We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation at Sea Watch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Watch Resort to your Saves list
Sea Watch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Up To 30% Off!
Ranked #43 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation at Sea Watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I rated this resort very good. We love the location, pools, and easy access to the beach. I didn't like being held back to get my pool chairs until 8 o'clock. I feel that if I am down there, I should get my pick. I don't put towels down and leave...I stay there. We also loved the DJ parties, but I feel they are too close together. I think Wed/Sat would be a better choice. The security around the pools were awesome, helpful, and friendly especially Mark and Jenny and Dave. Erikka was very helpful at the desk. Melvin rocked out the Captain's Nook...but it needs HOT FUDGE and HOT CARAMEL!!! Our room was showing it's age, but we will be back again next year! So sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Jamie L. We thank you for your comments. We welcome all feedback from our guest. We want you and your family to have a outstanding vacation experience, Please let us know how we can better serve you in the future. Thank you Maria Foxworth Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    354
    114
    63
    40
See reviews for
628
279
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my family's 4th time staying at the resort. Two years had passed since our last stay at Sea Watch and what a difference 2 years make! We booked a 3 bedroom condo in the South Tower and stayed for 7 days. We were on the 6th floor. The room was outdated, dirty, damaged and worth half of what they charged to stay there. One of the tubs was disgusting, the furniture was stained, tile floor damaged, doors filthy, counters chipped, utensils in kitchen were unusable and the toilet overflowed to the point we had to turn off the water! The stairwell was full of used cigarette butts that were there the entire week. The garbage cans near the elevators are constantly surrounded by garbage and overflowing garbage bags. The pool (bacteria haven) always had a film of oil, leaves, soap and slime floating in it. The Wi-Fi was worthless, we were told to take the computer out on the balcony to see it that would help (the humidity and sun glare made that impossible). Paid for an ocean FRONT room but was given an ocean VIEW. When we called to complain, we were told the other units are independently owned and they have little control over those units. THEN DON'T CHARGE FOR OCEAN FRONT! We were offered another room on the floor above but wouldn't be able to move for 3 days. When we moved to the other room, it wasn't much better but it offered the ocean front view and was peaceful as we didn't have to look down at the pool area and hear the commotion all day and night. Less than an hour after we moved out of our first room, we remembered a shirt and iPhone wall charger that was left. The room had just been cleaned. The housekeeper said there was nothing left in the room. What she didn't know what that we hadn't checked out but had moved rooms. We KNOW it was left in the room. It was an expensive designer shirt and it was never found. Dishonesty is disgusting! The manager, Josh, was very helpful in trying to accommodate us. We were reimbursed for 2 nights, although it wasn't enough. The hotel is extremely overpriced. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone or suggest anyone stay here. The only positive experience was the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for not providing you with a outstanding vacation experience. It's obvious we missed the mark. We appreciate your feedback and pictures you provided this will help us to better serve. We hope you will give us another chance to make this right. I also apologize for this timely response. Thank you Maria Foxworth Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creedmoor, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I rated this resort very good due to the location and the number of pools for the kids. The hot tubs were always clean and working. The property was keeped clean with the number of people that were there.We like the soft lounge chairs better than the hard plastic other hotels use. The room was a bit cramed, so next time we will get a one bedroom.Overall
had a very nice time at Sea Watch. Staff very helpful .
Erikka at front desk made check out easy. Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Marcie S Thank you for your comment, We appreciate your feedback on how we can give you and your family a outstanding vacation experience. Maria Foxworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I rated this very good primarily due to the location of the resort and the number of pools and hot tubs available. Very short walk to the beach and the staff (primarily the security around the pool) was very friendly. The beach front had the typical beach chair / umbrella rentals that coverd the entire length of the beach. No big deal, just had to setup our umbrella behind them.

The room itself was average at best. The furniture was dated, the door hardware and safe were pretty beat up and the kitchen was builder grade.

When I reserved the room, they recommended that I request the south tower which is closer to the activities and facilities. i.e. the restaurant that we didn't use. It was OK, but we were on the 11th floor and it was very noisy on our balconey when the restaurant was operating. From a distance, the north tower looks a lot nicer. I never got a chance to look around, but if we stay here again I would request the north.

Room Tip: Ask about the north tower. It looks nicer than the south from the outside and is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your feed back on how we can better our resort and give you and your family a outstanding vacation experience. Our North tower is the tower which has the restaurant and other amenities. According to the guest the south tower is considered to be more quiet. We would love to have the opportunity to answer any questions you may have. Feel
free to give us a call. Thank you Maria Foxworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one week. Views were amazing. We had a studio on the 15th floor. Didn't use housekeeping much but they always took our trash and offered fresh towels. Buffet breakfast was ok. Honestly I feel it is overpriced but was convenient. Front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. My daughter and I loved the poolside DJ on Tues and Thurs. We wish he was there everyday! Will def return to SeaWatch next vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are frequent guests to Sea Watch, and always have a wonderful experience. Besides the beautiful location and our favorite studio apartment (1703), the thing that makes it so great is the friendly and helpful staff. They truly seem to enjoy working together to make the environment a fun place for guests. A few staff in particular are terrific, including breakfast staffers Marvin (great omelettes!), Tim (makes the best waffles!), Robert, Debbie, Tracy, Steven (awesome service!), and Jesse at the Tiki Bar (love the chocolately drinks!). We are so grateful for many years of incredible memories!

Room Tip: If you want a studio, 1703 in the North Tower is the best by far!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Ms Ganter we would like to thank you for your comments and continuing to come back and stay with us at Sea Watch Resort. We try very hard to meet the needs of you and your family while you are here. The kitchen staff take great pride in serving you and your family for breakfast. We hope to see you back soon Maria Foxworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hubby and I stay in North Myrtle Beach yearly to visit family, we do typically visit in September, during the "off-season" so this was a new experience for us.

The check-in process was questionable, we were greeted by a very friendly young lady and given all relevant information for getting settled with the exception of how to get a luggage cart t get our stuff up to the 14th floor. Turns out the carts are all on the GROUND level and NOT at Lobby level where you actually check\ in. Little bizarre that the front-desk was not aware of that.
The parking ramp is on levels G, L and 3, seems that most park on level 3, that's all sun, usdt sayen. There was always ample parking availability.
In addition, the phones had been knocked out earlier in the week due to a storm so there no was no telecommunications within the resort. FYI, we were there for 8 days and there was still no telephone service within the hotel. Makes it difficult if you need more towels. Whatever, not the resort's fault but you have to wonder how they were taking reservations and cancellations. Eight days with no phone service. HMMMMMM

Based on Trip Advisor recommendations, we reserved an upper floor n the North Tower, 1405. Was not real pleased initially being that it was right near the elevators, I typically request something more down the hall. The room location wasn't all that bad until the following weekend when the kids began running down the hall late at night.

The ice machines on our floor never worked, thankfully they unplugged it at some point since it just kept running, again, right outside our door.

The room layout is unusual, in my opinion, in that the bed is situated as you first enter the room. Again, this was the concern with being so close to the elevators. The bathroom is in the middle directly across from from the full kitchen, including full fridge and dishwasher, and then the dining/living space closest to the balcony and beach.

The room was very clean. It has plenty of electrical outlets and lighting is very accessible.
Our safe had some issues, it would not accept many numbers.

Our room was entirely tiled, no carpets whatsoever. We are used to that from other Caribbean resorts but some may find that dangerous as it is very slippery. We laid towels near the sliding doors and in front of the sink to prevent falls.

The pool chair hounds are in full swing here at Seawatch and until the resort does something about it be sure to get your towel out there early, especially on the days the DJ will be there, typically Tuesday and Thursday. Surprisingly, we didn't see any entertainment n the weekends, must be transition day.

The staff are all very friendly and there is security at the pool during all open hours.

We did not eat on the resort, with the exception of the ice cream shop (YUMMY) so I will not comment on the food. I can say that based on my observations, they are open for breakfast and lunch was somewhat unpredictable as far as being available. ????

The beach is beautiful and there is plenty of room for everyone.
The North Tower is definitely more busy and "family orientated". The Tiki Bar is located on the North side as is the main lobby, exercise room, ice-cream shop and restaurant. In addition, the pool in front of the north tower gets more sun. The South Tower was ore quiet and gets shaded much earlier, around 2pm in August, plan accordingly.

Seawatch Plantation has a great location, near the thruways and right dowmn the road from Walmart and anything you might need. Peeerrrfect location.

I am not a fussy traveler and I do appreciate what others share on this site.
I hope you find this helpful.

The location, full functioning refrigerator, great beach and staff would bring us back to Seawatch Resort.
Thanks all!!!

Room Tip: North Tower is more active and the South Tower gets shady early at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh K, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your in depth response,


I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. It was nice reading your response. I was able to get a nice picture of your stay. It sounds like Sea Watch staff did a good job of helping make your vacation special.

I apologize about the ice machine that was not working properly outside of your room. We were having some issue with that machine, so it is good they unplugged it before it caused more disruption than it already had.

We hope to see you back again soon,

Josh Kidder
Assistant General Manager
Sea Watch Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Watch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.