We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay Bruh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% Off Summer Stays
Ranked #31 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay Bruh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Compass Cove the other night. Check-in was an easy process. Brittany and Dusty answered lots of my questions and patiently even with people behind me. The hot tub outside was great! I recommend the King Suite for the view and the bed was super comfy. The GM Justin saw me out on property and was super friendly as well. Coming back to the Cove soon!

Room Tip: Oceanfront King Suite, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Billyintegrity89,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of your recent stay with us at Compass Cove Resort! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff left a memorable impression with you! Here at Compass Cove we take great pride in our employees and will definitely pass along your comments to the appropriate departments. It is great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the amenities on property, including the outdoor hot tubs! We hope that you are able to visit with us again soon and again, thank you so much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    897
    337
    199
    157
See reviews for
1,594
582
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed here many time and i'm usually pleased, but this time when I booked and ocean front cabana what I got was a bottom floor room behind the big blue tiki hut. This building blocks your whole ocean view, you have to leave your balcony to even see the ocean, yet they will still charge you ocean front price. When I walked back in to the reservation area the guy behind the counter said " I already know what you're going to say and we are all booked up" I said " that's terrible and you really shouldn't charge people for an ocean front room when you cant even see the ocean and a warning when I checked in would have been nice" he said " we have to list it as ocean front because it's on the ocean front side" I think it's really sad that they have obviously had enough complaints that I didn't even have to say a word yet they still charge people Ocean front prices and continue to ruin their guests time. When you are expecting to wake up and have coffee on your balcony while looking at the ocean and you get a big blue building instead not a good look for your hotel. My husband and I did notice that the room above us didn't seem to have anyone in it all night or the next day and didn't have a blocked view yet they were all booked up. There are to many hotels in MB to not accomidate your guest they can go elsewhere, loved this hotel but won't make this mistake again. BEWARE OF ROOM 112 THERE IS A SPECIAL REQUEST BOX WHEN BOOKING A RESERVATION MAKE SURE IF BOOKING OCEAN FRONT THAT YOU SAY NOT ROOM 112!!! maybe if enough people request to not be put in that room they will stop trying to rip people off, whoever thought putting a tiki hut in front of an ocean front room was a moron

Room Tip: Dont book ocean front room 112 view is blocked completly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear bjm3299,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us at Compass Cove Resort and for your continued patronage. I would like to apologize that this trip was not as enjoyable as those in the past. Your comfort is our main priority and I am sorry that we could not accommodate you with a different room. During the winter months, many of our rooms undergo renovations as we are always striving to improve our resort for our guests. I hope you know that we do understand your frustration and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to further discuss the details of your stay. Again, thank you for choosing to stay at Compass Cove Resort.

Kind regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ireally enjoyed my stay at this hotel!n I visited for the first time in January of this year, which is off-season. The pools were open, all jaccuzis operating, and the lazy river. Bar/restaurants in the hotel were great. The bartender Danielle is so much fun and makes your experience that much better. I recomend this place 100 percent!

Room Tip: Haqndicap rooms have a huge bathroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear PinkyANB,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent January stay with us at Compass Cove Resort! We hope that you were able to enjoy our many heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs and lazy rivers! At Compass Cove we pride ourselves on our tremendous staff and are thrilled that Danielle was able to make your stay even more fun and memorable, we will gladly pass along your comments to her and our entire staff! Again, thank you so much for your kind words and we greatly look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

\just a short distance from the Myrtle Beach Internation Airport, I recently made an overnight stay at this resort. I was somewhat concerned about the up front "resort" charge of twleve dollars. Next time I use an online service to book my room, I will make absolutely certain that there are no hidden extras. The check in process went smoothly and I was directed to a recently renovated "Schooner" room which had a spectacular ocean view. The room was very clean and all of the amenities were satisfactory. After a peaceful night's sleep, I awoke to a fabulous breakfast and was on my way. I visit Myrtle often. This is the first time I have stayed at Compass Cove, but I will definitely return.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear William K,

We want to thank you so much for choosing Compass Cove Resort for your overnight get-a-way! We want to apologize that during the reservation process our staff did not inform you of the nightly resort fee. We would like to thank you for bringing that to our attention, and I assure you that we have addressed this with all guest services agents. We are thrilled to hear that the view from your Schooner room was beautiful and that you were able to get your day started with a hearty breakfast at the Compass Rose Breakfast Restaurant! We hope that when visiting the Myrtle Beach area you choose Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here the last week in January, and although the weather was a little cold, the resort was awesome! They have two buildings with tons of pools and hot tubs. The room we had was an ocean view and it was very nice. The rooms were very clean and well appointed.

The only complaint we have is the beds just suck. Mine had an incline in the center of it that caused me to roll to one side or the other, and the couple I was with complained that their bed felt worn out.

Other than the beds, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Wyomingdan,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your most recent stay with us here at the Compass Cove! I am sorry to hear that you were not able to fully relax while you were staying with us. I have already addressed this issue with our management staff in an effort to resolve the issue. I am glad you were able to use our many pools and hot tubs throughout the property. I hope that we will see you again soon and please feel free to contact me with any concerns!

Thank you,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our third stay at the Compass Cove. We've had fairly good experiences previously, but this experience was very poor. We paid extra for an ocean front room. The room was in front of the pool, which was being repaired, so instead of viewing the ocean, we had a view of the workers, plus the noise. The room looked as if it had stepped out of the 1960s. The bedspreads looked very old. The bathtub had chips out of it. Apparently, in the off season they send customers who use booking agent to their poorer quality rooms. This will be out last stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Seems the lower floors are from the original hotel and haven't had much in the way of updates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your most recent stay at Compass Cove Resort. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the remodeling throughout the property. During the winter months, we take the opportunity to do upgrades to the resort in an effort to modernize our amenities for our guests. This year, we are updating the pool decks to visually pleasing pavers, purchasing new pool furniture and upgrading our wireless internet system. I hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves in the future and show you and your family a wonderful and relaxing vacation with the benefit of our upgrades to the property and rooms. Please feel free to contact me personally with any concerns that you may have.

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as the 4th stop in a "land cruise" type vacation so we where pretty hotel wary by the time we arrived. The check in process was easy and we were given an "ocean view" room. Upon seeing the room and it's location we knew we had a problem. The room was ground floor and had a walk out door to the metered parking area. Yes I suppose with some effort we could see the ocean but this location combined with the "tiredness" of the room made for a miserable girl. A visit to the front desk and we were told they would try and make a change for us in the morning. True to their word we were moved to a much nicer room with an actual ocean front balcony. Moral of my story-these are condo's and not all rooms are alike. You hope to get lucky with a good owner that updates the unit but if you don't the front desk people are great and will help you out if they can. We were there in August and the ocean was perfect, we never even thought about going into any of the pools. One note is that the number they tout as "water features" include a fountain, kiddy pools etc so technically accurate practically not really but it's really only a point of amusement rather than irratation-kind of cute in it's own way. The location is kind of in the middle of the "strip" and while I enjoyed our stay very much we had to drive everywhere rather than if we had been more towards either end which would have had more "walkability". The parking is an issue, every time we drove out of the parking garage we knew odds were that we would not get a spot and would have to park across the street-not that fun but at least there was an alternative. Our kids are teens and there wasn't really anywhere they could go but if you have younger kids this would be a great place to stay. The only other problem we encountered was lack of internet service. We where in the lobby when others where complaining and someone said that perhaps if they just reset the router it would fix the problem. Staff took the advice and it worked! Again, flexible staff that are responsive in a meaningful way make this hotel a good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid "ocean view" be sure you are beachfront or ocean front and since the units are condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bonnietheb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Compass Cove Resort. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during you stay with us, but are very happy to hear that our staff was able to make adjustments for you to make your stay more enjoyable. We certainly hope that we have the opportunity to see you again next time you take a land cruise! Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.