We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lakes Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Save
You added Ocean Lakes Family Campground to your Saves list
6001 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year's Polar Bears
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Definately for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Ocean Lakes. We met up with some other family members who brought their camper and we rented a house. The campground is attractive, super clean, and has plenty of amenities for campers and non-campers. You do need to understand that this is a kid and teen haven....kids and teens are everywhere!

Yes, it is true that there are a bazillion golf carts zipping around with the majority of them being driven by teens. However, this is the mode of transportation that is popular at the campground. FYI...a bicycle will do just fine, a golf cart is not necessary. We had neither and got around with no problems because of our rental location.

Yes, this is a high population density resort. Houses, campsites, whatever you are staying in are very close together. When we looked down from our deck, the roof of the house next to us could have been touched. If you want a lot of space, reconsider. Just know this when you book. This didn't bother us.

Yes, it is noisy until quiet hours....people are all over having FUN!! Security was present, and available if needed. The campground is very organized.

The weather was not cooperative the week we stayed, but, we grabbed beach time when the weather was good. Nice beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the M section...seemed a good central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    77
    38
    26
    29
See reviews for
175
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Well the Golf cart issue seems a little better but it could be do to the very cold temps/rain this week. All the older workers seem to love there job. And of course the younger generation staff are just younger. Seems like most of the boys have a chip on the shoulders.

The teens in the campground seem to have a great time at the expense of the family's with younger kids. Playing their load obnoxious music thinking their Jay-z or is it lil wayne. Seems like a great place to let your teen go do whatever they want as long as it not bothering their parents.

The campsites are very clean, RV center are always available to help(for a small fee of course).

Don't get me wrong we will be back, I'm just getting older(42) and don't like dealing with the attitudes of teenagers now a days. Whatever happen to respecting elders?

Overal I think it's a great place and who knows when my boys get old enough this place better watch out!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Sites are packed too close together, at night security is non existent. Teens on golf carts are rowdy and dangerous. The place is too noisy if you have young children. Parents of teenagers are invisible and there is no control over the poor and sometimes vulgar behavior of teens. Golf cart radios blast very loud late inton the night. I will never return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are disappointed to hear you did not like Ocean Lakes and we are concerned about your comments, and being your only review. We see you live in Myrtle Beach, so you understand some of the issues that our area faces as a family destination. Our team works very hard to provide outstanding amenities and provide a family-friendly resort, we are saddened that you did not find that the case. Where your site is can make the difference with young children (like choosing a site on an interior road of a section). We are in our 5th generation of guests and many families with young children love our campground. In regards to our campsites, they average 45 ft. long and 35+ ft. wide, this is considered big rig friendly in our industry (some sites are larger). Plus, 630 sites feature 45 x 18 ft. concrete pads. In regards to teens, we agree, some can be quite a challenge at times, which is why we implemented a Zero Tolerance policy for reckless, rude behavior and we have no problem making them leave (at times to the surprise of their “invisible” parents). Our security teammates work 24/7 patrolling, answering guest calls, and enforcing Quiet Hours from 11 PM- 7 AM. For those with younger children, our park has seasons, when the kids are out of school we fill up and there is a lot of activity; when the kids are in school our park is very quiet. We hope one day you will return to our family campground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bean Station, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The campground it’s self was awesome. It might be easier to tell you what it did not have rather than what it had. While we were there we played horse shoe, shuffle board, basket ball, football, pool, air hockey, and swam in the indoor pool and the outdoor pool. The campsites were laid out well. They had these freshwater well stations. Yes, you could have unlimited well water while you are there. Many of the sites had concrete pads. The bathhouses were clean and very nice. The camp store stocked a lot of items. They were only overpriced by about 10% or so. They had a small short order grill and they had a put put course. There were plenty of beach access points. The one drawback for me is the golf carts. We were there in the off season. In season, there would be too many of them. Lastly, the nature center was neat as was the overlook area. The overlook area had a great view of the ocean. This is a wonderful place in the offseason.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our first camping vacation and we have compared all other campsites to this place. No one has lived up to the high standards set. Wifi is excellent strength for your kids to play after fun in the sun. Always something to do at the club house. Impeccable bath houses and plenty of them. And only a short walk to the beach. Staff is friendly. We walked up to the ice cream shop for an afternoon treat. Wonderful experience !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredon, nj
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been vacationing in MB since I was a kid- usually camping, but since we found the rental houses in Ocean Lakes, we do not bother to pull our trailer anymore. You just pull up to the house and everything is waiting for you. Our 4 teens love the nightly golf cart 'cruise' on the strip and we stay in the Holiday Inn section of the resort and the beach is just steps away. I would recommend that section of the resort as it is quiet, yet yards from the ocean. Bring your bikes, as it is so fun to ride around the grounds of the resort. We rent our golf cart from the owner of the house we are staying in- much cheaper and ready to go!

Room Tip: Houses on the south side are in a quieter location, yet close enough to enjoy it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I always like to go and stay in rental units in the off season. There is plenty to see and do, and the location isn't horrible either. They have tight security, which is annoying but good. This is a good place to come and relax, play some cornhole, ride golf carts, sit on the porch and soak in some sunshine....However, I have been in the "on" season and it's very crowded...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Address: 6001 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lakes Family Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.