We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Save Saved
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
New Lenox, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely rooms and good location. Great buffet! Close to Broadway on the Beach and shopping. Room well decorated, very clean, and close parking. If you get the chance, check out the beautiful villas and the hand painted sand dollars painted by an employee at the art center. Great gifts. Overall, loved this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    114
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
328
100
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
northern new england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at many time share resorts and this one is top notch! The staff is very friendly and helpful.We had a first floor unit in the conch building. I never heard any noise from the rooms next to us or from above us. However I could hear noise from the hall and the unit across the hall. All the interior (including the entrance door to the interior hall) doors appear to be hallow core as you can hear through them as though they were open. That was the biggest down fall if you can call it that of this resort. The unit had the best stocked kitchen of any I have stayed at. We were a party of 7. 5 adults and 2 kids. We were very comfortable as the guest room was large enough for 2 adults and 2 kids, we gave my parents the master bed room and private bath. My aunt said the sleeper sofa in the living room was very comfortable and had an extra thick mattress.The 2nd bath has access from the guest room and the living space, so it was a perfect set up for extended family to share. The covered balcony was a room itself with a table to eat at and chairs for four. The pools ran between 85-89 degrees the indoor pool was the coolest temp at 85. There were many hot tubs and every activity here at the resort you could possibly want. The tree house playground was really very cool and fun for our 9 &12 yr olds, suitable for younger kids as well. What stood out most at this resort was the attention to detail. The extra touches I hadn't seen at other time share resorts like, samples of smoothies, and mimosa one morning, cubbies to keep your beach stuff in for the week so you didn't have to haul them back and forth to your unit, shell washing station, signs throughout the resort on local shells, sea life, etc. where really special touches. I also participated in several free classes for stretching, toning & yoga. Their activities had the highest participation rate I have ever seen at any resort, their staff made it very comfortable for you to try new things. Also their kids room has planned activities for kids (some with fees) but also they can go anytime with a parent (if under 12) over 12 without a parent and just play with the toys, games, books, to color etc. It was a nice outlet for our youngest to just have a place to play.
The entire resort is walkable, it is not so big that you need to drive to get to anything within the resort. Even after reading all the reviews and looking at all the online pics, our jaws still dropped when we drove in. This is a stunning place. I felt very safe here also, staff was VERY present and were doing their jobs!

Room Tip: If you want to be in an ocean front building as opposed to one in the back, ask for a lower floor. y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here, the weekend before Christmas and it was fabulous. The rooms were wonderful - the cleanest and best layed out for a two bedroom that my family has stayed in at the beach. The whole experience was great. My parents and I used the exercise facility, which was a short walk away. They had many new machines and weights. There was also a great indoor pool for the winter. There was a huge tree house for kids, many outdoor pools, and lots of nice seating outside near the ocean. My parents and I participated in their timeshare presentation, which was LENGTHY. Breakfast is not included at this resort. This is a great place to stay at the beach, young and old at any time of the year. My #1 pick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is fantastic. Ocean-front beauty! We choose hotels base on pools and the pools here are fantastic! Not only are they beautiful but the staff takes so much pride in keeping them spotless and warm when the air is still in the 70s! We loved the pools and the kids loved the water slide. The villa was beautiful, clean and comfortable. An all around great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Another great Marriott facility. Rooms and furnishings were first quality. A great place for a family vacation. Large heated pools with plenty of activities for the kids. We had a 2 bedroom unit on the 14 floor of the Maple building. I was concerned about being in one of the back building at the resort but we had a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you are in one of the three back buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are Marriott owners and are a little picky about our stays at various timeshares.

We own at this resort in the February season, but were lucky enough to get a trade into a better season (April) for this resort. We had a great 2 bedroom with a wonderful ocean view.

Our favorite area was the serenity pool (quite pool). It has heated sea water in it and is designated as a quite pool. Next to this pool is the fitness center with a steam room and sauna. We went to these areas every day!

We grilled on one of the many grills located around the property. We noticed that there were people cleaning the grills every morning so that they looked brand new! We have noticed this at several Marriott timeshare properties.

There are several grocery stores close by as well as lots of nice restaurants. We enjoyed several of the local restaurants. Our favorite two restaurants were Aspen Grille and Sea Captain's house. We went to the Aspen Grille for dinner and to the Sea Captain's house for breakfast. Both were excellent. The Aspen Grille was a little upscale and very lovely. The Sea Captain's house was a good place with a nice breakfast buffet (menu service if you want).

We also enjoyed the beach access. We started out walking a mile or two each day and worked up to 6 miles a day. They daily walk was really nice and gave us a little exercise.

We really like this resort.

Room Tip: the Scallop, Conch or Starfish buildings all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The two bedroom condo is beautifully decorated. Largest kids bedroom I've ever seen. The temperature was a little cool outside but, pools were very well heated. Many pools and planned activities to choose from. I won't be staying anywhere else but, here when I come to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.