We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Watch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30% in August!
Ranked #36 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is our first stay at Sea Watch. We are very impressed with the resort and the only thing we would change is the room layout....flip the living room area and the bedroom area. It would be great to wake up, open the curtains and see the ocean and beach. The breakfast buffet was OUTSTANDING! Such great service from Martin the Omelet Man and Robert Attaway! They made us smile EVEN before we had our coffee! Looking forward to our day and the pool/beach, the lazy rivers and the Tiki bar!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking your time to share with everyone about your recent stay with us. It’s our employees like Martin and Robert that truly embody our vision of providing the most exciting, fun-filled, and enjoyable vacation experience ever! We can’t wait to see you and your family again, and for you to take full advantage of all of our wonderful amenities.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    346
    107
    58
    37
See reviews for
614
266
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very nice resort. We weren't @ the resort much but we enjoyed the time we were there. When we checked out & got two hours away I realized that I left my iPad in the safe in our room. I called the resort, they sent someone to get it out of the safe. They shipped it to me & I had it back in my possession in 2 days! I will definitely book a room there again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear we were able to assist you reunite with your items! I will pass your warm comments to our housekeeping department which handles all of our lost and found inquiries. I know they will be eager to hear them. Thank you so much for your comments and we hope your to see you and your family shortly.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When booking At Sea Watch Resort..we booked for a one bedroom condo. Area was very small for 2 adults and 2 kids and more like a motel room than condo. Would not book this size "condo" for a family of 4 even with small children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing with everyone of your experience at the Sea Watch Resort. I was disheartened to hear our one bedroom oceanfront unit was not able to make your stay outstanding. We offer several other types of units including one bedroom deluxe, two and three bedroom units that have more square footage than your unit. You may visit seawatchresort.com and take a virtual tour of all unit types,and our view unit layouts. If you choose to stay with us again, please contact me at guestservices@seawatchresort.com and I will assist in finding the right unit for you and your family.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The weather this year for the first week in May was the worst. The staff at Sea Watch made our stay as comfortable as possible. One thing we would have liked would be a bar and lite food service inside the lobby area. This would be nice for off season visitors tired from travel and looking to unwind after a long trip, a little welcome oasis to get you into the vacation mode

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments. I am glad to hear that our staff was warm and friendly even if the weather outside needed improvement. I will happily pass your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager so that we may accommodate our off season guests. Thank you again for choosing the Sea Watch Resort and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We want to say thank you to all the personnel working at the Sea Watch in Myrtle Beach during our stay from April 19, 20, 21, 2013 Our stay was absolutely wonderful, thanks to the entire staff that made us feel so welcome, from the management staff, front desk personnel, down to the servers and room service personnel. Although the weather was very cold during our stay, it did not dampen our experience whatsoever. We especially liked Tracy Mulkey, the Banquet Captain. What an absolutely delightful individual, personable, helpful, and fun. I think she needs a raise for all of her outstanding kindnesses extended to everyone she comes in contact with. We'll be back some day and hopefully can stay at the Sea Watch again in the same condo on the 15th floor.

Room Tip: Our condo on the 15th floor #1516 was outstanding and it faced the ocean. Nice kitchen area with gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It is so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Sea Watch Resort based on the service you received from the staff. Thank you for sharing your experience and praise you had for one particular individual, Tracy Mulkey. Tracy has worked at Sea Watch Resort since 1999 and is truly an asset to our guest service expectations. We look forward to having you as a returning guest and hope the weather cooperates a little better too.

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The restaurant has a server named Tracy who is top notch, provides friendly and excellent service. Tracy is most helpful and is very prompt and efficient. Parking is convenient and the elevators are fast and sufficient. There are plenty of luggage carriers to move suitcases and personal belongings into the units. The front desk clerk was very friendly and checked us in quickly. The pool area and tiki bar are especially nice areas to sit and relax. The beach is a short hop, skip and jump over the walkway, about 30 yards onto soft sand and never ending waves from the ocean. The room is only average and equipped sparingly with cookware and utensils. The mattress is too soft and uncomfortable, producing some nice backaches in the morning. Overall, it is quiet in the rooms, nice view of the ocean and the flat screen tvs work very well. Storage room for suitcases and other personal gear is limited due to the small size of the unit. The airconditioner works ok. The toilet seat does not stay uip for men's purposes, but then, men are said not to put them up in the first place, so this shouldn't be considered a complaint. There's plenty of hot water and the shower head is too low for people standing 6ft tall. Given the pluses and minuses of this review; I would tend to try another resort hotel next time for more bed comfort and added amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell me about your stay as well as your warm words about Tracy. I truly appreciate your feedback, and will pass on your comments to our staff. I am disheartened to hear our bed quality did not provide restful sleep on your vacation. Overall I hope that you and your family enjoyed our location and amenities. If you choose us again, we will work you to find a unit with a firmer mattress that will suit your needs.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Myrtle Beach. However, it was our first visit during Spring Break, we stayed 4/3 - 4/7. The weather wasn't greatest, but the staff was very accomodating to make sure that my family and I enjoyed our stay. We took advantage of the onsite activities, and enlisted their assistance with reservations for local activites also. I must admit I was a little nervous about staying in the South Tower, as I have read the reviews on Trip Advisor and some of them are not favorable. However, I was pleasantly suprised, we stayed in room 1112 (if my memory serves me correctly), the room was clean, the kitchen was stocked with the necessary cooking supplies and the beds were comfortable. In fact, we enjoyed staying in the South Tower as it didn't appear to be as busy as the North Tower. We had breakfast one day in the restaurant and it was great as well. Another great tip, the Tangler outlets is few feet away, and Walmart is directly across the street from the outlets.We are hoping to plan another vacation back sometime in August of this year. We truly had a great stay at this resort, and plan to stay at the Sea Watch Resort when we return back for future vacations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review! We agree, our location is just one of several great amenities that make the Sea Watch Resort the perfect Myrtle Beach vacation spot. We are thrilled you and your family had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Watch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.