We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Myrtle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oceanfront rooms - $59
Ranked #22 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time in Myrtle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved every minute in Myrtle Beach & the Compass Cove Resort! Great price, great room, wonderful location! Right on the beach . We can't wait to go back & stay longer! Highly recommend the Compass Cove Resort!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Rene513,

Thank you for allowing Compass Cove to host your first Myrtle Beach adventure and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    819
    297
    177
    142
See reviews for
1,441
525
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Each year when we visit Myrtle Beach, Compass Cove seems to provide a new experience. This year found an updated unloading area with an easier access. The staff continues to be the most courteous I have ever found at any hotel we have visited.

Room Tip: Look for "Specials" to provide additional nights. Specify any particular floor you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear thebakers400,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed the updates we made over the winter to the Pinnacle unloading/lobby areas. We look forward to continuing to provide a new experience for you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed @ Compass Cove Resort for a week. The hotel staff was very friendly, and very helpful. One day I needed a couple extra pillows and towels, and room service was up in minutes! Plus this resort has so many options for pools and hot tubs that I never once felt over crowded! Only complaint was that one elevator was acting up, but maintenance was very fast to respond to the issue!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear bharold09,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be accommodating. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our family stays at this hotel almost every year because it has everything needed for a great beach location - location, numerous pools, lazy rivers, nice restaruant for breakfast, great beach access, tiki hut, suites with a great view and pleanty of room for a family of 7, good parking. good off season rates and friendly staff. The only reason I could not give this a higher rating is because of housekeeping issues. Also smoking is permitted in too many parts of the hotel. We always have to plan on doing some cleaning. Unless we find something better this will continue to be our vacation get away hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear rondot98,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We would also like to apologize for the issues you experienced with housekeeping. We pride ourselves on providing a safe and clean environment for all of our guests. We do hope that when you return to the Myrtle Beach area that Compass Cove will be your destination. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first stay at Compass Cove and it won't be our last. We were very pleased with the whole package. The room was very clean and well taken care of and roomy. It was nice to have the bedroom, kitchen, and living room all separate. The many water attractions were a plus for the times we didn't want to be in the ocean. The pools and areas around them were clean at all times. It was nice to be right on the ocean with an awesome view. The Crow's Nest was so convenient for a couple late night meals when we didn't feel like driving anywhere. The food and service was very good. When we arrived to check in on Friday evening it seemed like there was a long line but it went really fast. One afternoon when we got back to our room our keys didn't work. The front desk was very helpful in trying to solve the problem and had Security meet us back up at our room to make sure we got in okay so if there was still a problem we wouldn't have to go back down to the front desk. The breakfast buffet was really good and highly recommend it. It was nice that they offered free DVDs during the stay and the selection was very current.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear DougandBonnie,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to see that your enjoyed your meals at the Compass Rose and Crow's Nest. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days on our way home from our 3 week Disney vacation and it was THE highlight of our stay! Even our 2 boys(11&15) enjoyed it more than being in Florida. This is now our new yearly family vacation spot!! I could write a review pages long with all we loved!suites are so HUGE and modern, we had a full kitchen with dishes and even a washer/dryer in our suite! Even our costly condo for Disney didn't have that! Service was impeccable, the suites were immaculate, even the amenities were fantastic. I would watch the staff clean the pools and decks from my balcony at 6am, the cleaned EVERYTHING, even every patio chair and lounger. My dad wants to snowbird there next year and I'm already planning our next vacation just months from now in feb. the staff is top notch!!! the only disappointment was the free movies, I know 3 kiosks seem like alot but with a resort that size, all the movies they wanted (n they had many choices)were gone the entire time we were there and they checked at least 3 times a day. But I'd still give compass cove 10 starts if I could! Don't delay book there today!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tmkilpatrick,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to beat out the Mouse and Disney! We are also excited to see that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression with you. We look forward to hosting your next family adventure! Thank you again and we will see you in February!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Reservation specialist Tom helped get us "more bang for our buck" by recommending a variety of room options to better suit our needs. Check-in was efficient, and we were given bonus coupons for free DVD rentals, NASCAR park, etc. The rooms, pools, and grounds are clean and inviting. Corey at the front desk was very responsive when we reported an issue in the room -- William from Maintenance was there within 2 minutes, and the problem was resolved within 5 minutes of us reporting it. Sadly, we'll be checking out tomorrow, our mini-vacation over, but we plan a return trip soon. Please convey our thanks to the staff at Compass Cove.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear DrEllen,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Corey and William where able to take care of the issue in your room. We do hope that you will choose Compass Cove if you return to the Myrtle Beach area and hopefully it will be a little longer than a mini vacation. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.