We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This resort is wonderful. Everyone is so incredibly nice and helpful. We checked in early and even though the room wasn't ready, we were still given full access to the resort. We were given beach towels and a map to naviagate the resort. The room was ready shortly afterwards. The grounds are very well kept and rooms very nice. We grilled out one evening- there are many grills and sitting areas and the grills are very clean. the workout facility is nice as well. there are mens/women's locker rooms and saunas in the facility as well. Not to mention - volleyball, basketball courts and many other outside activities/sports for all age groups. My only issue was that our room was on floor 2. But it was a high occupancy weekend. It wasn't terrible , just wish we could have gotten a better view. the other thing is this is a Marriott property, therefore they have Marriott bed mattresses. They are very flat and hard and the pillows very soft. I had a hard time getting comfortable to sleep. It felt like the mattress they have in Residence Inn and Courtyard. But we still had a great time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Request a villa in the main building in the Oceanfront building. The woodsy towers cannot see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    120
    29
    4
    10
See reviews for
345
112
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are Marriott Vacation Club owners and purchased points based on this property. This was our 2nd year coming and it did not disappoint. We always travel the first week of June and this year stayed 6/1-6/8. We stayed on the 4th floor of the Conch building which is oceanfront and had a great view of the ocean in front of us as well as looking down the beach and towards the Marriott hotel pool next door (great people watching!).

The villas are spacious, especially the corner units. The washer and dryer were front loading which made doing mid week laundry a breeze. The bedrooms were nicely sized and the bathroom in the master was huge with a jacuzzi tub. We ate in for breakfast all days but one, ate lunch in, and cooked dinner multiple evenings. It was nice not having to leave property if we didn't want to.

There were plenty of activities if that is your thing but we did not do anything this trip. We happened to be traveling during Tropical Storm Andrea and the days that it rained the staff offered discounts on movie rentals, etc.

The pool area was nice and the kids took advantage of that during the evening; however, for us the main draw is the ocean. There is easy access to the beach and even cubbies to leave beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. if you didn't want to drag them up to your room.

The resort is close to attractions and the nearby grocery store, Lowes, had decent prices which was nice since it was so close by.

This is our favorite vacation spot and we look forward to it each year. I never hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: If you are booking oceanfront, beware that you may get the Starfish building. While it is technicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful area. I was down there for a one day conference. Plan to take a large group back in the fall. The main Hotel areas are great and very beautiful. The room was comfortable. In my opinion the room I stayed in had not been updated in a few years. Access to the beach was good. I had a great view to the South and the room tops of the conference center I believe that it is a new law in Myrtle beach the the swimming pools can not be deeper that 5 feet. That is a little disappointing but is not the hotels fault. The grounds were well maintained. The had a hammock area for guest. This was great. The breakfast bar was great but a little pricy. The staff was great. I only give a 4 rating because I felt the room was not as up to date as the rest of the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ended up in a tower in the back of the property. There was a small lake and a fountain just outside our patio. We had asked for an upper floor but were on the first floor with a view of trees and lake which became monotonous after two days. Since we have no children we had requested to not be near the playground, but it was a short distance from our patio and we had the constant noise of the children playing. The Villa was nice but we won't go back since our requests were ignored and I don't want a viewless room on the first floor next to a playground.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Ocean Watch.
While we make every attempt to accommodate villa requests and view types, Owners of Marriott's Ocean Watch and members of the Destination points program receive first priority for view types. Unfortunately the resort was full during your stay and we were unable to accommodate all of our guest requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our second visit in as many years and we felt compelled to give kudos were kudos are due. Marriott absolutely hit a homerun with OceanWatch. This resort is located on the beach in the Grande Dunes which is the newer and more upscale part of Myrtle Beach.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and meticulously maintained. The pools (there are 5 and several awesome hot tubs) and decks are cleaned every morning. The villas are gorgeous, very clean, well equipped and include free internet and Direct TV with all the premium channels . We also found the stairwells leading up to the villas to be very clean as well. The elevators are even cleaned on a daily bases.

We found the staff, from those who check you in to the guys who clean the pools and everyone in between, to be very friendly; they truly seem to enjoy their jobs and work very hard to make sure everything is just so for the guests.

The resort as a whole was very well thought out and is just simply beautiful. There is so much to do in Myrtle Beach but you might find it difficult to pull yourself away from this little piece of paradise called OceanWatch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is our second year in a row visiting the OceanWatch Villas in Myrtle Beach, and it is still a wonderful place for a family to vacation. We were there unfortunately as Hurricane Andrea passed through, but it still did not stop us from enjoying our stay. The grandkids could not stay out of the woodsy pool, and they also enjoyed being on the beach in the sand. Broadway downtown and the boardwalk are good places for family fun. We all had fun at the resort and at the downtown attractions. We are Marriott time share owners and we thought that it would prevent us from being solicited by the time share sellers, it did, but there is a new angle.once Marriott knows that you are coming, they will offer you a 90 minutes presentation of "enhanced" privileges associated with your membership. When the presentation is over you be given a choice of signing up for these privileges you will be offered prices ranging from $17,000.00 to $45,000.00 packages. I will never be roped in again by representatives offering gifts to discuss enhanced membership privileges or anything else. I want peace and relaxation when I am on vacation. So I would advise anyone to avoid these invitations from solicitors.
Overall, this is one of best vacation locations for families and maybe not next year, but we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Since we are marriott rewards customers we usually book hotels through the phone app and when looking for a place in myrtle beach this hotel looked great! I guess I didn't realize at first that this was a hybrid of a hotel and condo complex but we were pleasantly surprised. We had a great long-weekend stay and will be coming back.

Pros: this place has beautiful grounds and pools. The complex is large so even though I think they were pretty full the weekend we were there it didn't seem too crowded. There is a pool bar where you can order drinks and food. The drinks were super tasty. The crowd seemed tame even though school is out and there were lots of kids. The villa was large and well decorated plus quiet and comfortable. We were in the building overlooking the main pool and ocean and I would recommend staying there. The beach area was nice and clean. This hotel is away from the main strip and so the surrounding beach wasn't too crazy. There are plenty of chairs by the pool. It's nice to have beach chairs and umbrellas to rent instead of having to lug a ton of belongings down there.

Cons: even though there is a pool bar with food available it's a little disappointing there is no pool server to allow you to order food and drink from your seat. Also we would have liked a few more restaurant choices. Since this is not a hotel resort I guess this should be expected but we still wish there could be pool servers and more food choices.

We enjoyed our stay and will be coming back for another long weekend this summer :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.