We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Review of A Resort with Great Potential Being Run Into The Ground!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Resort

Save Saved
You added Legends Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Legends Resort
1500 Legends Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A True Review of A Resort with Great Potential Being Run Into The Ground!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

When You first Pull Up and see the Huge Driving Range and Three Courses and Nice Clubhouse You think You may of found a golf Oasis! NOT THE CASE AT ALL! Legends Owner and Developer has forclosed on this resort and it is now owned by the bank.
I stayed here 4 months moving to Myrtle to play on the Hooters Tour as a Professional. All of the villas are furnished like the 80's with dirty dirty carpet. Old Appliances Back Breaking Beds and the Rudest leasing Ladies ever. One Named Susan and the Other Sara have the worst attitudes and could care less about you. I payed $900 a month with a $900 security deposit they tried their best to screw me out of. When you move in there is no check list I asked for one and they said they didn't have them but it was fine they know the condition of each villa. Each month they would print out a bogus bill from the electric company saying I (one person) used $170 in power in a two bedroom condo. LOL. The leasing ladies charged me $85 to Shampoo the carpets that were horrible when I moved in on top of the $125 cleaning bill the charge you to move in. Now the cleaning ladies are rude as well. They slam doors as hard as possible and told me once in broken English they had too. LOL

Now onto the Golf course and the Service. With Three courses they Double Tee causing the slowest golf I have ever played. Literally 6 hr rounds. This is also because they have no marshalls on any of the courses. This is because the resort is forclosed on and they don't have the money. This translates into a gorgeous huge putting green having no cut holes just flags stuck in the ground and with an enormous amount of grass your hitting off mats 3 weeks out of thwe month. The cart guys Throw your bag on the cart and actually won't let you put your own bag on the cart cause they are looking for tips that most certainly not desrved. Everyone in the pro shop and restaurant again have the worst attitudes I have ever encountered. I also noticed that many reviews said there bags were stolen. Mine weren't but I can tell you someone wanted to steal bags it could be done with no Problem. Their security car never moves ever so if you live there you or your belongings def are not safe.

Now for the one Positive thing is the Classic Swing Golf School and their head golf instructor Ted Frick. Ted is a great teacher super nice and well respected. Here is the non shocking thing. He has nothing to do with the resort what so ever LOL. His part of the driving range is seperate from the resort and is always hitting on grass has a putting green with holes cut. He has every teaching aid ever and great teaching rates.

Bottom Line this place is going broke and they don't care they overbook the course to make potential buyers of the resort believe that they have booming business. The only people that will like this resort is very high and drunk handicappers from the north and Canada. I have played all over the world and this place is a shameful example of how to run a golf resort. Slow play, Horibble accomodations, less than poor service and not one employee cares. Ted Frick and the Classic Swing golf school is amazing! Hopefully the Arnold Palmer Corp or someone else will buy this place fire everyone and get this beautifully property back on track

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
7
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Best of the courses are moorland and the offsite heritage course. I just hate the doubled up tee system though. Basically if you play first light and play first 9 holes quick, you will wait at the turn for 45 minutes behind a logjam of grs starting on the 10th hole. I understand they want to maximize tee times but it is simply penal for fast players. It is a big flaw in operations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The condos are well cared for and daily maid service is a plus, especially with 4 guys to a unit. All three courses at Legends are in great shape and each offers it own challenges. Golf package with free breakfast and lunch with 2 drinks is always a plus. Could do a better job with loading golf bags to allow practice without having to carry all your clubs to range. Would also be nice to have range balls included in cost. Both the main clubhouse with dining area and the Irish Pub offer good food at a reasonable price. Overall, I would higly recommend staying at this resort for a golf vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Went to Legends w/ a group of 250 for a private golf outing in Sept. The resort accommodated our group w/ excellent service, excellent food, and great rooms. Everybody at the resort was as nice as they could be( You can only imagine the logistic nightmare a group that large must be). On Friday and Saturday the group was split in two w/ an 8:00 tee time and a 1:30p tee time, but on Sunday all of the group teed off at 8:00a. this was accomplished w/ a minimum of disruptions.Cudos to the chef and her staff who not only fed us on time, but the food was really well prepared. We are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Rooms were very nice and clean. Excellent location close to all attractions and dineing and right on the golf course for those of us who like golf. Definately we stay here again my group loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I went to Legends in late september with a group of 8 guys. We decided to stay in the Villas for 4 nights/5 days, with tee times setup for each day.

We showed up at the clubhouse and met with Tony at the front desk for check in. Tony confirmed all of our tee times and handed out drink/meal tickets for each player

Each day began with a buffet breakfast(which was quite busy at times) but had anything you could want to start your day. After our round of golf, we ate lunch and grabbed a few beers(all included) in the clubhouse. After your two beer tickets its dollar drafts!!!

The villas were huge, and well kept. A shuttle to and from the clubhouse from your villa is a must. Dont forget to stop at the pub on the way...

The bang for your buck at this resort will keep us coming back year after year.

4 nights/5 days with golf at 5 of the nicest courses in myrtle. Breakfast, lunch and 2 beer tickets a day...all for 500$usd!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed at Legends July 19 thru July 24 in 2-BR condo/golf-villa in conjunction with the Father & Son golf tournament. The accomodations were excellent (clean towels & bedding daily) and several pools to cool off in. Played Parkland (twice) and Heathland both really fun courses & for $45.00 you received free breakfast, lunch, golf & cart, range balls & 2-free beers. How can you beat that?? Wanted to take on Moorland, but ran out of time, but it sure looked nice from what we could see. For those whiners, the staff was fine (like who cares anyhow we're there to play golf).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legends Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Resort

Address: 1500 Legends Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation in our Scottish Village dedicated to the game of golf or stay in our plush, new Gleneagles condominiums. At Legends Resorts, we've created the perfect play and stay golf accommodations in our villas and condominiums. Our luxurious and spacious 2 or 3 bedroom with 2 bath accommodations are specially designed for your golfing group. We feature at least 4 full-size beds per villa/condo, full kitchens and magnificent golf course views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Legends Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.