We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lakes Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Save
You added Ocean Lakes Family Campground to your Saves list
6001 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year's Polar Bears
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“#1 Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Another great time for me at Ocean Lakes. I just got home from my trip and those that have stayed at O. L. in the past will see a lot of great changes. Just about every campsite has a cement pad now. I really love that which keeps sand from going into the motorhome. I really enjoy the campground allowing the folks to sell their homemade items. I always look for this when I go. This is a great park and you will never want to stay anywhere else. I will be back there Memorial Week.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    77
    38
    26
    29
See reviews for
175
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jefferson,tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We have stayed in Oceanlakes for the past 10 yrs sometimes 2 times a year.We wil lnot stay in a motel ever again.There is so much to do,you dont even need to leave the campground.Riding around on the golfcart at night is the most fun.We have camped and also have rented homes.We will contuine to stay here and i recommend this campground to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

This was the second year in a row that we have stayed here and have enjoyed it both times. Ocean lakes is a huge, nice park right on the beach with lots of amenities. What with the large camp store, laundromat, mini golf, snack bars, pool and arcade, you could conceivably spend your entire vacation without even leaving the park. But if you are looking for a peaceful and private atmosphere, this is not the place to go. Ocean Lakes is like a very busy town. Houses and campsites are on top of each other. The pool is packed with little luck getting a chair. Traffic is coming in all day/night and golf carts are everywhere. While golf cart rental is expensive (around $300 for the week) they are pretty much essential here. Besides not having to walk in the heat and lug stuff around, they are so much fun! At night the oceanfront area becomes "the strip", with everyone cruising in their golf carts. Great fun, especially for teenagers. We were disappointed with the site we were assigned compared to the previous years site (2184) which was large enough to fit our 19' trailer, 2 vehicles and equipment very comfortably. This time we were able to fit our 19' trailer but little else. We crammed our 2 vehicles and 2 golf carts onto the site as best as we would but they still were halfway out in the road. Later on I found out that we were given a "tent" site. But when you call for a reservation here you pretty much have to take what you can get because most people reserve their sites a year and a half in advance. I have already tried to get a reservation for next summer (11 months away) and was told that there were only two sites available for my time period. The park is in a good location that's central to alot of destinations such as Broadway at the Beach , downtown, and Surfside. Overall this is a good place to stay for families and people who don't mind all the excitement of the place. We enjoy it.

  • Liked — Affordable
  • Disliked — Hard to get a reservation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Went to Ocean Lakes in 07/2007 with 24 family members. We had two houses. R-13 is the best!!! It is about a 7 min walk to the beach, but it is a very beautiful house with lots of space and amentities -- it sits on a nice lake (with fish) and has 3 decks! One of the best views in the whole place. We never left the resort except to shop. It's a great place for families, teens and small children. I was very impressed with the resort, the service and the condition of the house. There were very nice houses, trailers, RVs and houses that were just OK. It's like a small city with all types of homes. The beach is a little narrow, and gets really packed -- but it's very nice and they sell food/ice cream near by. If you want 5-star (r-13 was 5 star) this is not the place for you as their are a variety of conditions in the resort. If you want a low stress, beautiful place then this is it! There are 3 pools, a rec center, a small mini-golf set, a game room!! Lots to do in rain or shine.

Must Haves
------------------
(1) Patience! Check in was messy -- if you rent from an individual you have to wait out front in a super long line. If you rent from Ocean Lakes, it's much faster as you go to place further in the resort, but noone tells you about this until after you stand in the forever long first line. Get their very early or in the evening. 11am - 5pm is too busy.
(2) Must rent a golf cart becuase everyone has one and walking is tricky -- about $250/week -- I think you can rent one outside of the resort more cheaply.
(3) Bring bikes if you have kids -- it wil be more fun for them
(4) An open mind -- we are an African-American family and the confederate flags and "southerners" made us a little uncomfortable at first. After a day or so it was OK. No one was unfriendly it was just surprising that some many folks brought their NASCAR and CONFEDERATE flags.
(5) Fishing poles and fishing gear -- just for fun as all the lakes have fish!


NOTE: no grilling on the decks so cooking out is very limited

  • Liked — convenience -- all inclusive resort
  • Disliked — check in process
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We came to the beach Senior Week,2007. There was loads for my senior and her friends to do at ocean lakes without leaving the park. We enjoyed the facilities. We stayed at 1249 Sharks Tooth Trail. My advice would be to never stay in this place. While most of the houses in Ocean Lakes are very clean and kept up,we were taken over by Palmetto bugs and roaches. They came out the third day we were there. We finished the week out with no where else to go Senior Week. We cleaned the place up and came home as instructed. I have yet to receive my security deposit back and it has been three months. I have contacted Elizabeth Burrow numurous times and she promised to send my deposit to me and now doesn't return my call. I do believe most of the houses in Ocean Lakes would be a good experience.This one however is not!!!!!!! I would reccomend Ocean Lakes but not 1249 Sharks Tooth Trail.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

We rented a 4 bedroom, 3 bath, home through VRBO with another family (4 adults & 4 teens). It was very nice although next time I would pay the cleaning fee rather than trying to do it myself while packing to leave. Renting a golf cart is a must - makes it so much easier to haul stuff to the beach and back. The beach was nice and clean. We brought a small dog. Our home, and Ocean Lakes, was very pet friendly. He was allowed on the beach at all times up to June 1st which was fun. The snack bar was handy; we enjoyed the ice cream. Also we made use of the wireless internet connection at least every morning. The gift shop/camp store had a variety of things, most were reasonably priced. There is a Wal-Mart close by but you don't have to venture out into the traffic unless you choose to. If you do, Nickos (sp?) is a nearby Itallian restaurant that one of the security guards told us about. It was wonderful! River Rats in Murrell's Inlet had good food and a nice atmosphere. We would definitely do it again. Ocean Lakes felt pretty safe and a lot slower paced than Myrtle Beach.

  • Liked — Pet friendly.
  • Disliked — Our particulare house was not ocean front.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

We just got home from a wonderful yet hot week @ Ocean Lakes. This is by far the best campground in Myrtle Beach!!!! We rented a 4 bedroom, 3.5 bath house from MyrtleBeachOceanRentals.com which was absolutely beautiful. You should really check out the site and give Tom a call. My 2 year old daughter had a blast in the pool and was amazed by all the "cart carts" cruising the streets. The pools were a bit crowded but my daughter had a blast meeting new friends. Would definetly recommend to anyone wanting a family oriented... always something to do...friendly campground. Just remember...either bring your golf cart or rent one. This place is huge!

  • Liked — Anything you could possibly need could be found within the campground
  • Disliked — Golf cart rental was rather expensive so next year we're looking at bringing our own
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Address: 6001 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lakes Family Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.