We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for kids, hands down.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place for kids, hands down.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The indoor pool was a big hit. The breakfast was great, and the staff was attentive. Enjoyed outside bar and entertainment. The bar food was tasty and the drinks were not to pricey. Will be back, soon. They also have Internet specials,too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear harpersage,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting your next adventure in Myrtle Beach. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,232
    666
    251
    159
    129
See reviews for
1213
444
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have visited Compass Cove before but this visit was one for the books. The room style was nice it was in the schooner building it was a suite I guess you would say. There was two seperate bedrooms seperated by the kitchen. There was a problem with the closet the door feel off on the second day. The did come and get it but never replaced it. The internet keep going out while there the staff had to come and reset it several times. The table broke as well. The property manager was very nice and was excellent to deal with. The pools were great even though it was cold when we visited this last time. The kids loved the slide.

Room Tip: We always stay in the schooner building if you have a room on the 1-4 you can park on your floor mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear qcshar,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful time with us. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to serving you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our most recent stay at Compass Cove was what we have come to expect from the hotel. It was a wonderful, fun-filled experience complete with fantastic service and amenities.

Compass Cove is located on the Grand Strand in Myrtle Beach. It is within a 10 miute drive to Broadway at the Beach as well as many other tourist destinations. The hotel is one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in. Their staff are also very friendly and helpful. They all greet you with a smile and are very willing to help with whatever you might need. They have a variety of indoor and outdoor pools for kids and adults alike, a lazy river, and 2 water slides. There is also a pool side bar and lots of chairs and umbrella covered tables, so you don't have to fight for seating.

They seem to always be running a speical for rooms. We normally use the buy 4 get 1 free promotion, but in the past we've been able to get ocean front rooms for as low as $79 a night in May. They are truly a great and affordable place to spend a family vacation.

They have someone in the lobby to help book golf days, family outings, and anything else you may need during your stay. They seem to have a coupon for everything! Whether you have a family of 2 or 14 (we've taken both!) you will always have a great time at Compass Cove.

Tips for first time visitors:
1. Get on their email list. They send out promotions all the time and they're worth the emails.
2. Be flexible with your dates. There are lots of last minute offers and promotions, so if you can be flexible, you could get a great deal.
3. Arrive about 15 minutes early for check-in. As with most hotels, there is a rush at check-in. The front desk staff handles it better than any other place we've ever stayed, but it doesn't hurt to arrive early to avoid the wait.
4. Let the planner in the lobby help with outings. They can make reservations and have great coupons.
5. Get in relatively early for parking at night. This is the only negative we can list for the hotel. There is enough parking, but to save circling for a spot, carpool if possible to dinner and night outings and get back by 9 or so to get a good spot.
6. Have a pina colada by the pool. They're pretty tasty from the poolside bar and refreshing on a humid summer afternoon in South Carolina.
7. Have breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It's a great breakfast buffet at a decent price and the staff are the smiling faces you need to see to start your morning off right!

We've stayed at Compass Cove for years as an indiviual family and the entire family of 10+. It's the one place we know we will receive great service at a great price. So, I'd recommend going there anytime of year for an awesome stay at the beach!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from the pools. The ocean front suites have all you need for a family s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Ashley H,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We are sure other traveler's will enjoy your Compass Cove tips too! We look forward to serving you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Returned yesterday from an extended weekend in MB. I selected Compass Cove based on TripAdvisor comments and found it to be a very good choice. Our best experience was checking in. Clarissa K. was friendly, very patient and helpful answering all my questions about things to do in the area. Her badge said she was in training but you would not have known it by the way she answered specific questions about the hotel. She manuevered us around areas under construction for improvement expertly. We asked for a room as high up as possible and she ensured we had one at the top. The room was what I expected for a beach community - a little beat up around the edges but very clean and adequately sized for a family with grown teenagers. Housekeeping missed cleaning the room one day which is not a problem to me (I know it can be to some). We did need a fresh set of towels which were delivered in seconds. The only suggestion that I might make is that it would have been nice to have some coffee packets in the room. We had to run to the grocery store (which there is a little spot about a block south - Lauren's Market) which was convenient. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Select a room at about the 8 - 10 level. We were at the 15th and it was just a little too high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ART1962,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your first visit to Myrtle Beach and to Compass Cove. We would like to apologize for housekeeping missing your room one day but are glad they were able to get you taken care of. We do hope to see you again if you return to Myrtle Beach. Thanks!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My hubby and I just got back from our vacation yesterday and we had a blast! Compass Cove was a family recommendation and if you sign up for their e-newsletter you can get some pretty awesome deals. This was both of our first time at Myrtle Beach and we loved it! The hotel is literally right on a huge stretch of beach and on a road with lots of places to eat and fun things to do. We went away from the beach for most of our meals and entertainment but we still have a pretty good list of things to do next time we are there, yes there will be a next time. Honestly we didn't spend a lot of time in our room or at the hotel but the staff we did encounter was very friendly, someone made a mess right outside of our room and it was cleaned up very quickly. We had breakfast everyday and although it's not the most amazing food I have ever had, they serve a large variety and it's buffet style which is a crowd pleaser. We don't have children but it was VERY kid friendly and they even have DVDs you can rent for free to watch in your room if it rains. There are two little restaurants in the hotel that have daily food and drink specials but we didn't get a chance to try them.All in all this is a pretty nice place to stay and Myrtle Beach is a really fun little city to visit :).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Michaela W,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We look forward to hosting your future adventures in the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A great place to stay. Lots of supervision throughout the complex and helpful staff. Plenty of water for the whole family to enjoy.
Great beach front views.
If you stay here, ocean front is the place to be. Why save a few dollars and not see the ocean??

Room Tip: Ocean front the place to be and see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear meggie0214,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to being your first choice destination when you return to the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have stayed here at least the past 5 years - 1-2 times a year - girls long weekends - sometimes the guys go also - Great accommodations - people very eager to please - lots to do on site - never have to leave if want to veg out - Breakfast buffet a must to start day - then you don't need anything else until dinner - great if kids go - lots for them to keep busy with - get a ground floor room and don't have to deal with the elevator - walk out to lazy river or pool or beach - from room.
Best way to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear CRITIC1OF2,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We would also like to thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward serving you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.