We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Watch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Deals From $59
Ranked #38 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Myrtle Beach. However, it was our first visit during Spring Break, we stayed 4/3 - 4/7. The weather wasn't greatest, but the staff was very accomodating to make sure that my family and I enjoyed our stay. We took advantage of the onsite activities, and enlisted their assistance with reservations for local activites also. I must admit I was a little nervous about staying in the South Tower, as I have read the reviews on Trip Advisor and some of them are not favorable. However, I was pleasantly suprised, we stayed in room 1112 (if my memory serves me correctly), the room was clean, the kitchen was stocked with the necessary cooking supplies and the beds were comfortable. In fact, we enjoyed staying in the South Tower as it didn't appear to be as busy as the North Tower. We had breakfast one day in the restaurant and it was great as well. Another great tip, the Tangler outlets is few feet away, and Walmart is directly across the street from the outlets.We are hoping to plan another vacation back sometime in August of this year. We truly had a great stay at this resort, and plan to stay at the Sea Watch Resort when we return back for future vacations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review! We agree, our location is just one of several great amenities that make the Sea Watch Resort the perfect Myrtle Beach vacation spot. We are thrilled you and your family had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    348
    108
    59
    37
See reviews for
619
267
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Sea Watch before - each time we are never disappointed. The resort and rooms are always clean. The Staff is like none other - the friendliest, most helpful staff we have encountered. A special mention to Brian Childers - what a great help he was helping us obtain tickets for some local attractions - very professional and informative. And to Robert in the Dining Room.... not only is he polite, he remembers us every year and always has a wonderful smile for all guests. Thanks for a great vacation!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less poolside noise - the lower floors sound echos -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It is the most rewarding, yet humble feeling, to know that we provided our guests with a wonderful vacation! Just knowing that Sea Watch Resort will always be with them with such fond memories to last a life time is why we are committed to our Vision Statement; to give our guests the most exciting, fun-filled and enjoyable vacation experience ever! Thank you for your Tripadvisor post and especially the compliments for Brian, Robert and all the staff! Hope to see you soon.

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice hotel/resort. Our room was not ready when we got there at 5:00pm but the front desk was apologetic. The 2 bedroom suite was as big as an apartment. Plenty of room for our family of 6. Facilities were well kept. Closer to attractions in North Myrtle than Myrtle but that was ok with us. Watch taxes and fees. Somehow what seemed liked a really good deal ended up costing hundreds more than I thought it would in the end ($32/night in taxes and fees). Sales tax near tourist area are over 12%. We used to go every spring but now go only every other year because of cost. Tourism tax is going to back fire on them eventually. Biting the hand that feeds you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your patients and understanding for the delay in your unit being ready for check in. We deeply appreciate your loyalty as a returning guests. Please keep in mind that we offer specials at various time of the year in a effort to provide a more affordable vacation. I would be happy to assist you next time you would like to visit Sea Watch in making sure you are getting the best rate possible.

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sea Watch Resort is a great place for a family vacation. The Resort is well kept and there are many pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. The walk to the beach is minimal, and the views from the balconies include the beach and pool areas. It's a very comfortable place to stay. We've stayed there for the last two years and will go again next April.

Room Tip: We had a 3-bedroom unit that was great for 4 adults and 2 children. The unit was sunny and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear that enjoyed your stay so much. We appreciate and thank you so much for your recommendation. We hope to see you and your family back again this upcoming April or sooner for your third stay!

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been to Myrtle Beach several times although it has been about 7 years since my last trip. As a child my parents always booked a hotel on Ocean Blvd. As I started researching hotels I was concentrating on that geographical location.Honestly after viewing about 10 ads they all started to sound the same. I found The Sea Watch Resort through a search engine and was impressed by the appearance of the resort as pictured on their website. I was still a little hesitant because I thought the location was going to "out of the way." Upon arrival I was immediately impressed by the beauty and spaciousness of the resort. It was not at all cramped in and crowded like the hotels on North and South Ocean Blvd. We stayed in the North tower and had requested a room on an upper level for the best possible view. We arrived prior to official check-in time and was informed by the lovely young lady at the front desk that our room was not quite ready but that it was definitely worth waiting for rather than check into another room. We were given room 1516, a deluxe King suite. The room was beautifully decorated, chic color scheme and very clean. It felt much more like a condo than a 'hotel' room. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen fully stocked to actually cook in, the bathroom was spacious with actual HOT water and great water pressure. The living room was very comfortable. The staff at the resort were all very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the breakfast buffet but my husband ordered a tray of chocolate truffle strawberries and champagne to be delivered on arrival and they were delicious. The location, I think is the best in Myrtle Beach, close to all Myrtle and North Myrtle attractions but with actual space to enjoy. Our stay at the resort was perfect from start to finish and we were both extremely pleased. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Myrtle Beach. Thank you to all the staff for making our vacation so special

Room Tip: North tower upper level was perfect. Quiet with an amazing view. The elevators were very quick so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I appreciate your compliments for the staff but the real thank you goes to you for choosing Sea Watch Resort for this Myrtle Beach vacation. We are the on-site rental management company for the individually owned units and we work with all the owners to keep their units in nice conditions. Some owners choose to decorate their own units and 1516 is one who has really did a fantastic job with "chic" being a very good description for it. We are looking forward to your return and hope to become your Myrtle Beach home. Please tell your husband he has started a tradition with the strawberries and champagne as the next Sea Watch vacation will not be the same without them!

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have stayed at Sea Watch many times and never been disappointed. The hotel is in a great location. Less than 5 miles from all the shopping and eating you need to do. The staff is always courteous...always smiling. Whether it is the front desk, the consierge desk or the maid staff, you always feel important. The pools and hot tubs were heated perfectly which kept us all entertained. In four days I think the tv may have been on for 2 hrs total. We had all the amenities needed to have the feel of home. I have stayed at many other places but none compare to Sea Watch.

Room Tip: Have always stayed on the 12th floor and higher. View is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Relaxing is what vacations are all about and I am so pleased that Sea Watch Resort provided that for you. Thank you very much for the compliments about the staff and your post on Tripadvisor but most importantly thank you for being a loyal guest! Hope to see you soon.

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I came to celebrate being friends for 30 years and our 40th birthdays. This was her first time to Myrtle Bach and she was very pleased.

We always ask for as high up as possible within the price range for an ocean view room. This seems to be the 17th floor. As my family has been he many times with that request and always get the 17th floor. North Tower.

Everything was clean, well maintained and well stocked. No musty smell or "wet feeling" that occasionally happens with a coastal room.

We did have to change the temp on the fridge, but that isn't any big deal.

Staff were fantastic, helpful, and very friendly. From front desk to cleaning staff.
There was someone next door that decided to take a shower at 3 a.m., which woke my light sleeper friend. Overall, our sleep was good. Comfortable beds, extra blankets and pillows provided.

We felt safe leaving the balcony door open most of the time to enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean and kids playing at the pools. One morning we did have to keep it shut as a different neighbor was smoking and the wind was blowing our direction. Again, can't control that, but as far as I know it is a non-smoking resort.

We did not use the pools or the lazy river on this trip, but I can say that my kids LOVE them when we come as a family.

We also did not spend the extra little bit for the resort's breakfast, however, we have had it before and it is delightful.

Once again, SeaWatch is tops on the list of resorts to stay in Myrtle Beach.

Sidebar: My husband is there now for an all-star cheerleading competition (he takes photos for the gym). They were told to stay at another MB resort... If things go badly, he knows where to go if he needs to change resorts. The one he is at doesn't have good reviews and I already know of one parent who stayed for 2 hours and changed places...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Happy Birthday and we are honored that you chose to spend it with us! We are so glad that you had a great vacation with your friend. Thank you for sharing about your room tips. It is so nice that we were able to make your stay memorable . We hope to see you and your family again very soon.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Sea Watch Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Watch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.