We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great views and tons of amenities!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Fall Nights
Ranked #24 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great rooms, great views and tons of amenities!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here the last week in January, and although the weather was a little cold, the resort was awesome! They have two buildings with tons of pools and hot tubs. The room we had was an ocean view and it was very nice. The rooms were very clean and well appointed.

The only complaint we have is the beds just suck. Mine had an incline in the center of it that caused me to roll to one side or the other, and the couple I was with complained that their bed felt worn out.

Other than the beds, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Wyomingdan,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your most recent stay with us here at the Compass Cove! I am sorry to hear that you were not able to fully relax while you were staying with us. I have already addressed this issue with our management staff in an effort to resolve the issue. I am glad you were able to use our many pools and hot tubs throughout the property. I hope that we will see you again soon and please feel free to contact me with any concerns!

Thank you,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    780
    288
    173
    140
See reviews for
1,394
484
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knox, TN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our third stay at the Compass Cove. We've had fairly good experiences previously, but this experience was very poor. We paid extra for an ocean front room. The room was in front of the pool, which was being repaired, so instead of viewing the ocean, we had a view of the workers, plus the noise. The room looked as if it had stepped out of the 1960s. The bedspreads looked very old. The bathtub had chips out of it. Apparently, in the off season they send customers who use booking agent to their poorer quality rooms. This will be out last stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Seems the lower floors are from the original hotel and haven't had much in the way of updates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your most recent stay at Compass Cove Resort. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the remodeling throughout the property. During the winter months, we take the opportunity to do upgrades to the resort in an effort to modernize our amenities for our guests. This year, we are updating the pool decks to visually pleasing pavers, purchasing new pool furniture and upgrading our wireless internet system. I hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves in the future and show you and your family a wonderful and relaxing vacation with the benefit of our upgrades to the property and rooms. Please feel free to contact me personally with any concerns that you may have.

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as the 4th stop in a "land cruise" type vacation so we where pretty hotel wary by the time we arrived. The check in process was easy and we were given an "ocean view" room. Upon seeing the room and it's location we knew we had a problem. The room was ground floor and had a walk out door to the metered parking area. Yes I suppose with some effort we could see the ocean but this location combined with the "tiredness" of the room made for a miserable girl. A visit to the front desk and we were told they would try and make a change for us in the morning. True to their word we were moved to a much nicer room with an actual ocean front balcony. Moral of my story-these are condo's and not all rooms are alike. You hope to get lucky with a good owner that updates the unit but if you don't the front desk people are great and will help you out if they can. We were there in August and the ocean was perfect, we never even thought about going into any of the pools. One note is that the number they tout as "water features" include a fountain, kiddy pools etc so technically accurate practically not really but it's really only a point of amusement rather than irratation-kind of cute in it's own way. The location is kind of in the middle of the "strip" and while I enjoyed our stay very much we had to drive everywhere rather than if we had been more towards either end which would have had more "walkability". The parking is an issue, every time we drove out of the parking garage we knew odds were that we would not get a spot and would have to park across the street-not that fun but at least there was an alternative. Our kids are teens and there wasn't really anywhere they could go but if you have younger kids this would be a great place to stay. The only other problem we encountered was lack of internet service. We where in the lobby when others where complaining and someone said that perhaps if they just reset the router it would fix the problem. Staff took the advice and it worked! Again, flexible staff that are responsive in a meaningful way make this hotel a good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid "ocean view" be sure you are beachfront or ocean front and since the units are condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bonnietheb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Compass Cove Resort. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during you stay with us, but are very happy to hear that our staff was able to make adjustments for you to make your stay more enjoyable. We certainly hope that we have the opportunity to see you again next time you take a land cruise! Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My best friend and I stay there every year.We stay in the Pinnacle Oceanfront Suite a 3 room condo ocean front with a private bolocony.(2 queen bedroom,then the kitchen with full size appliances,a large family room also equipped with a pull down bed in the wall. The rooms are always clean there are a lot of pools, hot tubs, Lazy rivers. Not to mention the Crows Nest restaurant and bar that has a deck over looking the ocean. It is a great place and a great price.

Room Tip: The Pinnacle Oceanfront Suite a good choice that can accomadate 7 people but great for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear CAROLYN P,

Thank you for continuing to choose us as your home away from home at the Compass Cove Resort! We are happy to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your room, the pools, and the Crow's Nest. We hope to see you again this summer!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a large hotel spread over two blocks. The front reception was in the middle but quite a walk from our room. I booked this hotel for a three nights stay. My key card expired after two nights and the walk to the reception from the heated pool in the cold January morning was terrible. Finding a Parking space was a nightmare. I am a handicap person and there weren't enough handicap parking. Had to park across the street and walk. House keeper showed up each morning and asked us to sign for supplies and left no supplies the last day. Someone knocked on our door and claimed "maintenance". When opened said " just checking" and left. Room was ok with a flat screen tv. But the pillows ware very uncomfortable. Hotel location is great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dsperera,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experiences at Compass Cove Resort. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our resort for you and our future guests. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please know that we do have security and bellman on staff that are always more than happy to bring you new keys when they are needed. They are also here to help if you need assistance finding a parking space or loading/unloading your luggage. I have already passed along the comments you shared concerning the lack of supplies and pillow comfort to my Director of Housekeeping. Our housekeeping department is currently working on a new, more in depth training process for all new and current employees. I hope in the future you will consider staying with us again, and will notice the changes we have made. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay further. Thank you for choosing to stay at Compass Cove Resort and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was not our first visit and it definitely will not be our last.

I can not say enough good things about CC. We got here because several of our friends stay here so it was their good comments which led to our joining the CC family of visitors.

From the front desk to the landscape & housekeeping staff you will find smiling faces and greetings any time of the day. The accommodations are tastefully decorated and the rooms are well maintained as are the grounds and parking areas.

There are activities for everyone at various times of the day. The pools and hot tubs are always clean and the areas clean.

We already booked our next stay and look forward to our visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear diks3220,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic comments about your recent stay with us at Compass Cove! We are thrilled to hear that by your friend's comments you were able to experience all that Compass Cove has to offer! We take great pride in our staff and are so pleased that you were welcomed by many different departments and will pass along your comments to each. We are so glad that we have become your choice destination when visiting the Myrtle Beach area and look forward to seeing you during your next visit!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was mine and my husband's first stay at Compass Cove Resort and we LOVED it!!!!! Friendliest staff we have ever encountered!! Made us feel very welcome! They were very informative in showing/telling us about everything and where everything was. We stayed in the Pinnacle Tower in an oceanfront room. The room was clean and nice. We had one with a mini kitchen and a full size refrigerator. We were on the 3rd floor and when you walked out on our balcony you could see the nice patio to the Crows Nest restaurant which was directly below us and you talk about some good smells! Always smelled good when you walked outside. The room also had a nice flat screen TV. We ate breakfast one morning in the Compass Rose restaurant which was very nice too. Breakfast buffet OR you could order from menu. Food was good and prices reasonable. Everywhere we went in this resort we encountered very friendly people. Staff is right on top of things....we were in the elevator and one of the staff noticed some kind of spill on the floor and he immediately called to have someone clean it up ASAP. That just impressed us cause we had not encountered this kind of promptness before. There were lots of pools and looked like fun things for kids to do too. We stayed out shopping most of the weekend and it was January, even though it was in the 70s, so we didn't use any of the pools but they looked nice. They even had some that were heated. At my first glance upon arrival to Compass Cove I thought it was a smaller hotel because checkin is in one building, but then you realize there are 3 different towers and each tower has its own parking garage too. Only thing is the tower we stayed in, the parking garage stayed full, so we just parked across the street in their overflow parking garage which to me was a little bit bigger, and was only a hop, skip and a jump across the street to your room. We will most definitely stay here again when we come back to Myrtle Beach. We had been staying in a condo in North Myrtle Beach, but not anymore. Compass Cove is also in a great location, close enough to everything, but not jam up in the busiest part of the strip. My husband and I most definitely recommend this resort to anybody who wants to stay at a nice resort and be treated greatly!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear SJK_11_13,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful look into your stay with us here at the Compass Cove. I am glad to see that you you got to see and enjoy most of our amenities. All of us here hope that you have found your new home away from home and we look forward to seeing you soon. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Thank you,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;