We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too good to be true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just an amazing stay and so close to shops and theaters and the ocean! Great for fun

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    133
    34
    7
    10
See reviews for
382
123
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have stayed at this property twice. I actually own at this property, and to be honest, I'm glad I do. This property is visually quite beautiful. The exterior grounds are among the nicest I think you'll find. I would say they would compete with the nicest resorts I've been to. The pools are extremely well managed, which might seem like a small detail, but they have a guy there that just manages the temperature and chemical mix of the water, to make sure it's perfect. And it is. I love swimming there! You take it for granted, until you go down the street and their pools taste all funny, and aren't as clean. The staff is excellent, the rooms are impecably clean and well furnished. Parking is easy enough. What I love most though is the amenities on this property. The 3 story playhouse for the kids, it's huge, and beautifiul. 1st class all the way. They said it cost like $150K for that thing, I beleive it. it's awesome. The 'Woodsy Pool' area is by far my favorite, great for the kids, and you can find a nice shady spot if sunbathing isn't your thing. I have to say , there's a big difference in staying at a traditional 'hotel' VS one of these Villa vacation resorts. These are WAY better. There's just so much more to do, and more room. I am glad I own here, being next to the exclusive club next door, you don't get any of the 'spring break' crowd . You're well away from that group, so feel free to just roam the beach and enjoy yourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible, for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Airy, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at OceanWatch for 4 days in May - absolutely beautiful facility. The villas are huge, beautifully appointed and lack nothing. The staff is professional, friendly, welcoming and pride themselves in anticipating every want and need you may have. The beach is a five minute walk from any unit and has a private feel due to lack of public access for several blocks up and down the beach. We were on the 14th floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean from our balcony. There are large storage bins by the entrances to the beach where you can stash your beach goodies - great feature for families. The units are very well soundproofed - we never heard another guest during our stay.

Room Tip: Smile, smile, smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed on the top floor (17th) in April and really enjoyed the facility. It was always kept clean and fresh. In April it was cool weatherwise, if you are going for the sun you may wish to go after April. The staff was great and there was always something to do. We loved the grills on the ground to use for dinner. The 2 bedroom units are very nice and each one with a balcony. It was quite in April which is what we like. North Myrtle Beach is all built up now and has everything even a Kroger. Will plan on returning next year maybe later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Could not pass on the deal I got for a week stay in Myrtle Beach this past February. A gorgeous two bedroom villa in Myrtle Beach was just what I needed after a long and snowy winter. The concierge service was excellent in setting golf tee times up for me and suggesting restaurants that were better than the average Myrtle Beach seafood buffets.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, on., Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Amazing resort !!!Condo was modern and spotless, nothing had been spared, Marriott has thought of everything, even dishwashing soap !! Nice perks everywhere, even a cool place to rinse our feet from the beach ! A water cooler by the pool ! My 4 kids had the time of their lives on the beautiful beach, we will back for sure !! The only things that we had trouble with was the underground parking was hard to come by if you left for the day and the pillows in the beds were flat as pancakes...but if I get to come back again I could learn to love pancakes !!! All in all, this place was a dream come true, don't stay anywhere else !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach. The condo was fantastic. There were 2 bedrooms with 2 baths separated by the living room and kitchen. You could rent beach chairs with an umbrella and they set them up for you with your name on it. This cost extra and wasnt cheap! 140$ for 3 chairs and an umbrella per week. My only complaint was the gym was too hot and it took days to fix it. We traded our timeshare through Interval and were so happpy

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.