We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much we bought into MVC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Save Saved
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we bought into MVC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Ideal vacation for a family of four with two kids being under 5. Everything is clean, maintained and ready for you to relax. Grounds are beautiful, pools heated year round and the Resort is ideally located to enjoy all of Myrtle Beach.

We stay in the Garden View villas (furthest from the ocean and no ocean view) but could not be happier. Beach is only an extra 2 minute walk and the view of the "gardens" is still beautiful and relaxing.

We have gone every late September/early October for the last 3 years and will go again next year (already booked). This time of year may be cool, but heated pools make it absolutely fine and the crowds at the resort and in Myrtle Beach are non-existent.

If you are used to a Ritz Carlton, it is not that high end. If you want a great place for the family, this is a perfect option.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    104
    26
    3
    9
See reviews for
301
97
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Second time staying at this hotel. I have thorougly every visit. First class service with a smile. We always choose any Marriott whenever possible. This location is top notch. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, nicely kept. Staff was very helpful. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at Marriott’s Ocean Watch Villas at Grande Dunes for the first time in December of 2011 and absolutely loved it. We had a great ocean view villa on the tenth floor, the staff was courteous and made us feel welcome, and the facilities were immaculate and classy. We liked it so much we decided to return in December of 2012. We had requested an ocean view villa on the ninth floor or higher. We were placed on the seventh floor with a terrible view of the balcony directly across from us and a view of the roof of the parking garage in the other bedroom. We know for a fact that rooms on higher floors were empty during our stay.
Our Suite was different than the one we had last year; it seemed a bit downgraded, despite costing the same amount as our previous suite.
We found a live cockroach scurrying down the sidewalk near the pools and there was a lot of debris in the pools and hot tubs this year, while they were immaculate last year. There were also repairmen working on a scaffold directly kitty-corner to our balcony early in the morning with a view directly into our living room for several days of our stay. The people upstairs sounded as if they were jumping up and down and running around their unit throughout the night during the entire time we were here.
Another major complaint I have was that the thermostat does not work very effectively. It would be freezing in the living room but sweltering in the bedrooms.
One night when we went to use the indoor jacuzzi, there were several SMALL children in it. The sign right next to the jacuzzi specifically states that for safety reasons, no children under ten are permitted in the jacuzzis.
Upon checkout, I was asked how my stay was. When I informed the desk attendant ‘Barb’ that we felt downgraded this year, she did not even respond and just handed me my receipt. The overall rudeness of the staff this year was unbelievable.
On a final note, this is supposed to be an ‘upscale’ resort, but many of the fellow guests this year seemed like riff-raff you would expect to find at the low rate dives on the boulevard. If I wanted to feel unsafe during my vacation, I would have just stayed at the $29 a night dump on Ocean Boulevard and saved myself a whole lot of money.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, request an Oceanfront room and make sure you are on the tenth floor or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Ocean Watch. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We just spent a week at the Marriott in Myrtle Beach. Check-in was at 4 pm and we got there at 4:30. There was no line and since we were on a time-share through Interval International, they had all our information and we were on our way in less than 2 minutes. We were place in the Pine Building which is one of the furthest from the ocean. We were on the 5th floor in a 2 bedroom unit. The view from our window overlooked the bocci court and we could see the putting green, also. Not a great view but we are not owners there and expect the owners to get the prime units.
The unit was large and had 3 flat screen tv's with DirecTV as the service. There was a full kitchen, master bedroom with jacuzzi tub and enclosed shower. There was a king size bed. The second bedroom had two queen beds and a bathroom with a regular tub. The room was large with ample closet space. The living room had 2 chairs and a sleeper sofa which converted to a queen bed. The dining area had 4 chairs and a cushioned bench seat which would comfortably accommodate 7 people around the glass table. There were place settings for 8 available in all the utilities and dishes.
Marriott is one of the top time share property management companies. They have a 90 minute tour available with a gift to entice you for the presentation. We had done it before and they never bothered us during the whole stay. Parking was available near the unit and if all the spaces were taken, there was a parking garage available. Egress to the lot was by use of the key card which opened the gate.
Looking forward to the next visit as the location is very prime. Just minutes away from restaurant row, Tanger outlets, Myrtle Beach Mall, Barefoot Landing, Carolina Opry, Alabama Theatre and plenty of golf courses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great facility, all the best. As well I found good biking and walking from the property. Everything is at hand, beach walking, pool, spa and such. Very nice. Grand Dunes Boulevard is good walking and biking, leading to a terrific grocery and bakery. Also, at the end is a trail head for more biking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simsbury ct
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wonderful resort, love all the beautiful heated pools, oceanfront location. Villas/resort are Top-notch... as I've come to expect from the Marriott Vacation resorts I've visited. This is our second time here in the off season, the weather is warm and since it's November.....sparsely populated. All of the villas are two bedrooms, so we had a huge area to ourselves. Many restaurants to choose and the best...no crowds or reservations needed. Marriott does an outstanding job catering to everyone..there are children's activities, social get-togethers, tours...and the facilities are top of the line.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed during the last of October when MB is not that busy. Check-in was smooth and desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Hotel is located in the middle of the main attractions and super restaurants are close by. Stayed in a remote building (9) that was next to the indoor pool and gym. Rooms were large and everything was modern and clean. Easy to get around and golf-cart service was available if needed to get around. Used the on-site Express Pizza Hut one day and food was good. It was too cold to use the outside pool and jacuzzi's but they looked to be large and the layout was very nice.

Room Tip: Liked the remote building. Parking was by the door and close to indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.