We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer is not complete without a stop here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodo's German Restaurant

Bodo's German Restaurant
407 8TH Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3712
(843) 448-1310
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Eastern Shore Va
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Summer is not complete without a stop here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Now it is not a huge restaurant but you can get authentic German food and beer. They make you feel like family. And then there is the potatoe pancake...yum. Make sure you mention you want them when making reservation or be paitent if you drop in an dorder them...it is worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    5
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Weirdly Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bodo's is unlike any bar that you will ever go to. When you first walk through the door it's almost like you've entered an old friends attic. The walls are covered with odd decorations of both German heritage and random artificats. Theres an old fooseball table just waiting to be played while you enjoy some bevarages and spirits with friends. I highly recomend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacularly unusual surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Bodo's is different. For a moment when we walked in I wondered if we had wandered onto the set of a low budget slash, as were the notes I made in the book on ourt tableer flick. The walls of the rustic interior are nearly covered with photograps and other eclectic material. We were the only diners the night we visited which was mildly spooky, but turned out to be cool as we got to know the owner operators better. Each table at Bodo's has a diary, replete with a pen. These books contain the thoughts of previous diners about the food and service. They are pretty much universally raves as were the notes I made in our diary. Simply the best potato pancake I have ever had, bar none, and my mother's were pretty good. Excellent Sauerbraten, the red cabbage was a touch sweeter than I prefer, but come on, excellent should be good enough. If you like German, try it, you'll like it. Best food in Myrtle Beach that isn't fish, or maybe including fish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BEST food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

They have a smaller selection but a very nice menu. My husband and I ordered different things and EVERYTHING was AWESOME except dessert. I got the portabello mushroom entree and it was the best food I have put in my mouth in years. My husband had pork loin and it was wonderful. The side dishes were also great. It was reasonably price and an excellent deal for such great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore Va
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The most unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of our standing favorites in Myrtle Beach. Words cannot do justice for the atmosphere. Can you picture mix of frat house and Mom's kitchen rolled into one? The potato pancakes are delicious - best to order when you make reservations as they take some time to make. Hubby loves the weiner wurst. Good German food and beer. Only one german wine though and would like to have other choices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodo's German Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bodo's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodo's German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.