We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Beach Vacation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Watch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Deals From $59
Ranked #40 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
OHIO
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family Beach Vacation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Pictures on Sea Watch web site need updated. The place is nice and clean but very run down. Paint chipped and peeling. It needs updated. The pools look a lot nicer on the web site. While staying there our cable went out, and was out for 3 days. We didn't watch TV but our kids like to turn it on while waiting for everyone to get ready to go out. This resort is very south of north myrtle. I would have stayed at least 10 mile farther up the beach in North Myrtle. There is a super walmart close and a Kroger. I recommend Kroger on Saturday night. Walmart is CRAZY, black Friday crazy!!!! Avoid Walmart until Monday. If you are going to the Sea watch it is clean, but I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We will not be staying here again. I would look farther up into North Myrtle. Vacation was still very nice. The Sea Watch is just out dated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    351
    109
    60
    38
See reviews for
621
270
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Checked in on a Saturday. Originally were checking in Sunday but added a day and saved $130 because of buy 5 get 2 nights free. Great deal! Was only 11:00 so room wasn't ready, they called me when it was. Everyone was very friendly. Our keys didn't work... 3 times got new ones... Still didn't work. Finally 4th they did. 16th floor, long wait for elevators of course, but whatever. Our room was clean in the aspect of not dirty. It was an ocean view 1 bedroom. So it had a king bedroom, kitchen, living space with Murphy bed. Very narrow and the bathroom is tiny. Couldn't be in it and have anyone come in you'd be in the way of the door. Everything in the kitchen was old and rusty. The grout and such in the bathroom was so old and nasty. Housekeeping wouldn't stay in our room if we came back and she wasn't done but we had small children and we couldn't wait in the hall like she would have liked. She only made beds, gave towels. Didn't vacuum we had sand everywhere all week. And she'd always but dishes in the dishwasher... Even if it had clean ones in it. For the first time in my life at myrtle I saw a pool with security and it was great with keeping kids in lazy pools in tubes and things like that. It's the cheapest we've ever stayed so I think for what we got it was adequate to the price. Each elevator ride or each guest we talked to at the pool each had complaints as well. One guest told us they had sprinklers malfunctioning.... So I guess it could have been worse. But everyone we saw had problems of some kind. The parking garage was plentiful. Never had a problem with finding a spot easily. The hotel is part of sea watch plantation which I didn't know till arrival... Go to north tower for check in. There are villas and north and south towers. The villa guests we kept hearing complain to guards about the hotel guests. To sum up. It didn't ruin our trip by any means but I'd stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The place was packed. There were kids and families everywhere, but there was plenty of staff to handle the crowds.The room was clean, and comfortable. The linens were plush and plentiful. There was still plenty of parking available in spite of the full house. This one bedroom in the North Tower was well kept and in great shape. Overall, an excellent experience.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms have thebest ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have never ever done a review but I feel I must this time because as parents we are always looking for great vacation places. First off, we ( family of 6, 4 kids ages 11,10,9 and 7) drove here from miami Florida not knowing really what to expect. As soon as we drove up the building looked beautiful and clean and the location was absolutely perfect. Front desk staff was very nice and the kids couldn't wait to run around and explore the grounds.

We stayed on the 16th floor. Higher IS better. The view is breathtaking and all rooms in the north tower are ocean view. Our room was comfy and clean. Now the pools... The kids looooved the pools, lazy river and jacuzzi. We had to peel them out of there by 11pm. They made friends with other children and everyone is super friendly. My youngest won the limbo contest and they have tons of small prices for the children. Now the beach... It's so perfect and relaxing. I will say we were kind of upset when the life guard told us we could only put our umbrella up behind the "umbrella line". That was too far for us to watch the kids so we pretty much bought our umbrella for no reason. There is a walmart a mile away. I love the location because it isn't in the middle of the touristy area with a million people. You can drive 15mins down the road to the boardwalk for all the action. We did the sky wheel, family kingdom and wonder works. Amazing places to take the kids.

Our experience in myrtle beach was nothing short than incredible. The resort was perfect and we've been to a lot of places over the years. I would love to come back and if we do it will definitely be sea watch. Oh and ps. Jesse the bartender makes amazing drinks!

Room Tip: It's a hit or miss since some condos are privately owned. We had a great room and booked directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our last visit two years ago the beaches were wide. Really wide. Erosion has taken a serious toll on the entire area. The whole Grand Strand needs millions dedicate to beach restoration. At high tide we were lucky to have room for three rows of umbrellas. Literally there is nothing left.
The resort has installed pavers throughout all deck areas - nice upgrade. Rooms are still top notch. Everything well kept. Location is fantastic. We will keep coming if the beach is still here in a year.
The lifeguards sell more umbrellas and chairs then lifeguard. Kind of annoying. Not the fault of the resort though. However you would expect more immediate control or input of their beach immediately in front of their property.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Vienna, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We're not really resort people, but if we were this would be the place. The DJs were a little loud, but it was a party place. We're just older, prefer quiet, less crowded. Enjoyed the beach, being together.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at Sea Watch several times, and we had another great time. The 2 bed/2 bath oceanview unit
we had was renovated and in very good condition. The pools were nice and warm and clean, as were the hot tubs. The staff was very courteous, and the location is great...really close to Barefoot Landing and the outlet mall. Also, the condos aren't as close together in this area of the beach as the downtown area. We even saw a dolphin from the beach this year :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Watch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.