We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous oysters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brother Shuckers

Brother Shuckers
4999 Carolina Forest Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC
+1 843-903-7946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 760 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Brother Shuckers Fish House offers something for everyone.. Children's meals, great traditional and regional Seafood Dishes featuring award winning Maryland Crab Cakes, Best of the county's Rack of Ribs, fantastic sandwiches including our in house made Burgers... Fantastic Happy Hour Specials, great entertainment on Wednesday and Thursday nights. Come see what the buzz is all about... Open 6 days, closed Sundays... Lunch is served from 11:30 daily with a $7 special everyday. Dinner menu begins at 4:00pm... Just one nibble and you'll be hooked..
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My mom and I had dinner here last Saturday night. The staff was excellent and very attentive and the food delicious. The fried oysters were the best we'd ever eaten. There was live music, which was wonderful. I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and would highly recommend it for anyone living or visiting in the Myrtle Beach area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the Seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband was in the mood for some good seafood, so we decided to try out Brother Shuckers. We read about it on some of local hand-outs we had picked up at the visitor's center in Myrtle Beach.

Once there, we found it to be different from what we had expected. We had thought to find a typical seafood restaurant, with perhaps picnic tables, and buckets for shells. Instead we found a much more dignified restaurant........but not at all stuffy. We had dressed casually, but were greeted as though we were honored guests. Our server, Greg, did a wonderful job of making us feel right at home, and made recommendations at our request.

We both had seafood. I had the Shrimp Scampi Florentine, and my husband had fish, shrimp, and calamari. (He had enough to bring some back for lunch the next day!)

All in all, this was a great experience, nice restaurant, good food, and wonderful friendly service with attention to detail.

Try it; you'll like it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great all over experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are "snow-birding" in Myrtle Beach and got a great dealsaver coupon for this restaurant. Gave it a try Saturday, was very impressed. Greeted warmly at the door (with no reservation, but it was before 5 on a Saturday). Our waitress was so enthusiastic and very helpful with selections. My husband had the stuffed tilapia, it was excellent, I had the mussels with pasta--mussels were excellent (sauce the pasta was in was kind of watery--it was the wine garlic sauce, next time would try the marinara). App was great--spring rolls-draft beer was very fairly priced. They added lobster bisque to the menu that night--it was excellent with a little different flavor--caribbean--very yummy ! Since the desserts didn't interest me, I opted for a German Chocolate Martini--my goodness it was wonderful--this also a waitress suggestion. All in all a great experience !!
They also had an entertainer performing--very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service even on Valentine's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have gone to this restaurant about four times and have NEVER been disappointed. The food is always tasty and creative.
On Tuesdays they service their specialty, Cajon Stroganoff with fresh Andouille sausage from LA. The owner's wife makes all the desserts.
Also, a fantastic bar. This is our new go to place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food away from the crowds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I went here with my wife during this weeks ice storm in Myrtle Beach. The food was awesome and service was incredible. I had a burger, my wife had the fish sandwich and we also had oysters and fried calamari, all of items were fresh and tasty! Our waitress (from Toronto) was great and we really enjoyed our dining experience and will be back on our next trip from Philly!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Shuckers also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brother Shuckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brother Shuckers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.