We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure again in 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oceanfront rooms - $59
Ranked #22 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasure again in 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our yearly September trip was delayed to October this year. The reservations staff and manager were very helpful and accomodating to my phone calls and requests and made the whole experience of changing dates pleasurable and easy. We stayed in the Pinnacle this year instead of the Mariner building but were not disappointed. The room and building was every bit as clean, the staff was friendly. Every staff member you passed looked you in the eye, smiled and said hello as they held the door for you. It made us feel welcome and as though we were all family. What a welcome to experience.

We enjoyed our included breakfasts in the Compass Rose and as in previous years, Jennifer immediately recognised us and greeted us. Jennifer is a jewel and you're lucky to have her.

We enjoyed the free movie rental machine in the lobby. During a quiet evening we were able to kick back and enjoy an couple of movies. That's a nice feature you added.

Check in and out was a breeze and it really helped to have extra staff on the second counter to keep the line moving. Staff was knowledgeable and was acknowledging returning guests and were fully explaining the features of the resort to the first timers. No one was being cut short due to waiting guests in line.

Internet was hard to get a good signal at times and almost impossible on the weekend when the resort was full compared to the Mariner building. Please up grade the Pinnacles internet to the same level as the Mariner.

We've been staying yearly since 2008 and sometimes twice in a few years. We will definately be returning in 2014. Wouldn't consider any other location.

Room Tip: Always ask for oceanfront floor 10 or above for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear dbusguy,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We are also excited to see that Jennifer in the Compass Rose was able to make your stay more enjoyable! The free DVD NOW rentals have been a great added amenity this year especially when the weather is less than ideal. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    819
    298
    177
    142
See reviews for
1,441
525
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in the Pinnacle Building. From the awesome staff at check in (Clarissa I believe) to the beautiful clean room our stay was wonderful. The pools were warm,the elevators were fast, and there was plenty to do. Extra touches such as staff calling the room to see if we needed anything has won this resort repeat customers! We will definitely see you next year!! Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Kesling92,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you loved your stay with us and that Clarissa was able to leave a lasting impression with you! We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We make the trek from Toronto to Myrtle Beach every year, usually in Sept, although this year it was in October. We stay at Compass Cove every year, and it's always great, but this year I noticed several improvements. The front desk opened up an extra section so that they can check in guests more quickly. It's the shortest wait we've ever had to check in. The staff is noticeably more friendly. Every single staff member I passed, never hesitated to say hello, or hold a door open. The poolside lounge chairs are new, and the landscaping is impressive. The fountain is gone from the front parking area which makes it much easier to unload luggage and bring it in the front door of the lobby. One of the bedside lamps was not working when we arrived. One phone call, and it was fixed by the time we returned from dinner. The Compass Rose, as usual, gave us excellent, friendly service every morning, even though I'm not at my best before I've had a couple of cups of coffee! The free dvd rental service for guests was a welcome addition. We had a couple of rainy days which were perfect for catching up on a couple of movies we hadn't seen. The only problem I have is with the wifi signal strength in the Pinnacle building. We usually stay in the 2 bedroom suite in the Mariner building and the wifi signal there is strong and constant. But during this stay, we were in the Pinnacle, since it was just the 2 of us, and the wifi signal was significantly weak. On the weekends when the hotel was full, the signal strength was almost non existent. Very disappointing, since I needed to keep in touch with my son and daughter in law, back in Toronto, who had just given birth to our first grandchild, a week before we left. But despite the weak to non existent wifi signal in the Pinnacle building, the Compass Cove is the only place I would consider staying at, while in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear imcdn100,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the free DVD NOW rentals! It sure does make those rainy days seem a bit brighter! We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visit myrtle beach once or twice a month all year long. We have stayed here multiple times but I must say we were very pleased on this visit. The hotel has updated the pool areas, purchased new outdoor furniture and done new landscaping. The place was exceptionally clean and all the jacuzzis were the perfect temperature. The staff was noticeable more friendly . It has an outdoor bar, a dining restaurant and a bar & grill with a second floor outdoor patio. This is a 3 building facility and our building alone had 5 jacuzzis . It has a lot to offer for all ages . The location is convention to market commons . In the summer months they have a live band at the outdoor pool and play family games. It is a high energy hotel.

Room Tip: The pinnacle is the newest building
See more room tips
Green Features: No smoking allowed in pool areas , energy saving lights and appliances
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Penny C,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Second year staying at Compass Cove and everything was great. The staff was always friendly and wanting to help. No better place to take the kids,5 tear old granddaughter kept us busy wanting to do everything,pools and hot tubs are great and well kept.Thanks to compass cove for a great vacation"again"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Dan B,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We are also excited to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The staff was great. We had arrived early and we waited by the pool. Fortunately, they were able to get us in our room a little earlier than planned. That night, we received a call to make sure we had everything we needed (which we did). Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We took full advantage of the heated pool and the hot tub (and my husband even dared a ride down the water slide.:) The grounds were very clean and the staff that we came in contact with seemed very happy; smiling and friendly. Was a great weekend!

Room Tip: Read the amenities; there isn't complimentary coffee so you will need to bring your own (there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear RPhil2013,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that your getaway was a perfect one and that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression with you! We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culloden, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Once again we had a fantastic vacation thanks to Compass cove. This is our 4th year staying here and we are ready to book for next year. We arrived at 3:30 am because we decided to drive straight thru and we were not due to check in until 3 pm. We were going to stay at a hotel until check in time but we stopped in to Compass Cove just to see if they had any rooms available. Sure enough they let us into our room. We had to pay for it but that was fine. We woke up to the most beautiful sunrise and we were glad we stopped in and asked. The Compass Rose and Crows Nest were fantastic. Our room was great also. Pillows were a little flat but we went to walmart and bought a couple but that wasn't anything to complain about. Thanks Compass Cove for another wonderful vacation and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that we were able to provide you with yet another fantastic vacation! We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.