We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Coldest Beer in Myrtle Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Steak House

Chuck's Steak House
9695 N. Kings Hwy., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4007
+1 843-449-7611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 770 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chuck's has been offering the original steakhouse and salad bar concept since 1979. Thick, juicy, hand cut Certified Angus steaks, chops, prime rib, lobster tails, and chicken are all charcoal broiled to perfection. Casual dining amid rustic elegance. Chuck's offers a waterway view, three fireplaces, and a large library. Reservations are accepted but are not necessary. A children's, early bird, and senior citizen's menu are also available. Serving dinner from 3:00 PM Daily. Our Happy Hour is 4-7 seven days a week. At Chuck's we only serve premium bar brands. We also feature $5.00 Martinis and a bar menu during Happy Hour. Chuck's is a smoke free restaurant.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Coldest Beer in Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

They only have 3 beers on draft but they make sure they do those right! Frozen mugs and great happy hour pricing. We also had the best (freshest) baked potatoes we've had in a very long time. Service was timely and complete. Been here many times over the last 20 years. It is still very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    82
    51
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gallipolis, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“prime rib heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had beer battered onions rings as an appetizer, and they were great! The prime rib is slow cooked and served with hot au jus and creamed horseradish served on request. Can't wait for another myrtle beach trip to try this place again. Their steaks are hand cut, they have an early bird menu, a happy hour, a senior and kids menu available. The restaurant over looks the intracoastal waterway. Food prepared to perfection, and a very appealing appearance. The Tanger outlets are nearby,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Two strikes, Chucks, YOU ARE OUT!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have eaten here twice now. NOT a cheap place to eat, but BOTH times the steaks were VERY mediocre. And both times terrible service here. The steak quality is not as good as an Outback. But the place we found and LOVE is TBonz, not far away from Chucks and worth the drive. Chucks is hit or miss and we MISSED on both times. PASS on it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Relations Manager at Chuck's Steak House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
On behalf of the owner, management and staff at Chuck's Steak House, please accept our apology for your subpar dining experience at our restaurant. We all appreciate the amount of time and effort you invested in writing your review.

David and Sandy Adams have owned and operated Chuck's since 1979. Our general manager has been with us for 16 years and our broiler cook for 26 years. We are the only independently owned restaurant in Myrtle Beach that offers Certified Angus Beef products, and we are one of only four that still hand cut all of our steaks on a daily basis. In other words, "We care."

We would like the opportunity to serve you again and prove that we are capable of good food, good service and a good time at our humble establishment. We've been around a long time, we have a very dedicated clientele, we care about our customers, and we rely on repeat business.

Please contact Dennis or Bruce at 843.449.7611 or chuckssteakhouse@sc.rr.com so they may discuss your dining experience in person. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greer, sc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ok but nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went during Happy Hour. We were seated at a table, but had to go to the bar for Happy Hour drinks to bring back to the table. Limited meals. Food and drinks weren't anything great. Doubt I will ever go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Salad Bar - Entrees, be selective”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are pros and cons to this restaurant. First the pros - their complimentary cheese and crackers along with their salad bar are excellent. The salad bar is one of the best we have seen in SC, 3 types of lettuce to choose from and a plethora of toppings and dressings. Delicious, worth a trip here just for the salad bar. The crab cakes were also excellent, full of crab with very little filler. Two our our party of 4 ordered the sirloin steaks, which were tasty, cooked to order and tender. The other two ordered filet and prime rib. The filet was average and was cooked well done as ordered. The butter on the baked potato was either cut with something or unsalted, tasting "off" to the diner. The 6 oz. Prime Rib was 3 ozs. of fat, once trimmed the small amount of remaining meat was chewy. This was one of the worst Prime Ribs ever ordered and among the thinnest. We were surprised, perhaps if you order a larger cut, there is less fat and it would be thicker. The baked potato was ordered with sour cream only but again, either it was mixed with something or on the verge of spoiling as it did not taste like sour cream. We would return for the salad bar and the sirloins but would not recommend the Prime Rib at all. Another con for me was the profusion of stuffed animals all over the restaurant. Chuck's is badly in need of redecoration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.