We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you like oysters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shuckers Raw Bar

Shuckers Raw Bar
300 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3945
(843) 448-6162
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #359 of 737 restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK if you like oysters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Came in during a slow time, around 5:30 on a Friday and took a seat out on the covered (well enclosed) patio. A Server never came so we went inside, still took a while for someone to acknowledge us. Server was pretty slow and seemed scatter brained. My oysters were muddy. OK bar atmosphere. Nothing really stood out to me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    25
    16
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glad that I did not read many of the past reviews before going here..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

"It's more of a bar atmosphere, the steam pot for 2 is the best value. The steam pot has crab legs, oysters, sausage, clams, mussells, shrimp, and potatoes for 2 people is hard to beat"" Very applicable quote from another reviewer...Somewhere along the line I read this statement which lead me to try this bar-restaurant. My girl friends initial comment:"My mother would never eat in a place like this"..bar like and far from upscale. With that said, we ordered the steam pot and it was excellent and the price was unquestionably reasonable. Recommedation: Order the steam pot, deal with the bar like environment and some reviewers questionable cleanliness, I would go back in a heartbeat. Unless something has changed since my visit you should not be disappointed. Can t comment on some of the other menu items discussed by other reviewers

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Shuckers Raw Bar: No Disappointments Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

On 5/16 our party of four arrived at Shuckers during dinnertime. We were hoping for a couple of beverages & some fresh Happy Hour seafood. Although it was both dinnertime & busy bike-week, we were lucky to be greeted & immediately seated by Brooke, who took a drink order & started a lively conversation, which was both humorous & informative. We had explained that it was our 1st visit. We were not disappointed with our ($.55 each) selection of 18 enormous raw oysters (with all the trimmings), a basket of 10 very large steamed shrimp, 10 wings with BC and celery & then another basket of 10 fried shrimp. We all had a 2nd round of beverages & additionally purchased 2 attractive tee shirts. We experienced an awesome time, wonderful service by Brooke, & an exceptional selection of reasonably priced food. No disappointments here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like smoke with your food?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are used to no smoking in places that serve food. The smell of the smoke and lack luster service turned us off. They advertise some specials to ask for and when we asked about the details, our server didn't know the details. Pass on this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We've been here many times before on our trips to Myrtle. It's definitely not a fancy place; we knew that but we could always count on good oysters. I ordered my oysters extra well done. They came out barely steamed and completely covered in mud. I've never been served oysters before that haven't been rinsed. When we asked the waitress if they could steam them some more and rinse them off a little she made a face and said she'd have to see if the kitchen could do that. They came out better the second time. Service was poor - from the lack of interest to the rusty platters it was almost like since this is the off season no one really cared. Will likely try another oyster bar when we come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckers Raw Bar also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shuckers Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuckers Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.