We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Save Saved
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything you need.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed with friends at the Grand Dunes Villas for a long weekend December 7-9. Our friends had timeshare points to use and they chose the Grand Dunes. Being from South Carolina and traveling to the Grand Strand several times per year we have stayed at many hotels and condos in the past. This place pretty much was one of the nicest by far. The grounds here are spectacular. Awesome indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, water slide, basketball court, shuffle board, outdoor grilling, outdoor fire places, playground fort for kids and pool bar for the big kids. This place has it all when it come to outdoor fun right on the beach. The size of the property can be a little overwhelming but you get a lot of bang for your buck. Pools were heated to 85F but it was a little too cold and rainy to use very much when we were there. ( I want to go back during Spring or Summer.) Onsite café and Pizza hut was all the dinning the offer. If they had a nice bar / restaurant people wouldn’t have to leave the resort.

We had a 2 bedroom unit which was great. Kitchen was a tad outdated but the bedrooms, baths and living room were great. Flat screens T.V’s in both bedrooms as well as living room. Washer and dryer too. Nice large deck overlooking pool and ocean made for a great place for morning coffee even though it was a little cold out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    97
    26
    3
    9
See reviews for
280
93
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had the wonderful opportunity to join some family members at their timeshare over the New Year's Holiday. The family had two units. Each unit had two bedrooms with full kitchen and living /dining area, plus two bathrooms. Our balcony overlooked the beautiful pools, as well as the ocean, so we had the best of both worlds. The family enjoyed walks on the beach, swimming, using the hot tub, the fitness center and to top it off the shuffleboard courts. Plenty of activity to keep the younger ones busy but allowing relaxation time for the more mature folks. Common areas of the Villas were decorated beautifully for the holidays, which added to the charm of the facility. Definitely a nice little get away with family.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a good view of the Ocean. It will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best resort, beach, service, view. Even with all there is to do in MBSC, we rarely left the property. Great pools, lots of activities for teens and tots plus there's a great pool bar, friendly staff and lovely décor. The neighborhood is great for runners---paradise all the way around. Loved this resort!

Room Tip: Choose ocean-view from the highest floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at this resort the week before Christmas and had a wonderful time. Lived in Myrtle Beach years ago and knew that December would not be as crowded but still a great time to go. I called ahead and requested an ocean front room and my request was granted even though I am not an owner at the resort. Other reviews say as an exchanger from Interval they were put in the back buildings furthest from the ocean. I'm sure in the busy season it would be harder to get but in the off-season just ask!! The front desk was very helpful and accommodating and I'm so glad we asked for ocean front because the view was to die for!! ALL buildings at the resort are beautiful, in a perfect location, and although December is quite in general it was a perfect break before the holidays!
We will certainly exchange again the next time we visit Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for Ocean Front on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just back from a 3-day stay at the OceanWatch Villas ... what a superb visit! The grounds are beautiful and well-kept, the villas well-appointed and clean, and the staff (and other vacationers) very friendly. We wish we didn't have to leave so soon.

As advertised, the pools were all heated to to the mid-80s. We stuck with the indoor pool though, and enjoyed that and the hot tub. Not crowded, which I assume is typical with the "down" season. Kids enjoyed the tree fort playground equipment and the short walk (5 minutes, tops) to the beach. The outdoor pools looked to be good sized, with areas for smaller kids and adults, and a snack bar. Of course the outdoor bar wasn't open, but was a short walk from the Pine building. The pools were lit at night and provided great night scenery from our balcony.

We had a room in the Pine Building (exchange from Interval) and had a 9th floor room. Villa was outfitted nicely and I slept like a rock in the bed - very comfy. There are only 5 villas per floor so there was little to no noise - very peaceful. 9th floor (and up) seems good for an ocean view as we thought the view was perfect, though obviously a bit higher may have been nicer (don't go lower if you want a view). Keep in mind that the Pine Building (and the building immediately adjacent to it) are not directly on the beach, but there are benefits to a room here, like more parking and proximity to the larger outdoor pools - and you still get a view.

Other info: there were daily activities for kids and adults, TV in the villas was via DirecTV so there were tons of choices, and internet service was free and speedy. Plenty of outdoor gas grills - fired one up during the stay and enjoyed some steaks. My only issue ... and it is a small one ... with the Marriott resorts is their lack of a full service restaurant. Pizza Hut Express is ok, but I would imagine they'd make a killing if there was an on-site, full service restaurant. The sundries shop was a bit sparse.

All in all, an amazing resort in a fantastic location ... and an amazing time. We've booked at the Kingston Plantation and the Sheraton resort a bit further south, and this location blows them away. You can't go wrong here. Of course, we visited during the winter season, so no idea how packed it is during the summer, but we're planning our summer return right now. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had a 9th floor room - you probably want at least that high if you are in the Pine Building for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Ideal vacation for a family of four with two kids being under 5. Everything is clean, maintained and ready for you to relax. Grounds are beautiful, pools heated year round and the Resort is ideally located to enjoy all of Myrtle Beach.

We stay in the Garden View villas (furthest from the ocean and no ocean view) but could not be happier. Beach is only an extra 2 minute walk and the view of the "gardens" is still beautiful and relaxing.

We have gone every late September/early October for the last 3 years and will go again next year (already booked). This time of year may be cool, but heated pools make it absolutely fine and the crowds at the resort and in Myrtle Beach are non-existent.

If you are used to a Ritz Carlton, it is not that high end. If you want a great place for the family, this is a perfect option.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Second time staying at this hotel. I have thorougly every visit. First class service with a smile. We always choose any Marriott whenever possible. This location is top notch. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, nicely kept. Staff was very helpful. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.