We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Salad Bar - Entrees, be selective” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Steak House

Chuck's Steak House
9695 N. Kings Hwy., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4007
+1 843-449-7611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 768 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chuck's has been offering the original steakhouse and salad bar concept since 1979. Thick, juicy, hand cut Certified Angus steaks, chops, prime rib, lobster tails, and chicken are all charcoal broiled to perfection. Casual dining amid rustic elegance. Chuck's offers a waterway view, three fireplaces, and a large library. Reservations are accepted but are not necessary. A children's, early bird, and senior citizen's menu are also available. Serving dinner from 3:00 PM Daily. Our Happy Hour is 4-7 seven days a week. At Chuck's we only serve premium bar brands. We also feature $5.00 Martinis and a bar menu during Happy Hour. Chuck's is a smoke free restaurant.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Salad Bar - Entrees, be selective”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are pros and cons to this restaurant. First the pros - their complimentary cheese and crackers along with their salad bar are excellent. The salad bar is one of the best we have seen in SC, 3 types of lettuce to choose from and a plethora of toppings and dressings. Delicious, worth a trip here just for the salad bar. The crab cakes were also excellent, full of crab with very little filler. Two our our party of 4 ordered the sirloin steaks, which were tasty, cooked to order and tender. The other two ordered filet and prime rib. The filet was average and was cooked well done as ordered. The butter on the baked potato was either cut with something or unsalted, tasting "off" to the diner. The 6 oz. Prime Rib was 3 ozs. of fat, once trimmed the small amount of remaining meat was chewy. This was one of the worst Prime Ribs ever ordered and among the thinnest. We were surprised, perhaps if you order a larger cut, there is less fat and it would be thicker. The baked potato was ordered with sour cream only but again, either it was mixed with something or on the verge of spoiling as it did not taste like sour cream. We would return for the salad bar and the sirloins but would not recommend the Prime Rib at all. Another con for me was the profusion of stuffed animals all over the restaurant. Chuck's is badly in need of redecoration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    76
    50
    44
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best part was that our party of 6 were seated right away, however it went down hill from there. We gave our orders and were directed to the lower salad bar, which was a complete disaster. The entire salad bar was in disarray, lettuce everywhere and items needing replenished. There weren't even any rolls available at the lower salad bar. My friend and I ordered the same steak and when her's came out it looked like a normal steak, however mine looked like it was cut from the end of a roast. I ordered mine medium as I do like a pink center, it was cooked almost medium well and was tough to my taste. Everyone else did enjoy their meals. Our waiter was quite friendly and did a good job keeping our drinks full.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family visited Chuck's for the first time this past week and had a great time. Two of us ordered their larger sirloin which was delicious, my brother and his wife had the large filet which they loved. We all had our steaks cooked medium which were cooked to perfection. The salad bar was ok but that wasn't why we were there. I ordered a bottle of wine for our table which was presented the proper way. I was allowed to taste the wine and approve before our glasses were poured. The waiter Yahshoo provided us with great service and we will be back on our next trip to Myrtle Beach. =D

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Steak, lobster and pork chops were ordered for the party of 4. The food and the service was excellent. Our server was very sweet and attentive. The chocolate martini was outstanding, I wanted the recipe. We had so much food that we had steak & pork chops with eggs for breakfast the next day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service, A Myrtle Beach Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family has been coming to this restaurant for over twenty years and has never been disappointed. Last night my NY strip was excellent. Just as ordered it was a perfect medium rare, tender and juicy--- tender without the preservatives you may find in many chain restaurants. My wife enjoyed the prime rib and my son loved his sirloin steak. Sides were delicious and the service by “AC” terrific. Great salad bar and drinks. We look forward to returning to this Myrtle each classic for its food, service and ambiance. You get the quality of a classic NY steak house for about half the price so it is quite the value to boot!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.