We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Coming Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Watch Resort to your Saves list
Sea Watch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Up To 30% Off!
Ranked #44 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Keep Coming Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is the 5th time we have stayed at the Sea Watch and the first time I have taken the time to write a review.
In my mind the Sea Watch is one of the best places to stay in Myrtle Beach. Its location is excellent. Being on the northern part of Myrtle Beach the beach is less crowded and the pace of life is a little slower. It is located close to shopping and lots of good places to eat.
This the third year we have stayed at the Sea Watch in Sept and taken advantage of their fall special of room and breakfast. The breakfast is excellent. The service is great.
The overall service from the front desk , cleaning staff and security staff was excellent.
For the past 3 years we have stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. While a little on the small side the rooms have been well maintained and well equipped with a frig, stove, microwave, dishwasher, dishes and glasses. The rooms have been ocean front. We have always found the facilities such as the pools, hot tubs and deck areas clean and well maintained.
Sea Watch is not a 5 star Hotel but it does provide excellent service, great facilities, and excellent location and a great staff.
We will be staying at the Sea Watch on our next annual trip to Myrtle beach in Sept 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    354
    114
    63
    40
See reviews for
628
279
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This was our first time in Myrtle Beach and I agonized for days over staying at the Sea Watch Resort or somewhere in downtown Myrtle Beach. Finally the good reviews here won me over and we just spent some of our happiest and most relaxing vacation days at the Sea Watch!
The property is huge with 2 high-rise towers. The layout of the building is smart and ensures that the majority of the rooms are direct ocean front with fewer rooms that are ocean view. I would recommend paying a little more for the ocean front rooms - they are worth it.
Going during off-season and in mid-week, we got good rates and the place was not crowded at all. The breakfast buffet included with our package was awesome, the view was fantastic, the grounds are very well kept up, the housekeeping service was efficient, the rooms are pleasantly decorated, the pools and hot tubs (so many of them) are cleaned daily and finally the beach is pristine. The location was pretty convenient as well.
Just for kicks, we drove to downtown Myrtle Beach one afternoon to check out the other hotels there that we had considered. The whole area just had a different feel - T-shirt shops, souvenir stores, arcades, Ripley's attractions and so forth. The hotels were much closer together and felt more crowded. Also the new Board Walk construction just began so there were some safety construction fencing along parts of the beach. After seeing this, we felt that the Sea Watch was definitely the right accommodation for us and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My husband, mother, daughter (10 month) and I booked a weekend in Myrtle Beach at Sea Watch based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We were located in room 817 in the South Tower and had a wonderful view of the ocean and pool area from the balcony. The rooms were not fancy but they were comfortable and clean. It was super just to walk right out to the beach and our daughter really enjoyed the Lazy River pool at the resort. Within a 5 minute drive there is a Walmart and coffee and deli shops so it is easy to stock up on supplies and/or go out for food. Good value for the money. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Seawatch has several pools & hottubs, very short walk to beach , convenient to shopping malls, restaurants, activities, great breakfast bar, friendly service, the kids love it there, great dj, tikki bar, my granddaughter enjoyed the kids crafts, easy access off hwy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Our 5th trip to MB, and this is the best hotel you can get for the money!
First time at SW.

Location: Northern end of strip= Nice, convenient and quiet.

Staff: Very willing to assist, in every regard. Our 2/2 room was in North Tower, facing the pool...Found it to be very noisy, from outside noise. Sea Watch let us move to S. Tower ocean front 2/2 which was much better. What a View!! quiet too. nothing but wave sounds.

Activities: They had a full set of things to do everyday. We do lots of cruises, and this was very much like a cruise. Horsehoes, Bocci, Kite flying,,, and tons more.

Beach: WOW very clean, no seaweed, and 80 degrees..... Lots of very fine sand.

Morning Buffet breakfast......WOW... more than we (3) expected. first rate quality awesome service, and overlooking the ocean/pool with outside seating.

Ticki Bar: Good location, good drinks at good price

Pool, Hot tubs: They are everywhere!!! with two lazy rivers on top! You can always find a lounge chair in a quite spot, in the sun... spent most of our time here.

Rooms: Clean, quiet, and serviced daily. The full kitchen is very useful, and the balcony was Huge. The rooms could use some updating.

Parking: On site, never a problem and close to the buildings. Other hotel we stayed at had valet for $8 per day. Not needed here.

Would come back in a heartbeat, and highly recommend the Sea Watch.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Went there with my spouse , daughter and elderly parents.

Pros:
- Easy access to the beach - in fact its at the beach itself
- Even a 1 bedroom combo can adjust 4 ppl ( the living room a sleeper sofa though somewhat uncomfortable)
- Full kitchen
- A couple of minutes away from the outlet shopping center, strip mall as well as Barefoot landing - one of the most frequented spots
- Housekeeping everyday

Cons:
- Looks like a hostel from outside - tall buildings with condos - a HUGE condo complex
- Prices advertised are much higher than what you get when you call in...even then slightly overpriced
- Not a lot for the kids - they have what they call a "lazy river" - basically a small stream of water which bends......my 2 year old scoffed at that..bt the fact is tht the kids would enjoy the beach more than any of these...plus there are specialized water parks (expensive) in the area
- Bedroom is the first thing as you enter the condo - living room towards the balcony overseeing the ocean...perhaps a good things but kind of weird seeing a bedroom which adjoins the public hallway

Overall, would recommend it for folks who dont mind not-so-exotic places and are planning to spend a lot of time on the beach/golfing/ at the water park etc...for those with bigger groups, the full kitchen comes in handy - you can cook , eat and drink...(definitely better than the hampton inn)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This is the fourth year we stayed with Seawatch - we have no reason to leave! The prices are cheap for what you get. It's in a quiet spot near North Myrtle, very easy to drive to (and park at) with none of the hustle and bustle of Southern Myrtle Beach. Every employee greeted us and wanted to see if there was anything else they could do to make our stay more enjoyable.

The rooms have plenty of space and all let you look out over the ocean and the various pools and spas. We love going to the Tiki Hut for our once a year pina colada and margarita and the breakfast in the morning (included with the room) is the best we've ever had at a hotel. The made to order waffles and omelets along with every other breakfast food has always been phenomenal. And we love sitting by the window to look at the water and sunrise while we eat breakfast.

For the first time this year we ended up checking out of Seawatch early to go stay at another hotel booked by my husband's company for their outing. I thought, "A hotel on the beach is a hotel on the beach right?" I could not have been more wrong! We should have run back to Seawatch and finished our vacation there. While the other hotel had the same amenities - the atmosphere and service was NOT the same.

II cannot stay anywhere else in Myrtle Beach now - so I'm telling you to run over to Seawatch. For the value it absolutely cannot be beat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Watch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.