We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not our first trip to Myrtle Beach, so we had an idea of what we could expect. Turned out to be pleasantly surprised when we finally figured the correct entrance to the property. Villas are nicely laid out. Beautiful view from our 9th floor location. Unfortunately, we haven't been able to take advantage of the gorgeous pool area due to the colder temperatures. Another Marriott property that did not disappoint us. Wonderful family, couples and friends accommodations. Really enjoyed our stay. Golf has been enjoyable also.

Room Tip: Request oceanfront on a high floor. Ocean view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    116
    27
    4
    10
See reviews for
335
105
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apollo beach Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 cool nights, Oct 31- Nov 2. We had 3 adults and 3 children in our group. We are vacation club owners, and I received exactly what I booked..an ocean view villa on a higher floor. Villa was lovely inside and very well stocked, down to coffee and laundry soap...enough for a weekend. We had been assured that parking was available for our small RV, but it was in a remote lot..so far that we never made the trip to the grocery store that would have saved us a lot of money. As a result, we ate several meals at the hotel next door...food was delicious there, best shrimp and grits EVER, but expensive. Villa property had small cafe with coffees, sandwiches,etc.. also pricey but anything was more convenient than getting back in the truck and leaving the property to get a meal.

The children enjoyed the kids pool, the treehouse playground, and the main pool. The children's activities center was comfy and well stocked. We went down on the beach but has nowhere to sit unless we wanted to pay $30 to rent chairs for the day...disappointing. Space is available for guests to keep their own beach chairs down by the beach if they have them.

There was a lot of walking from one building and one activity area to the other. If we stayed there again with the children, I would prefer to be in the "woodsy" area buildings nearer the kid stuff.
Also, the service was excellent. On Sat. Evening at 9 pm our dryer was full of wet laundry and quit working....a repairman came up within 5 minutes and replaced the heating unit...I was impressed.

While we have had extreme difficulty booking any vacation club resort when we want it, and we believe we were misled and regret our purchase into the program, the properties themselves have always been excellent.

Room Tip: We were in room 1053, great view overlooking the hotel pool and the beach..you will have to take an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We recently did 5 day's here from 10/26 - 10/31. Very nice, clean, friendly, ocean view was Awesome. Pools were empty, spotless as the beach was too. A great place to stay as it's near everything you need. Parking at night was a little crazy as we ended up on the 4th floor of the garage every night, I can only imagine what parking is like in season. All in all a nice place to get a way too...

Room Tip: Ocean Views from the 7th floor was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Well the hotel was up to the usual Marriott standards. Well maintained,clean with well trained staff. The location was right in the middle of the Myrtle beach are close to every thing. The hotel is located right on the beach and most of the rooms have an ocean view.

The pools are very nice if you do not like going to the ocean. The food that I had for lunch was tasty. The meeting rooms are close and large.

Overall the value was could not be beat without all the taxes added to it but that is like that everywhere just about you go now a days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The most beautiful timeshare resort is found at Marriott Oceanwatch Villas at Grande Dunes in Myrtle Beach. Spectacular views, beautiful, spacious villas, and very accommodating staff. As owners since it was built, we have never had any complaints about anything at this Marriott property. Marriott thinks of every detail and does it to the best. Prior to being an owner we did stay at the Marriott hotel here. It is also very beautiful and first-class all the way. Highly recommend and will definitely stay over and over again. Very easy handicap accessibility. Staff is very attentive to any special needs.

Room Tip: Call the property directly if you have any special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a super facility that has everything that you would expect of a first-class resort: beautiful, well maintained grounds; easy access to the wide beach; well equipped work out room; pools and spas galore of every size and description, indoor and outdoor, a kids pool, a quiet serenity pool, oceanfront pools and all have plenty of seating; basketball, boceball, and even an area for cornhole. Our suite was modern and clean. All staff members were courteous, friendly and helpful. Plenty of free parking. Although there are no restaurants within walking distance, there is a huge selection of attractions and restaurants to suit every style and taste nearby within a 5 minute drive.

The resort itself is top of the line impressive. However, we were greatly disappointed with this Marriott's room assignment practices.

We have been Marriott Vacation Club members for more than 15 years. We purchased our interest when there were only very few Marriot Vacation Resort properties, with faith and trust that Marriott would recognize and appreciate our loyalty for joining the Vacation Club at the onset of their program. We always stay at Marriott properties when we exchange. We are also Marriott Gold Elite.

We came to this highly recommended resort by way of an exchange through Interval. We requested a high floor, oceanfront or oceanview at the time that we made the reservation. We renewed this request again a week before our check in date. We also repeated this request to a Marriott's 'check in specialists' who called the week before arrival, however, after much discussion, it was apparent that this specialist was mostly interested in having us agree to schedule for a sales presentation for Marriott's Destinations program.

At check in the desk clerk noted our request, but said that the resort was sold out and that there were no units available that would meet our request. We were given a 'Garden View' suite on a lower level floor in the Maple building, which is on the back side of the property, a distance from the 3 buildings that face the ocean. We were treated to a small glimpse of the ocean through the trees and between the oceanfront buildings.

Although the resort was said to be 'sold out', we observed that there did not appear to be many guests at the resort: far less than 1/2 of the units were lighted after dark; there were just a few people around the pools; and the parking lots were less than 1/2 full even when we returned to the resort late at night. Curious, I checked for availability at the resort on Marriott's reservation site and found that there were suites available for rent for the dates of our stay. When I contacted the front desk about the apparent availability of suites and requested an improvement in our location I was again told that the resort was fully occupied and that our location could not be improved.

We have been told by Marriott sales reps that fewer rooms are being allocated to Interval exchanges since Marriott began its Destiinations program three yers ago. We've been told that the Destinations trust program receives a larger allocation of available rooms than those being given to Vacation Club Interval exchanges. Our experience at this resort, and other Interval exchanges that we have made, seems to support this. We have thoroughly researched Marriott's Destinations Program and have found it to be disadvantageous to any travel plans that we were making.

Needless to say, we are disappointed with the availability of room priorities at this, as well as other, Marriott resorts that are made avaiable to Vacation Club Interval exchanges. We suggest that anyone considering making a Vacation Cub Interval exchange into this resort realize that you may be very disappointed with the suite that you are given.

Room Tip: Request a high floor Oceanfront or Oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We go here as often as we can...even out of season. The suites are very well maintained, the views from the garden suites (top floors) are very good and building is near to the indoor and outdoor pools. The beach is wonderful to walk at all hours of the day, sand like sugar:). Location is fairly quiet:), away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. Great family friendly location.

Room Tip: Views from the top floor are amazing, great to watch sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.