We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bergenfield, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The resort was great! We went for a weekend in January. The room was clean and comfortable we had the 3 berm ocean front in the Mariner building. The view was amazing double balcony. The indoor pools were great and so warm. The parking garage was very convenient. The breakfast at the resort was very economical for a family of 5 we had the buffet. The service was excellent from the front desk to the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Alilex9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your weekend getaway at Compass Cove was! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from your accommodations all the way to the breakfast buffet in the Compass Rose! It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the indoor pools and that you found our parking garage convenient. We hope when visiting the Myrtle Beach area that you choose Compass Cove as your home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,246
    680
    259
    164
    131
See reviews for
1243
445
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE!!! First time and I hope will not be the last. The room was excellant complete with everything we needed. More than what we expected! The bathroom, tub and shower spotless, excellant! Towels and linen just excellantly clean!! And the view of the ocean and morning sunrise just breath taking. Excellant staff and housekeeping! LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Terry M,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your first visit with us at Compass Cove was. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful 35th anniversary and hope that we can become your choice destination when visiting the Myrtle Beach area. Here at Compass Cove, we take great pride in our standards of cleanliness, as well as our staff, and are so glad that you found each at a level of excellence! Your comments will be passed on to all and we hope that we have the chance to accommodate you in the near future! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and Happy 35th anniversary!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our third time staying at Compass cove hotel, staff is always very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice with modern up grades. Parking is convenient and on site.Enjoyed being on the beach at Christmas time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear John P,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay at Compass Cove Resort. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the Compass Cove resort. Our family goes to Myrtle Beach a couple of times a year and we usually try to pick a different resort each time. This year we stayed at the Compass Cove Resort. The location is good it is in South Myrtle Beach near the airport so a quieter area of Myrtle Beach. We and our son loved the pools especially the kiddie water play area. The only down side was the small parking deck at the hotel but plenty of parking across the road. Will be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Joyner_NC,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to see that you and your son got to enjoy our many pool features. Hope to see you soon for your next vacation!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a family vacation and the overall atmosphere was really great as far as that goes. kid friendly with barbeques available near the pool, water features including a (SMALL) lazy river and indoor water slide/pool. However this property consists of several buildings and the one we stayed in was in poor condition. The room was small and the "kitchen" was non functional for preparing any type of real meals. In addition the room still had rugs ( i guess i expected tile in a beach front hotel) and they were old and musty. There was a leak in the bathroom that was addressed in a timely manner. The overall feel of the room was leaning towers shabby. On the upside it is beach front with easy access to the ocean and a relaxed atmosphere with a nice family feeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear TammyJolo,

I appreciate you taking the time to submit this review. I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay at Compass Cove Resort, but I am glad to see that the leak in your room was addressed in a timely manner. I hope that you will look to us for your next trip to the beach and give us the oppurtunity to show you and your family a relaxing stay. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further concerns.

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
Compass Cove Resort
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Compass Cove is located in South Myrtle Beach just minutes from all the major attractions, restaurants, and a mall. The facility is a bit outdated, however it has multiple amenities to make up for is old fashioned style. They have several pools and jacuzzi's which are clean and large. The lazy river for the kids is adorable. Also there is an indoor and cover pool for rainy days. The rooms are really outdated with brown wooden furniture, old fashioned light fixtures etc. The bathroom although clean enough for a temporary situation left a lot to be desired on details and is in serious need for a makeover. The balcony is spacious and gives you a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel also offers a tiki bar which hosts happy hours and dinner specials off the grill. There is also a bar inside the hotel that has karaoke which is awesome! The bar tenders are fun and everyone's aim is to please. For the price Compass Cove certainly helps out vacationers on a budget. Off course it was off season sooo more to come when we visit in the summer which we do plan to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Imobely4,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your observations of Compass Cove Resort. We are constantly trying to improve the property for our guests. We hope that next season when you come to stay, you will see the improvements we are currently working on to make the resort more visually pleasing. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varina, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been coming to Compass Cove the first weekend in December for 9 years for a 2 day golf tournament. Major renovations have taken place over the past 2-3 years to many of the units. This year, we noted a marked improvement in the units, especially the bath rooms and living room area. The kitchen area is very good as well. Every unit we have stayed in faced the ocean. The buffet breakfast that comes with our room package is great, and you can opt to order from the menu at no additional cost. The staff has always been very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear John T,

Thank you for your review and for your continued patronage of the Compass Cove. We are glad to be able to host your annual golf getaway! We look forward to hosting your next golf trip and hope to go above and beyond your expectations.

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.