We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and relaxing family fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lakes Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
6001 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
See 8 Top Bluegrass Bands
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Safe and relaxing family fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at Oceanlakes for many years and are truly blessed by the time there. Everything you need without leaving the campground. From the beach to the lakes, to the pool, it is just what you are looking for in affordable accommodations with all the amenities of home.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    61
    35
    23
    27
See reviews for
152
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Happy Thanksgiving All! We're enjoying the sunshine and cold weather at the Ocean Lakes Campground in Myrtle Beach, SC. We've been RVing for awhile and this is our first experience with a mega-resort and huge it is. Family nearby calls it a "city within a city" and boy are they right. There are hundreds of acres of campers, mobile homes, condos and beach houses and I can only imagine how this place hums during the summer. It has so many amenities it's amazing, and the property is clean, clean, clean. And the WiFi really works; THANKS!! The ONLY complaint I have is the lack of hot water in the bathhouse. We stayed in section K and on the 2 occasions my girls and I tried the showers there was no hot water; evening once, morning the other. Another camper had the same issue and was told it was due to the distance from where the water was heated to the bathhouse. Hopefully the owners will remedy that situation because who doesn't want a nice hot shower especially after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We are new to the RV life, and this was our first experience with a mega-resort. Calling the place a campground is really not accurate because it is really like a small town with privately owned beach houses, mobile homes and park models in addition to annual and transient RV sites.

I suppose that we are the people another contributor describes as staying in out-dated trailers, but we found people quiet and friendly. While some small groups of guests had campfire parties, none were especially loud or lasted later than would be acceptable. I think that one recent complaint was a snobbish outlier.

We played miniature golf near the pool about 50 steps from our site. Golf was only $3.00 per person and lots of fun. We didn't swim but the indoor pool was open and the large outdoor pools would be very inviting on a warm summer day.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a paved site because the South Carolina sand is very sticky and tracked all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I arrived Sept 5th and stayed till the 13th! We had a very nice time. We find Ocean Lakes to be a fun and friendly place to spend if you are looking for a laid back type of vacation by the beach. We brought our traveltrailer down and found the campsite to be clean and roomie. Our biggest decision we were confronted w/each day was, do we go to the beach or pool first...we choose the beach most of the time, but really enjoyed the pool as well. I love driving around in the golf cart we rented, which is the best way to get around. We found that when we went out to do some shopping, dinner, site seeing, we would say, "Lets go home now!" So, the next time we come "home' it will be for a 2 week stay, one week was not enough! Love you guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is huge and contains vacation sites of all types: RV/tent, park model, and large homes on rental lots. There are hundreds of sites for “transients” and, as you would expect, a lot of RVs are more or less permanent fixtures. They also have a unique RV storage program where they’ll move your rig between storage and site whenever you reserve a spot (watch out for their drivers most mornings, as speed limits don’t apply to them). Inside the park, many sites are wide concrete pads, although a number are packed sand. The park is laid out in a grid, with major and minor “roads” delimiting the sites. Most of the transient sites are angled pull-thrus. The interior roads are quite narrow. Although we had no problems getting into our site, if was very difficult to get out given how close the rig in the next “street” was to our front. You can reserve your site online with a detailed inventory of availability, and I used Google Earth to try to select a satellite-friendly site (worked). They want their money early (50% at reservation and 50% 2 weeks before arrival) and mail out “express check-in” packages when the second payment is made. This didn’t work for us, as their package crossed with our last mail service shipment. The park and beach are dog friendly, the Wi-Fi was decent and relatively stable, they pick up your trash every day, and the place is very clean. We also rented a golf cart for the week ($240) because of the size of the park and, OK, everyone else seemed to have one. This was our second stay and we would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family and I have a summer vacation together. We went to Disney last year, what a hassle. So this year we wanted something more laid back. Boy was we glad we chose Ocean Lakes Family Campground. We booked a 7 bedroom, 3 bathroom home. 7 days. The beach was 1/2 block away, walking there took 1 min. Grocery store on site has great prices. $2000.00 to stay from sat - sat in the month of Aug. The 3 pools and arcade was also nice. We drove to the broadwalk to watch movies the price was only $8.00 at night time. We cook breakfast, lunch and dinner most times to save more money. What a great time we had at Ocean Lakes Family Campground. That it I'm booking next years trip right now byebye. This place needs Wi-Fi please.

Room Tip: Get a home close to beach (south east in the camp ground)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Wow! We are honored to be on the top of your vacation destination list. Thank you for the great compliments. Certainly, Ocean Lakes Property would be happy to assist you in the purchase of a site, 800-845-2229. Our rental sites are all individually owned, each site offering different amenities and features. Our team at Ocean Lakes Properties can assist you in finding a rental site that does offer Wi-Fi. Of course, you are welcome to utilize our free Wireless Zones located at Sandy Harbor Cafe and the Camptown Center.

Thank you again - we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived on Friday, September 6th to celebrate our anniversary at the beach. This was our first stay at Ocean Lakes and we have had friends recommend it to us. Check in was non-eventful, especially for a Friday (After Labor Day Weekend). The size of the campground is a bit overwhelming at first when you arrive but after a day or two, you get to understand the layout. Our pad was concrete and 186' from the ocean. No issues with the hookup of water/sewer/electric/Cable TV. The beach was clean and has many access points with showers to wash off the sand before heading back to your site. We learned after 1 night.....golf car rental is a good investment. Access in and out of Myrtle Beach is easy with the highway just outside the main gate and a Wal-Mart approximately 5 mniutes away. The bathroom/showers.......one if not the best I have seen in many campgrounds we have stayed in over the last 30 years. A very safe place to go and we already have our September 2014 week long camping trip scheduled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Address: 6001 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lakes Family Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Lakes Family Campground to your Saves list