seven days a week. At Chuck's we only serve premium bar brands. We also feature $5.00 Martinis and a bar menu during Happy Hour. Chuck's is a smoke free restaurant.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Steak Quality is not what is once was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a party of nine and the waiter was excellent, efficient and very pleasant. The quality of the beef is not what it has been in the past. One of our party ordered a filet that was not edible - all gristle. After the fourth bite that she had to spit out, she sent the steak back. There was an offer to replace but the rest of the group was half finished dinner so it did not make sense. Management did remove the meal from the ticket and a couple of desserts were sent to the table which was nice and greatly appreciated. Three other folks at the table had issues relating to overdone and fat and gristle. My husband ordered a hamburger which was cold - meat and bun. Again, with 9 people, we did not want to hold up dinner by requesting another burger. My husband removed the cold bun and just ate the meat. The conclusion was that due to the price of beef, Chucks has dropped down a level in meat quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    93
    56
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Coldest Beer in Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

They only have 3 beers on draft but they make sure they do those right! Frozen mugs and great happy hour pricing. We also had the best (freshest) baked potatoes we've had in a very long time. Service was timely and complete. Been here many times over the last 20 years. It is still very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“prime rib heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had beer battered onions rings as an appetizer, and they were great! The prime rib is slow cooked and served with hot au jus and creamed horseradish served on request. Can't wait for another myrtle beach trip to try this place again. Their steaks are hand cut, they have an early bird menu, a happy hour, a senior and kids menu available. The restaurant over looks the intracoastal waterway. Food prepared to perfection, and a very appealing appearance. The Tanger outlets are nearby,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Two strikes, Chucks, YOU ARE OUT!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have eaten here twice now. NOT a cheap place to eat, but BOTH times the steaks were VERY mediocre. And both times terrible service here. The steak quality is not as good as an Outback. But the place we found and LOVE is TBonz, not far away from Chucks and worth the drive. Chucks is hit or miss and we MISSED on both times. PASS on it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Relations Manager at Chuck's Steak House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
On behalf of the owner, management and staff at Chuck's Steak House, please accept our apology for your subpar dining experience at our restaurant. We all appreciate the amount of time and effort you invested in writing your review.

David and Sandy Adams have owned and operated Chuck's since 1979. Our general manager has been with us for 16 years and our broiler cook for 26 years. We are the only independently owned restaurant in Myrtle Beach that offers Certified Angus Beef products, and we are one of only four that still hand cut all of our steaks on a daily basis. In other words, "We care."

We would like the opportunity to serve you again and prove that we are capable of good food, good service and a good time at our humble establishment. We've been around a long time, we have a very dedicated clientele, we care about our customers, and we rely on repeat business.

Please contact Dennis or Bruce at 843.449.7611 or chuckssteakhouse@sc.rr.com so they may discuss your dining experience in person. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greer, sc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ok but nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went during Happy Hour. We were seated at a table, but had to go to the bar for Happy Hour drinks to bring back to the table. Limited meals. Food and drinks weren't anything great. Doubt I will ever go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.