We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Fall Nights
Ranked #22 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sauquoit, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a nice very reasonable place to stay with a family. Some of the rooms are newer inside than others. A lot for kids to do. Every room is ocean front. Beds are very uncomfortable. Rooms have a kitchenette. There is also a restaurant on the premises. Make sure to bring beach chairs. They charge a ridiculous amount for a chair and umbrella. Walking distance to a few shops. Drive to boardwalk.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and in the middle are best.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don;'t know about their practices. Didn't really see any.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay overall and would like to apologize that the bedding in your room did not meet your needs. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that Compass Cove will be you first choice. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    767
    285
    172
    140
See reviews for
1381
475
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cosby, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have always enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove! No where else can compare in Myrtle Beach!! The staff was very friendly, especially Brittany at the front desk and Jennifer in the Compass Rose Restaurant. Thank you all so much for making our family vacation a wonderful one!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Naomi S,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Brittany and Jennifer were able to leave a lasting impression with you! We look forward to being your new first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel definitlely knows how to cater to families! There are several pools including a splash pool for the kids and two tunnel slides.
The staff is friendly and attentive, the rooms are comfortable, and the beach is clean and well maintained.
The "Kids Camps" have great activities at a very reasonable cost.
There are characoal grills in the pool area that are available for guests to use.
I highly reccomend The Compass Cove to anyone but especially to families.

Green Features: There are recycle containers in on the first floor at the entrance to the pool area
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear mawitt,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to being your new first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am actually writing this review in the airport waiting for our plane just after staying at the Compass Cove Resort in Myrtle Beach. It was myself, my wife and my 2 kids. The resort was very nice. It was clean and all the staff from the front desk clerk to house keeping to the staff at the Crows Nest(restaurant) were excellent. They were very friendly and attentive to your needs. The pools and beach were clean and we never had a problem finding a pool lounger. The resort itself was a little south of all the action so you definitely need a car but the drives were short only around 10-15 minutes. I guess if u have to complain about something the only problem or issue my wife and I had is that the beds in the room were not very comfortable. Overall this was a great experience for the whole family and I would stay and recommend this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Berwyn222,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your found our staff to be excellent! We hope to host you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Expected the grand hotel shown in the pic, but we got the building to left of it.
Cons: Heavy street traffic, carpet was way old, bedspread smelled like urine, bathroom floor was dirty in the corners, and customer service was terrible. TV remote had no batteries, so called the front desk at 9 pm. Again at 9:30. At 10:30, called to cancel because we were going to bed.
Pros: Pools, lazy river, shuffleboard/game area, free DVD's (but only if you have a working remote!), indoor pool & water slides, charcoal grills near the pool to cook your own food, family-friendly. All great qualities, but not enough to outweigh the cons. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Our poolside room was quiet at night.
See more room tips
Green Features: One shampoo, one lotion and one soap provided--less waste.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor ours. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and friendly atmosphere and are sorry to see that we fell short of our goals. We do hope that you will give Compass Cove a second chance if you return to the Myrtle Beach area.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here during the week of Memorial day. Our room was on the first floor. We could walk out of the patio doors directly into the pool area. And the walk to the beach was short. The room was clean and had a small kitchen furnished with utensils, pots, pans, coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, There are many pools, two lazy rivers, and hot tubs, A restaurant on site serves a nice breakfast. Buffet is available, but we ordered off menu. Resort is located near attractions. This resort is family made with free DVD rentals, kiddy pools,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear doodlenay,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to become your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!


Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I know that these beach locations get used a whole lot!! This place was very clean, very nice, very comfortable except the beds really could be better...after all, we don't go to the beach to STAY in the room, but we do want a good nights sleep. Don't understand why hotels don't put good mattresses on the beds??
Lots of pools, inside and out, slides, lazy river....great for families. Parking was convenient, could park in garage on floor of room, right outside of the room, very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear doodlenay,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay but like to apologize that ours beds did not sleep well. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area you will give Compass Cove a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.