We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy with my stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1802 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not happy with my stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is my first hotel stay right on the beach - so I wasnt sure what to expect. I thought I got a good price on the room - but I am not happy with my overall experience.

Good: Right on the beach @ myrtle beach and close to restaurants and skywheel etc...
The hotel has an indoor pool as well as kiddie pool. I didnt use either though.

Bad: This place is cramped - all over from check-in to parking to the room. The parking structure is across the road which is not as convenient as one on site. The room and corridors smelled of smoke but the front desk says it is a non smoking property. The whole place seemed run down and somewhat dirty. Wi-Fi is totally useless and the folks at front desk dont seem to care about it. It was noisy thoughout the night and I couldnt get proper sleep.

Bottom line is that I not coming back here!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_FDM, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is unfortunate that you were not completely satisfied with your visit to our hotel. All of our rooms are non-smoking, however we do have certain floors where smoking on the balcony is permitted. We always try to reserve rooms for our non-smoking guests away from these floors. Hallways and rooms that smell of smoke should be brought to the attention of the staff so the proper actions can be taken.
Sometimes our free Wi-Fi experiences high usage; when this happens there may be signal interference. Some of our planned projects for the winter include adding more hotspots to increase usage capacities for the 2013 season.
Our parking garage is located across the street. The distance between the entrance of the hotel to the parking garage is approximately 249ft. Located between the parking garage and the hotel is our parking lot. Both the parking lots and parking garage are on-site and are available to our guests free of charge.
Even though you did not enjoy your visit to our hotel, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and continue to visit the Myrtle Beach Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    102
    87
    47
    105
See reviews for
208
138
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had stayed last year and did not like our stay with them very much. But this year they are great, they are working and will have one of the best places to stay in Myrtle in the near furture. They have cleaned the rooms now and working on getting the indoor pool ready for this winter. They have a great staff.

Room Tip: I love Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_FDM, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for such a great review!
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit this time around. We appreciate you giving us a second chance and noticing many of the changes we have made. Our indoor pool is currently open and is planned to be open all year round. I will pass the compliment of the staff to the hotel team.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel location is great and the price I got thru hotels.com the same, but the... "resort" was overrated. The room was small, there was a coffee maker but no coffee, so when we asked the receptionist she said it's BYOC...so we ended up scouring the surrounding stores for coffee, sugar, mugs, instead of walking on the beach hand in hand...
There was no hair dryer so before going to dinner I just went outside with my hair wet and the wind did the job. There was no alarm clock on the night stand.
One of the attractions was the hot tub amenity, well... they started emptiyng the tub and the inside pool for cleaning...so I didn't get a chance to relax at night in a warm jacuzi.
No wonder more than half of the hotel was unoccupied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_FDM, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
All of our rooms do come equipped with a coffee maker, however as you mentioned, we do not supply the coffee. Our efficiency rooms and suites do come with a fully equipped kitchen that includes dishware such as coffee mugs.
We do have hair dryers, however they are available at the front desk along with irons and ironing boards. We feel the ones we provide are a better quality then the ones mounted in common hotel rooms.
We do apologize for the short notice closure of our indoor pool amenities. All of the facilities are fully operational at this point.
Once again I am sorry that your visit was not what you expected and I do hope that the remainder of your visit to Myrtle Beach was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmore, Ky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our trip this year was the greatest ever.
First of all we bought a GPS so the trip down was flawless. When we got to the front desk the attendent was 100%. He helped us with parking, helpful hints and a perfect room. Our maid was top-notch and everyone so friendly. Myrtle Beach was extremely clean and I felt safe every night as we walked downtown. We stay at the same hotel every year and plan to stay there as long as we are able to.

Room Tip: I trusted the front desk to help me out. they were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_FDM, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us!
We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Our Sandcastle family always tries to give 100% to our guests whether its at the front desk or housekeeping department. A GPS is a great way to avoid the confusion between Myrtle Beach, and the City of North Myrtle Beach; but if you ever find yourself without one, our front desk staff would be more then happy to provide directions over the phone (843-448-7101).
Once again, thank you for your wonderful review, I will pass the compliments along to the staff. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I went for Labor Day weekend. We had 2 queen beds. Room was spacious, clean and reasonably priced. Good value for the money and would be a great er value for a family. Hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

There were roaches in kitchen area and bathroom. Refrigerator had been replaced, but it was too high to fit properly--2 FEET out in walkway. Everything else was okay--needs lots of updating. On Saturday about 4:00 AM, someone knocked on every door on this floor. The only good thing was the entertainment at the pool on Saturday afternoon--a small reggae band.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_FDM, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The original refrigerator that was in your room required maintenance. For a small period of time, we had a replacement installed. The replacement fridge did stick out a small bit due to the height of the fridge conflicting with the cabinets. The replacement refrigerator was measured and stuck out in the walkway roughly four inches.
We do enforce quiet hours, and when a guest feels that the quiet hours are being violated, they should call the front desk immediately. Our on site security will take the necessary actions to ensure the comfort of our guests is maintained.
Sand, hot weather, and rain will cause bugs to come out and unfortunately they sometimes get inside. We do all that is possible to prevent this from happening. In many cases; open doors, windows, and balconies can create an entry for the bugs to come inside and refuge from the weather. In the event that this happens, the front desk should be contacted so that non-toxic, all natural, actions can be taken.
It is unfortunate that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us, but we are glad you did enjoy our poolside entertainment. We hope that the rest of your visit to the Myrtle Beach area was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

staff was nice rooms ok...but who stays in the room anyway. this hotel close to the broadway at the beach and the new boardwalk on the ocean downtown south myrtle beach. I will stay again just for its location.

Bill
NC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Address: 1802 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion is located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach. Our ocean front resort offers accommodations choices as varied as you are! Brightly decorated and accessorized with all the comforts of home, our resort features a variety of floor plans which offer suitable accommodations for whatever you require. Our efficiencies allow you to prepare your own meals, plus our suites feature separate sleeping and living quarters for privacy and comfort. Comfortable accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer! Our central location is 9 blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion area where you'll be in the very heart of downtown. We're also very near Broadway at the Beach, featuring Margaritaville, Hard Rock Cafe', Planet Hollywood, Imax Theater, Ripley's Aquarium and many other vacation highlights. Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is your absolute best choice when you want to experience all that Myrtle Beach has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort At The Pavilion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.