We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was an awesome choice!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay for as low as $59
Ranked #22 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This was an awesome choice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I must give my wife credit on booking this stay. The hotel is right on the beach. The drinks were great not watered down. The food was typical bar type food as much as expected. It was tasty, hot and fresh. They do a breakfast buffet but we never made it down there we brought some breakfast items. The rooms were a decent size and I was surprised that they have a fridge and stove and an oven!!! The shower reminded me of the showers you see on a cruise slightly awkward and the jet sprays so hard. The hot tubs were awesome, the lazy river was small but cool. I would definitely stay here every time I come into town. It's not a luxury hotel it's cool beachy hotel. Remember when you go to the beach your there for the beach not a hotel room!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear XxPelottexX,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    816
    296
    174
    142
See reviews for
1,427
520
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived on a Friday evening approx. 8 pm., we waited in the check in line for 35 minutes! The front desk was overloaded and as they pointed it "this is normal".
The room was clean, Pinnacle Bldg double Efficiency, the bathroom was so small that you could have one foot in the shower, sit on the toilet and have the other foot at the sink. The kitchen part was so small, even though we brought some frozen food to put in the oven, we chose not to. No coffee or filters, but there was a coffee maker?
The pools were plentiful, but their sizes were extremely small. The lazy river was as wide as the tube. My concern in having such small pools was cleanliness, which was unfounded since my one daughter received a rash from the chlorine the first hour she was in the pool.
The breakfast (not included in price) was worth the $8.95/adult price. It was good and they kept it stocked with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, etc. We were very surprised and pleased.
Conclusion: If you are accustomed with staying at any of the major chain hotels or renting from private vacation rental owners, you will positively be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, the only view that will make the room seem bigger is the oceanfront r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear LTAB,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves on providing a clean resort and great customer service. We would like to apologize that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations nor ours. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you find it in your heart to give us a second chance.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was our first to compass cove and we LOVE IT !!! My husband and I along with our kids will be back. We recommend compass cove to all who want to experience this nice place.The BEST part about this hotel was their pool and lazy river which my kids love. We can not wait until our next trip to compass cove.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sarim K,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First visit and very pleased, will definitely return. We stayed in the Schooner Bldg in a Cabana Room, oceanfront. Very clean and recently updated. The pool features were wonderful and a huge hit with our kids. We ate lunches at the tiki hut which was great...we did not dine in any of the restaurants. Staff were very friendly. Location was great and beach was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear RMRKNovak,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression with you. We look forward to serving you and yours again when you are in the Myrtle Beach area.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The sofa pullout mattress was disgusting!! This owner needs to spend some money! That is my biggest complaint.
Room was clean. Has a small stove, large fridge, microwave in the room. Great location on the beach front. Has several pools and hot tubs.
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sweat01,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your room condition did not meet your expectations nor ours. We do hope that if you do come back to the Myrtle Beach area you will give Compass Cove a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I had made reservations at another resort a month in advance.I had requested a king ocean front.. I called back to confirm that we did have what we had requested and I was assured that we did have a ocean front king suite lower level. We arrived at the resort at about 2 30 PM.we where told we had a room on the 7th floor,We where not happy at all,the girl finally told us she could put us in a first floor room,only we go in the room to find out someone else had been given that room. We left that resort to look for another place,this is when we discovered Compass Cove and (Dustin) the young man that work so hard to get us a room to our satisfaction. We told him what had happened at the other resort and he was so kind and helpful,he let us view the room wish was A(Ocean View Deluxe Suite,Room 671) it was wonderful,more like a little apartment. We where very happy with our stay there,it was very clean and all of the staff was great. THANK ALL OF YOU AND ESPECIALLY DUSTIN FOR MAKING OUR TRIP AND CELEBRATION OF MY 65TH BIRTHDAY WONDERFUL!!!!
Randy and Mary Sheppard,
Charleston,WV

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mary S,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Dustin was able to leave a lasting impression with you. We look forward to being your new home away from home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've been here twice. I came back after the first stay, because I thought they deserved my business again. The staff are so friendly, the rooms are clean, parking is so easy and the view from the balcony is great. The extras that come with the room are great, too. I'd recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Simone710,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and that we were able to win your repeat buisness. We look forward to being your new home away from home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.