We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September trip - wonderful experience, can't go wrong here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“September trip - wonderful experience, can't go wrong here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is our second stay at a Marriott Vacation Club resort. Our first was a few years ago at the Surf Club in Aruba. We had high expectations after staying there and we were hoping for a similar experience. Well, the Marriott Vacation Club Ocean Watch Villas in Myrtle Beach did not disappoint! We were thrilled with the stay, amenities, pools, beach, and everything about this resort.

RESORT:
 Absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. All the staff we encountered were very friendly – from front desk staff, to housekeeping, to loss prevention (we locked ourselves out of our unit). All the rooms at this resort, to my knowledge, are two bedroom dedicated units. There are five buildings total – 3 are what I would call beach-front, and 2 are in the back of the property behind the 3 front ones. Room types are Ocean Front and Ocean Side which are available in the front three buildings, and Ocean View (higher floors) and Garden View (lower views) which are available in the back two buildings.

AMENETIES: Starbucks coffee served in the Marketplace in the main building in the front. Had it several days and was always good. Also a Pizza Hut Express right there as well. They also had fresh breakfast sandwiches for purchase every morning. The Market Place was great for picking up small items you may need. There are gas infrared grills scattered throughout the resort. They are cleaned every morning and are a wonderful place to cook a meal, or like me to heat up garlic bread and avoid the after-smell in the room! They have daily activities for all to do – a calendar is given to you at checkin. We did Smores one evening and our kids painted sea shells one afternoon.

ROOM:

Beautiful rooms. Everything you need to live there for the time you are visiting. We rented (not owners) so we had daily room service included. Owners, from what I understand, do not have the room service and have to pay daily for the cleaning if they want it. There are only five rooms per floor so there is very little foot traffic in your hallway and I can safely say I was never once bothered by slamming doors. Each unit has a 2 queen bed room and a 1 king room. The king room has it’s own bathroom with large tub and separate standing shower. The queen room has a ‘shared’ bathroom with just a tub/shower combo unit. The living area had plenty of seating: Fold out couch and two chairs/ottmans. There was seating for 6 at the kitchen table. One of the highlights of the room was the balcony: very large and comfortable. Although, the sliding door to get out there was very heavy and required some real elbow grease to open and close. Room keys are radio type cards and not magnetic so no worrying about ruining the keys with cell phones or other credit cards (actually a great feature if you know what I’m talking about). We locked ourselves out one evening and the front desk would not give us a key since we did not have ID (this is a great thing). We called loss prevention from the elevators and they were there within two minutes to let us in our room - - and yes they checked our IDs as soon as we got in. That’s great security!

POOLS/GYM:

 There are several pools. The main pool is located in the middle of the front three buildings. It’s mostly what I call a concrete area – not many trees. It was a popular area at all times for both adults and families. There was a bar located right there as well. The Woodsy pool is in the back in front of the two taller buildings. It’s a beautiful area with lots of trees and shade. This pool has the zero entry splash zone for kids with a water slide for them as well. It’s a very large pool and appeared to be most popular with families and kids. This area also had a bar for food, drinks, and kids items but was only open till 4pm. Adjacent to this pool is a more secluded ‘serenity’ pool that is quiet. This was a very popular pool for the adults. There are several whirlpools throughout the property. We never had a problem with crowds at any of the pools and were always able to get seats. A few days we didn’t even arrive at the pool till 10. Understand this was a September trip as I understand this may not be the case in prime season. All the pools appeared to be heated as they were very comfortable and you could feel the heated water on evening swims. There is also a large indoor pool in the building separating the back two buildings where the gym is located. I used the gym everyday and it’s great. Plenty of equipment: 6 treadmills, 6 elliptical machines, stair steppers, free weights, and Nautilus type weight machines. There is also a gigantic tree house for kids to play in – man do I wish these things existed when I was a kid.

BEACH:

Very nice beach. The area just north of the Ocean Watch Villas is completely quiet so there is plenty of room for all the guests at the beach. There is a life guard service that you can purchase 2 chairs and an umbrella for the day. The entire day costs $30 if you are interested – they do give you a break if you rent them for more than one day.

SUGGESTIONS:
 If you have kids, stay in the back two buildings (Ocean View or Garden View) as your kids will love the Woodsy pool areas. The walk to the beach is not that bad and we did it twice a day with a 5 and 3 year old with no problems. The parking garage is located right behind the buildings for these two buildings which makes coming and going very easy also. If ocean view is the most important factor then ocean front will get you there but I understand they are harder to come by and go mostly to the owners which is understandable.

SUMMARY:

If you have a family the Ocean Watch Villas is your place. Great pool areas with lots to do. Excellent beach area. The resort has lots of daily activities for kids, adults, and families. And the rooms are perfect! The location is awesome too….I think it’s in the perfect area of Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay in the back two buildings (Ocean View/high room or Garden View/low room) as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    116
    27
    4
    10
See reviews for
332
104
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First time visitors to Myrtle Beach as family trip in early September weekend. We choose Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas based on travel advisor online reviews. It was good experience and turn out better than my expectation. The ocean review was prefect even thought we didn't have ocean front room. We stayed at ocean side review room that can clearly see the ocean and out-door pool at the same time. The room is clean and has decent size, and kitchen has everything you need to prepare your meals. The most important is not too crowd, so we can enjoy our short vocation. My 4 years old daughter love the kiddy pool. The only improvement that I can think is lack of restaurants inside the resort and parking space is limited if you return at late night. Overall, we will come back if we ever decide to visit MB again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! From the views, to the comfortable amenities, to the location as well as the accomodating staff. Everything about my vacation was just incredible! It was so hard to leave! (As a side note, I had originally booked my vacation to stay at the Hilton Beach Resort in Myrtle Beach, but after reading the reviews online, I decided to switch my reservation to here at Marriott's Grand Dunes. I'm very happy that I did, b/c I checked out the Hilton property when I got down to Myrtle Beach and it was exactly how the reviews portrayed it online. It was dirty, old, and nothing like the pictures online.) Stay here at the Grand Dunes, you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are long time Destinations Points and Platinum week owners and who normally come with our children in July and always have a great time. This year was no exception as our children have literally grown up here and we get to see how their experience changes as they get older. It’s a testament to OceanWatch that their well thought out activities have something for everyone to enjoy, from my 5 year old, all the up to my 15 year old.

We decided to come back in September with friends and share our beautiful resort with two other couples who had never been to Myrtle Beach. Needless to say, they were blown away by the facilities and how nice everyone seems to be. My wife and I had the luxury of experiencing OceanWatch as a couple with 2 other couples without our children for the first time. Wow, we needed that! We usually focus on the kids and plan all of the activities for their enjoyment but this time, we ate at restaurants that didn’t have chicken fingers on the menu, took long walks at night on the beach, and slept in when we wanted to. No children were there to beg us to get up early and out to the pool or the beach. The pool and the beach waited for us! The resort was far less crowded in September versus July and we were able to get chairs by the pool without me camping out at 7:00am every morning.

The other couples had excellent meetings with Maureen where they didn’t feel pressured and she helped them acquire Encore packages where they can return to experience OceanWatch again before they become owners. Both couples said that they now understand why I brag some much about our vacations every year and they look forward many years of vacationing with us at our beloved resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was a last minute trip and we were not sure we'd find a place. The hotel was not as busy as we thought it would be. The desk was very helpful and our room clean. Although pricey, it seems average on the area. Would return if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Overall this is a fantastic resort. The beach was clean, the pools were refreshing and all of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Oceans next door at the Marriott Hotel. Our server, Mo, went above and beyond, even on the days when we were not sitting in his section. The only complaints we have that kept us from giving this 5 stars are the beds are rock hard and the couch was very uncomfortable. Also, the wireless signal was very week and the families iPad's only worked in certain parts of our unit. Apart from that, we loved it. The location is great and away from the seedier part of downtown Myrtle Beach, but still close enough for us to hit all of the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times (rented thru Redweek.com for great deal) and each time they have amazed us a little more than the last at how much they have improved the grounds even thought there was no improvement needed. We just came back from a very nice family vacation here, with two small children-both under 7 years old, and we are already talking about planning next year's vacation. The kid's favorite thing about this place is "Everything!!!". They love the firepit roasted marshmellows night, story telling by the fire, the "dive-in" movies by the garden villas pool, the arts and crafts, the zero entry pool with all its kiddie splash entertainment, the waterslides, the indoor pool at the garden villas, definitely the "jungle gym" playset area by the garden villas, our walks around the grounds in the evenings, the beach area within walking distance from our garden villa (Maple Villas), and so much more. And if the kids are happy than Mom and I are definitely happy and we love how this resort is so close to everything even though you never have to leave for anything if you do not want to. They have an Express Pizza Hut, Starbucks, Bagels, mini grocery store, gift shops, several awesome restaurants, and great poolside drinks and food. If I could find a better rate (only complaint...on the pricey side but a whole lot for your money) we would stay here two weeks instead of just one. Cannot wait to surprise the kids again and go back.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows if you do not like thin down feather ones. That is what is in the room we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.