We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodo's German Restaurant

Bodo's German Restaurant
407 8TH Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3712
(843) 448-1310
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Racine, Ohio
1 review
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My 3 sons & I had a very nice dinner at Bodo's! we are of German descent & wanted something different to eat while at the beach!! We will be making Bodo's a family tradition while on vacation in Myrtle Beach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    5
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1st timer but not last timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

a very homey place, nothing fancy, comfortable atmosphere, they play Johnny Cash songs in German :) friendly staff, food are very good. although the beer selection are pretty limited.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not cracked up to what we thought it would be!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Could get by the tacky and nasty entrance, although the moldy and cat urine smell was very powerful. The first issue was with the rude waitress, upon being seated and having to ask for menus, we then asked for some of their hot crusty pumpernickel bread and was told by her that they serve it with the entre and walked away after we said well we would like it now. We then had the pleasure of meeting the owner who was loud , boisterous and didn't let anyone get a word in at all. Didn't have three items an the menu and tried desperately to push other items. Well, we should have got up and left after the lousy, hard, tiny dry pumpernickel roll that was served to four people. Everyone had something different and a unison opinion of being of poor quality and an all around disappointment. Don't understand how the reviews were so misleading by such an awful experience. Had German food several times in other places that would blow this place away. Would never recommend to anyone anywhere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lost our business forever.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I used to come here all the time but never again. We Live in calabash and bypass the German restaurant in N. Myrtle Beach just to come to Bodo's. For one, our waitress looked as though she had already been indulging a bit before we got there. How someone could bump into every chair is beyond me. I ordered a glass of wine and had to send two them back because there were some suspect floaters. the food was good as always which was the only saving grace. When got the bill my jaw dropped. When I asked about she said there was a 18% gratuity. FOR TWO PEOPLE. way to turn 50 bucks into 70. We've never had a gratuity automatically added for two especially in there. They actually usually give us a local discount
.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Was told about this place from someone we had just met at the pool. Had been talking about where to go in the area for a good meal and he told us about Bodos. We decided to give it a try and are glad we did. Our waiter (Angus?) was the best..very personable. The food was out of this world and it didn't break the bank. The saurbraten, red cabbage and potato salad was to die for.A definite must for traditional German food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodo's German Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bodo's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodo's German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.