We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oceanfront Prpoerty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Oceanfront Prpoerty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and had a few days of vacation and decided to go to the beach over Valentines Day. We called Compass Cove in Myrtle Beach. Everything was great especially the daily breakfast buffet. They have several different items on the buffet and the food is really good. You can also make your own waffle.

Room Tip: We enjoy the oceanfront rooms the best. You can hear the ocean as the waves come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Al C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at Compass Cove Resort! We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife were able to spend your Valentine's Day with us. We hope that we can be your choice destination when visiting the Myrtle Beach area! Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,250
    682
    261
    164
    131
See reviews for
1249
445
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been going to Compass Cove for almost 10 years, twice a year, on a golf package. Two things have been a constant...Jeannie in the golf department & Jennifer in the resort's dining area. Both of these women have always been a joy to deal with. I deal w/ Jeannie as I'm planning my trip down. She's always very friendly on the phone & even recognizes my voice each time as I call. She has never let me down. And then there's Jennifer. Each morning my friends & I drag ourselves to the dining area for their breakfast buffet. The food is always good...the waffles are always great! But Jennifer is beyond all of that. She always has a smile on her face & I truly look forward to seeing her. She always makes time to talk w/ me so we can catch up w/ one another & I really can't brag enough about her. I don't know how the resort rewards it's employees for great service but whatever it is she has earned it 10 fold. I took my family there this past summer and my wife finally got to meet the woman I always brag about in Myrtle. Jennifer wasted no time in joking w/ my wife like they'd know each other for years. What a great lady. Thanks Jennifer.

Room Tip: If you need the room the 3 b/r OF room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Steve M.,

On behalf of Jeannie and Jennifer, we would like to thank you for your continued patronage with us here at Compass Cove Resort! Guests like you are what make our jobs fun! We are so glad to hear that your stay this year was, yet again, a great one! As you know, we take great pride in our staff and will ensure that your comments make their way to Jeannie, Jennifer and all departments in between! We hope that you are able to make it back to Compass Cove this summer to do a little more golfing! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we hope to see you in the upcoming months!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Compass Cove the other night. Check-in was an easy process. Brittany and Dusty answered lots of my questions and patiently even with people behind me. The hot tub outside was great! I recommend the King Suite for the view and the bed was super comfy. The GM Justin saw me out on property and was super friendly as well. Coming back to the Cove soon!

Room Tip: Oceanfront King Suite, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Billyintegrity89,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your recent stay with us at Compass Cove Resort! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff left a memorable impression with you! Here at Compass Cove we take great pride in our employees and will definitely pass along your comments to the appropriate departments. It is great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the amenities on property, including the outdoor hot tubs! We hope that you are able to visit with us again soon and again, thank you so much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed here many time and i'm usually pleased, but this time when I booked and ocean front cabana what I got was a bottom floor room behind the big blue tiki hut. This building blocks your whole ocean view, you have to leave your balcony to even see the ocean, yet they will still charge you ocean front price. When I walked back in to the reservation area the guy behind the counter said " I already know what you're going to say and we are all booked up" I said " that's terrible and you really shouldn't charge people for an ocean front room when you cant even see the ocean and a warning when I checked in would have been nice" he said " we have to list it as ocean front because it's on the ocean front side" I think it's really sad that they have obviously had enough complaints that I didn't even have to say a word yet they still charge people Ocean front prices and continue to ruin their guests time. When you are expecting to wake up and have coffee on your balcony while looking at the ocean and you get a big blue building instead not a good look for your hotel. My husband and I did notice that the room above us didn't seem to have anyone in it all night or the next day and didn't have a blocked view yet they were all booked up. There are to many hotels in MB to not accomidate your guest they can go elsewhere, loved this hotel but won't make this mistake again. BEWARE OF ROOM 112 THERE IS A SPECIAL REQUEST BOX WHEN BOOKING A RESERVATION MAKE SURE IF BOOKING OCEAN FRONT THAT YOU SAY NOT ROOM 112!!! maybe if enough people request to not be put in that room they will stop trying to rip people off, whoever thought putting a tiki hut in front of an ocean front room was a moron

Room Tip: Dont book ocean front room 112 view is blocked completly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear bjm3299,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us at Compass Cove Resort and for your continued patronage. I would like to apologize that this trip was not as enjoyable as those in the past. Your comfort is our main priority and I am sorry that we could not accommodate you with a different room. During the winter months, many of our rooms undergo renovations as we are always striving to improve our resort for our guests. I hope you know that we do understand your frustration and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to further discuss the details of your stay. Again, thank you for choosing to stay at Compass Cove Resort.

Kind regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ireally enjoyed my stay at this hotel!n I visited for the first time in January of this year, which is off-season. The pools were open, all jaccuzis operating, and the lazy river. Bar/restaurants in the hotel were great. The bartender Danielle is so much fun and makes your experience that much better. I recomend this place 100 percent!

Room Tip: Haqndicap rooms have a huge bathroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear PinkyANB,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent January stay with us at Compass Cove Resort! We hope that you were able to enjoy our many heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs and lazy rivers! At Compass Cove we pride ourselves on our tremendous staff and are thrilled that Danielle was able to make your stay even more fun and memorable, we will gladly pass along your comments to her and our entire staff! Again, thank you so much for your kind words and we greatly look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

\just a short distance from the Myrtle Beach Internation Airport, I recently made an overnight stay at this resort. I was somewhat concerned about the up front "resort" charge of twleve dollars. Next time I use an online service to book my room, I will make absolutely certain that there are no hidden extras. The check in process went smoothly and I was directed to a recently renovated "Schooner" room which had a spectacular ocean view. The room was very clean and all of the amenities were satisfactory. After a peaceful night's sleep, I awoke to a fabulous breakfast and was on my way. I visit Myrtle often. This is the first time I have stayed at Compass Cove, but I will definitely return.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear William K,

We want to thank you so much for choosing Compass Cove Resort for your overnight get-a-way! We want to apologize that during the reservation process our staff did not inform you of the nightly resort fee. We would like to thank you for bringing that to our attention, and I assure you that we have addressed this with all guest services agents. We are thrilled to hear that the view from your Schooner room was beautiful and that you were able to get your day started with a hearty breakfast at the Compass Rose Breakfast Restaurant! We hope that when visiting the Myrtle Beach area you choose Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here the last week in January, and although the weather was a little cold, the resort was awesome! They have two buildings with tons of pools and hot tubs. The room we had was an ocean view and it was very nice. The rooms were very clean and well appointed.

The only complaint we have is the beds just suck. Mine had an incline in the center of it that caused me to roll to one side or the other, and the couple I was with complained that their bed felt worn out.

Other than the beds, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Wyomingdan,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your most recent stay with us here at the Compass Cove! I am sorry to hear that you were not able to fully relax while you were staying with us. I have already addressed this issue with our management staff in an effort to resolve the issue. I am glad you were able to use our many pools and hot tubs throughout the property. I hope that we will see you again soon and please feel free to contact me with any concerns!

Thank you,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.